We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must see in Savannah” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mrs Wilkes

Mrs Wilkes
107 West Jones Street, Savannah, GA 31401-4507 (Downtown)
912 232 5997
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 774 Restaurants in Savannah
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Dessert
Neighborhood: Downtown
Bluffton, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A must see in Savannah”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Wonderful home cooking served in a historic boarding house environment. The price is right, too. Come early as it gets busy. Everyone is seated together and the food is all on the table. It's a gas to bus your own dishes at the end. Lot's of food so we only go when we have company and we want to show off true southern food.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,672
    344
    139
    46
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southern Illinois
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Must do in Savannah”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This was one of our highlights of eating in Savannah. They open at 11 and close at 2. Some of the locals will tell you to stand in line as early as 10 and others will tell you to get in line at 1:15, but whatever you do it is well worth the wait. It is a family style meal where you are asked how many in your party as they sit you to fill up a family size table so unless you have a large group you will be sharing a table with strangers, but if you've ever been to the south you know how friendly the people are and includes those who we ran into throughout out trip. The bowls of food are already on the table and you just start taking what you want and start passing them around. There are almost to many dishes to name them all but the ones I remember are fried chicken, BBQ, roast beef, mashed potatoes, sweet potatoes, dressing, rutabaga, creamed corn, green beans, beets, slaw, cucumbers, cabbage, and okra with tomatoes. Then you get to choose a dessert, which for us was a choice of blueberry pie or banana pudding (these portions where the only small ones and who would really have room for dessert after all of the food that they serve you). It truly feels like to went to Grandma's house and she knew how to really cook. It cost $18.00 each, no checks or charges, and not tax. Not to be missed

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“What A Culinary Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

To eat lunch at Mrs. Wilkes' is to enjoy the very best of Southern cooking. Food is served family style at tables that seat 10-12. At least 20 bowls of different food is placed on your table and the feast begins!!! I took a small bite of everything and absolutely could not choose a favorite - every dish was perfect!! Cannot recommend this place more highly. The hours are 11-3, with last seating at 2PM, I believe. I have heard that there is usually a line out the door - we arrived about 1:30 and did not have to wait that long. What an experience and needless to say, very little was eaten for dinner!!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tybee Island, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

When you go to Mrs Wikes there will be a line, just get in it! Do not go here if you have had breakfast. There are more choices here than you can imagine. Perfectly seasoned food. As if everyones grandmother got together and put all of their best receipes together. Once you get in, the food is on the table, there is no more waiting. All the waiting is outside. Yum! don't go if you are not starving and don't make any plans for dinner. You won't need one. Take cash, they don't do cards.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swan Point, Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“An experience and taste of true southern dishes.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Although you have to arrive early and probably stand in line, it is worth the wait. And, the line moved rather quickly. This is an old-fashioned family sit down dinner. There are so many dishes (27 sides) and in addition to all that they serve fried chicken, ham, barbecue ribs, too much to list hear. And you get to meet people from all over the world there. We sat with people from Canada, and various states. A lot of fun. Yum!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mrs Wilkes also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Mrs Wilkes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mrs Wilkes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.