We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“See a part of history” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Georgia State Railroad Museum

Georgia State Railroad Museum
655 Louisville Road, Savannah, GA 31401 (Yamacraw Village)
912.651.6823
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 116 attractions in Savannah
Type: Museums, Specialty Museums, Historic Sites
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Housed in the former Central of Georgia Railway Roundhouse and Repair Shops Complex at Savannah, the Georgia State Railroad Museum exhibits a collection of historic, restored rolling stock and interprets the history of railroading in the state of Georgia, offering guided tours, student programming, private tour & event bookings, and more!
Savannah
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“See a part of history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

An unusual museum that is in its original location. Something different to do with all ages. Also, there is a new children's playground nearby that is FABULOUS.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    59
    15
    8
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good RR museum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I really enjoyed the GA State RR Museum. Several restored locos and cars and buildings from the 1800s. The admission is good for 3 days, so you can schedule a ride on the train for another day if necessary. Although the ride is short it turns on the RR yard turntable twice! If you enjoy photography, lots to shoot there.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, Historical Interpreter at Georgia State Railroad Museum, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thanks for the review! The museum is a GREAT location for photo shoots. Glad you enjoyed your time with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, GA
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Good if you're into trains”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We went on free museum day. Once a year Savannah has a day that you can get into some area museums free. They have lots of different trains to look at inside and out. They had a short train ride (only a couple minute ride) and they had a railroad pump car that was pretty neat. They have a small model train exhibit. It was neat, the kids had fun, happy it was free that day.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“If you love trains and history...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This railroad museum is unique (at least in my experience) because the buildings it occupies are as interesting and historically significant as the trains in the collection. Not only do they have a nice collection of trains - in various stages of restoration or preservation - but they are stored in buildings that are as old or older. They also have a nice collection of equipment used in the operation of the train yard - boilers, clamps, presses, etc. My only recommendation to them (and the reason for 4 stars vs 5 stars) is either to provide more on-sight docents to explain the equipment, trains, etc. or provide more informational signage OR perhaps a self-guided tour map.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Worth it for lovers of transportation, trains or machines”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I'm not a railfan by any means, but I do love most things that have an engine attached to them. Even more, I love the history that goes with these machines. The romance of traveling by air, train or ship all comes flooding back in the museum setting. That way, you can be reminded of how special travelling used to be and how much different it was compared to how we do it today. Simply, we didn't take it for granted then as we do now.

The museum is the remains of roundhouse and workshops of Central of Georgia Railway. As is the case of many museums of this nature, it's not the place it could be, just because most of it crumbled away before people could appreciate what they had. Only about half the roundhouse remains,although what is there is still impressive.

There is some rolling stock to walk through and some locomotives to see. Some cars are accessible only by guided tour and I would have enjoyed seeing them, but we had missed all the tours for the day. Train rides are also given, but only on weekends during February when I visited, so no-go on that either. It would have been worth the extra time and money for both.

The scale of the place is impressive, it's a fair amount of walking, more so then I thought on arrival. It's also not all even and smooth, after all, you are touring the remains of an industrial site. I say this as a caution to anyone going on those hot Georgia days or who has trouble walking around ( or both)

Is it a complete history of the railway? No, but it's just enough to give a glimpse into the world of rail travel in Georgia from the 1800's to its end in the 60's. It's also a working museum, meaning that some locomotives and rolling stock are in the process of being restored, Don't expect Smithsonian levels of detail or settings, rather, you are seeing what goes on behind the scenes at many museums. The shops are the same way, a constant work in progress, but what they have as I write this is enough to make it worthy of a visit.

It took about an hour to about two hours to see everything. I'm sure true railfans will get more enjoyment from this than I did and I still had fun. If you want a glimpse into what was apparently a Savannah institution in its heyday, this is a good stop.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Georgia State Railroad Museum also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Georgia State Railroad Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Georgia State Railroad Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Georgia State Railroad Museum to your Saves list