We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the Rail Buff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Georgia State Railroad Museum

Georgia State Railroad Museum
655 Louisville Road, Savannah, GA 31401
912.651.6823
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 100 Attractions in Savannah
Type: Historic Sites, Specialty Museums, Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Housed in the former Central of Georgia Railway Roundhouse and Repair Shops Complex at Savannah, the Georgia State Railroad Museum exhibits a collection of historic, restored rolling stock and interprets the history of railroading in the state of Georgia, offering guided tours, student programming, private tour & event bookings, and more!
Ontario
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“For the Rail Buff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

As someone who has always loved trains, this was a great look into some of the old railroad pieces. Some are in restoration mode and some have been totally restored.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily_Beck, Historical Interpreter at Georgia State Railroad Museum, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your time at GSRM. Thank you for your review, and we hope you will visit us again next time you are in Savannah!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    75
    21
    10
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rutherfordton, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“nice outing even in off season”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Very interesting place for all, visited with family and grandchildren, learned lots of facts and had fun looking at and in the train cars and the history of the era. The children's play area and maze, quite impressive. Looking to purchase a yearly pass for the kids and grandchildren who live in the area. With increased funding, it will help to complete more exhibits of this project. We will be back again.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily_Beck, Historical Interpreter at Georgia State Railroad Museum, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are so glad you took advantage of our combination ticket with Savannah Children's Museum and are considering purchasing a membership! We so appreciate your support as we continue to expand our exhibit space and enhance our daily programming.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twentynine Palms, California, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The Off Season”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

It is a beautiful place and my kids had a great time looking at everything but it was the off season so nothing was running. The tours were not open yet but the displays and information boards were very good. Even with the cold wind and limited interaction (because of the season) we still enjoyed it. We hope to go again when the trains are running!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily_Beck, Historical Interpreter at Georgia State Railroad Museum, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
We're so happy you had a good time at GSRM! We will be running trains on the weekends starting January 30th. Check our website or our Facebook page to see the full Site Tour by Rail schedule for 2014. Thank you for your review, and we hope you will visit again when we have our new children's exhibit open later this year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello, Ge
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“History Lesson awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We had a private tour through the private cars and engine that were available. The weather got to cold to visit the rest but have 2 days to revisit and see the rest of the museum with the first purchase of 10.00. A lot to see. Will return again to Savannah to ride the steam engine train.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily_Beck, Historical Interpreter at Georgia State Railroad Museum, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for your review! We're so glad you decided to brave the cold to visit us, and we'll see you for Steam Days!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great family historical site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We spent the afternoon at the GSRM and had a wonderful time. We got there just in time to catch the afternoon tours (check ahead for times as these are great) and it was a small group so we had a great time. Our guide had lots of knowledge and shared it well. We also wandered around on our own after the tour and had fun poking into the other buildings.
Lots of interesting trains with diverse histories, well presented and communicated.
We purchased the See3 pass which let us see 3 museums for the price of 2 and it was a great value. The staff at GSRM were very polite and helpful. Nora Jones specifically went above and beyond to help us get out of a late night bind and we are incredibly grateful.
This is a great stop for young and old.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily_Beck, Historical Interpreter at Georgia State Railroad Museum, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
We are so happy that you enjoyed your time at GSRM and that you took advantage of the See 3 Pass! Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, and we hope to see you again next time you are in Savannah!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Georgia State Railroad Museum also viewed

 

Been to Georgia State Railroad Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Georgia State Railroad Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.