We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must Taste if visiting Savannah, GA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sweet Spice

Sweet Spice
5515 Waters Ave, Savannah, Savannah, GA 31404
+1 912-335-8146
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 786 Restaurants in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Description: This is a restaurant that offers authentic caribbean and american cuisine.Our goal is to share the caribbean exotic flavors all over the world..
Savannah, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Must Taste if visiting Savannah, GA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Sweet Spice serves up the best Jamaican food in our area. I also enjoy the awesome customer care my family and I receive when we visit. Great food and service.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    62
    16
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Being from the Jamaica it's just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I'm thinking that the regulars here are locals that aren't really used to the jamaican cuisine, so it's just a new taste for them. I have tried several dishes from this place and they were just ok. The Jerk chicken doesn't have that grill flavor that jerk chicken normally has, I'm not sure whether they grill or bake their jerk chicken but that does make a difference. The brown stew chicken I did not like at all. It was just fried chiken that's tossed in some gravy. If you're from jamaica you know that when they make stew chicken they don't put flour on the chicken. The stew chicken here is really how my grandma would use the leftover fried chicken from our sunday dinner. The curry goat has the flavor but it was waaay over cooked, I like when I can actually see pieces of meat vs shreds. I used to like their pattie but unfortunately the chicken patties are no longer a curry chicken filling like they have back home but a jerk chicken filling. Let's just say I'm better off cooking for myself at home. The staff however is top notch so that's the reason I think people rave about this place. But as far as the food goes Iive had way better, if this is the best you've had you probably need to try more jamaican restaurants.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston
1 review
“Excellent authentic Jamaican cuisine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Sweet Spice Jamaican cuisine is such a great restaurant!!! The food was excellent and very reasonably priced. Their Jerk Chicken is superb. It's so tender it falls right off the bone. This cozy restaurant is definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah
1 review
“GREAT Jamaican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Place is small and ambience isn't much but this is great food, cheap, and huge portions. Jerk chicken was spicy and delicious. Macaroni, rice, and plantains all great as well. Recommended.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A Hole-in-The Wall Jewel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I got the tip on Diners, Drive-ins and Dives. What a surprise. It's a small hole-in-the wall in a small strip mall. I almost drove by because at first appearances it doesn't look too inviting. What a surprise. The food was true Caribbean and very, very good. The staff was very friendly. I gave it a high recommendation to our hotel staff who said they planned to visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Spice also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Sweet Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweet Spice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.