We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVELY restored beautiful venue The Music Festival March & April 2014” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lucas Theatre For the Arts

Lucas Theatre For the Arts
32 Abercorn Street, Savannah, GA 31401
9125255040
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 204 things to do in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Lucas Theatre is located in the heart of Savannah downtown historic district and is on the National Register of Historic Places. Built in 1921, it underwent a massive restoration during the 1990s. It reopened in 2000 as a premier venue for film, opera, concerts, theatricals and more.
Long Island New York
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“LOVELY restored beautiful venue The Music Festival March & April 2014”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

I really enjoyed the night out seeing one performance of many for The Savannah Music Festival.

Tomatito a Spanish guitarist enchanted the audience with a wonderful powerful performance. The flamenco dancer moves where lovely she truly kicked up her heels which vibrated on the wood floor.. The 2 male back up singers had powerful voices.....all gave an excellent performance.

The local crowd couldn't connect to the energy, and where puzzled by a few out bursts of the audience, that where either applauding or stood up speaking in Spanish. A few words that the performers interact with.

It was nice to be their with my friend who spoke a few languages and Spanish!! Tomatio was very relaxed on stage and Thanked the audience in his native Spanish for being able to preform in a beautiful city.
Her husband would have joined in the celebration.... with encouraging words being a Spaniard also... To bad he missed a dazzling show.....A moving high energy performance.

For the first time EVER.... at a live performance.... the crowd did not linger to bring/ encourage an encore. Encores even when performers leave the stage are customary up North. The crowd by persistence, clapping and remaining always brings on a last song. they always return.

It would have been nice to hear a final song. The predominantly SOUTHERN refined crowd was too conservative and emptied the theater quickly. The lights came on it was over...

They must bring him back next year.. The 2 guitarists where excellent as was the drummer. they all where enchanting. What a performance BRAVO!

If visiting Savannah, check the schedule and enjoy the show!!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    12
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Historic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Gone With the Wind pemiered here back in the day. I saw the Sound of Music there, wearing white cotton gloves! Mothers Grandmothers, little girls. They have review shows there now, especially at Christmas. See if you can cath one while in town! It's a beautiful old theater.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Ohio
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Beautiful Building and Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I'm always pleased when my visit to Savannah is well timed so that I can see a movie at this theatre. It's a beautiful building that usually fills up with an enthusiastic crowd. The concessions are very reasonably priced, which makes for an even more enjoyable evening. Most recently, I saw "Rear Window" during the Jimmy Stewart weekend. Always a great time. If your visit doesn't coincide with a film, you can still take a self-guided tour inside the building just about every day! For free!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lousiana
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We went for a local production of the Nutcracker. The theater is like stepping back in time into the golden age of cinema. Well preserved and classic ushers and box office.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reisterstown, Maryland, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Christmas Cabaret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed the show! Because it was a cabaret, there were only 100 people in the audience. We sat on stage in the midst of the performers. The singing, piano and harp were heavenly!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucas Theatre For the Arts also viewed

 

Been to Lucas Theatre For the Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lucas Theatre For the Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.