We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Italian Hot Dog Yummy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe GelatOhhh! - CLOSED

Cafe GelatOhhh!
202 West Saint Julian Street, City Market at Ellis Square, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)
912-234-2344
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $3 - $9
Cuisines: Dessert, Italian, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Lunch
Neighborhood: Downtown
Siesta Key, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“An Italian Hot Dog Yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I at at this place because my friend loves organic foods and many of there meals are organic. I had a hot dog that had pepperoni, mozzerella cheese, onions and red sauce on a poppy seed bun. It was amazing!!! Never heard of anything like this but it was really good. The servers were nice and they have an excellent selection of gelato. I had mango and it was awesome!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    36
    21
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stopped in for some gelato with my wife and daughter. The girls inside were super-friendly, and the gelato was tasty! What more could you ask for?

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“so so gelato”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The gelato was so, so. The place was a bit dirty and neglected. I have been to way way better Gelato places. Too bad they don't try to improve the place and quality of product.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingswood, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Gelatohhh! No!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I was very disappointed with this so-called gelato. I had "dulce de leche" and my wife had the peach sorbetto. We each had the same reaction... way too sugared, weak flavor, and mushy consistency... not at all creamy. Nor was it cheap. You would do much better with plain, generic supermarket ice cream at $3.00/ quart.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stop here and indulge!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My tall handsome charming Brit (who loves gelato) rated this the best he's had in the US. He had the pineapple and the chocolate and I had the vanilla. Rich, creamy, decadent, cold - what more can you want on a hot July day? Reasonably priced but a small shop so be prepared to wait in line.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe GelatOhhh! also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe GelatOhhh!, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.