We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Garibaldi's Cafe

Garibaldi's Cafe
315 W Congress St, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)
(912) 232-7118
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Garibaldi's Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #70 of 774 Restaurants in Savannah
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Savannah, Georgia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Garibaldi's is the sister restaurant to The Olde Pink House, which is a Savannah staple/must-go traditional Southen fare. They share some dishes like the Crispy Scored Flounder (a must) and Garibaldis does more fish and pasta dishes. Its quiet with booths, but their upstairs is redone in a ballroom style, also like Pink House. A great special occasion place, that will not disappoint.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    346
    159
    75
    35
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Can't be good all the time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Must have been an off night. Being locals, our family thought this would be a treat but it sure could have been better. Server was new to the restaurant but not new to the restaurant business so not sure why she was having a problem. Duck which was supposed to be a featured dish turned out to be not quite cooked. The veal could have been "pounded" a bit more as it was chewy rather than melt in your mouth. Wine saved the day as wine has been known to do.

I'm sure our family will return to see if this was an off night or not. We later learned that our waitress was probably one of the first female staff at this restaurant which in the past had only male servers. So, she may have been dealing with issues other than food service. The location is really great being in the historic district and walking distance to hotels. Maybe next time in Savannah we'll go back...

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GTA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Exactly what a great restaurant should be...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

this spot was recommended to us by the staff at the Presidents' Quarters. We were delighted with their recommendation. The service was friendly yet professional. Our server, Jeffery, was most helpful in helping us chose the meal that we would each enjoy. He was also very thoughtful in ensuring our cocktails were made to our liking.
the crispy duck is to die for. Even though it was two legs/thighs on mushroom risotto, I still managed to eat all of the generous serving. The peppered veal chop was equally as delicious and generous.
Treat yourself and make reservations without hestitation.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Best meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I had dinner at three different highly-regarded restaurants during my mini vacation in Savannah, Old Pink House, Elizabeth's and here.
This was the best!
A big thank you to Logan, finest pedi-cab driver in the city for this recommendation.
Seared sea scallops were fabulous and I still wistfully reminisce about the parmesan risotto.
My server was very nice and I felt zero awkwardness about dining alone.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Report card in late February 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Straight from Miss Armtwister's 3rd period home ec class:

Poached pear appetizer: A
Terra Dora Zin. B. glass
Merlot A. Glass
Tilapia A
Veal piccata A
Chocolate cheesecake A
Server A
Decor B
Pace of service between entrees F

Comments: if we were sprint runners, or souls who only had a few minutes to live for our last meal on earth, this would have been the place!. OMG! We were not even through the appetizer when the food arrived.
Despite that, the food was of high quality. The server apologized regularly, in between our checking our watches as to speed of service.
If you go, wear running clothes!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garibaldi's Cafe also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Garibaldi's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garibaldi's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.