We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Six Pence Pub

Six Pence Pub
245 Bull St, Savannah, GA 31401-3935 (Downtown)
912-233-3151
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 758 restaurants in Savannah
Price range: $5 - $14
Cuisines: American, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Downtown
florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

After walking most of the morning, we stumbled into the Six Pence. A great little pub, we stopped for a beer and a sandwich. I had the shrimp salad sandwich and salad and it was REALLY good. My boyfriend had the pot roast sandwich and he cleaned his plate. And the beer isn't bad either!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    362
    309
    116
    32
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“What Happened?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We have been visiting Savannah for many years and have made the Six Pence a regular stop. We have visited with friends, kids, and on our own. While we have always had a great experience, this last one led me to believe that there were new owners or mgt. My wife and I asked about an outside table (there were several available) and were told that they were being saved for 'lunch patrons'. We were interested in drinks and appetizers. We were still not offered an outside table and even given the choice of leaving (really?). In the past, our tabs for drinks & appetizers have ranged from $20-50 depending on how long we stay. On our way out (yes, we left) the couple at an outside table was paying a bill of $14. We felt like we were not welcome unless we could guarantee lots of $ would be spent. Yet, in the same area, a small tab was acceptable. We went on our way and, I'm sad to say, the Six Pence is off of our list. There are too many other choices in Savannah

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Bar!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We enjoyed having a few drinks here during the day. The service was very good! We did not eat, but the food I saw did look good!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We loved this Pub, so ate there two nights. Friendly service. good variety of food and drink, great atmosphere. It gets busy so go early. We have also visited the one at Blowing Rock which is also good.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Six Pence Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

While visiting Savannah, me, 2 daughters, 3 grandchildren. Did "on and off" trolly tour. After some walking, decided we needed lunch. My daughter called and they said "no wait, come over".
When we got there it was busy, but they put 2 tables together and we were seated promptly. I was surprised, as it was quite crowded. Lunch was very good. Kids got the usual..but it looked good, and we adults all enjoyed ours. Told family that this was used in movie, and that if they ever saw movie, they would see restaurant! They liked that. All in all, would go again, as they were so nice.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Six Pence Pub also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Six Pence Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Six Pence Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.