We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to find, cheap, delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wall's Barbeque

Wall's Barbeque
515 E. York Lane, Savannah, GA
912-232-9754
Improve this listing
Ranked #113 of 774 Restaurants in Savannah
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Hard to find, cheap, delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

You could easily walk past this place as it's down a laneway and seems to be the back of someones house but make sure you don't. Food was delish, especially recommend the ribs and the tomato and ochra. Staff were really nice and dinner for 2 with dessert was only $28. Highly recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    15
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Hard to find but worth the effort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My husband is a huge BBQ fan and we tried Wall's Barbeque for lunch one day. It's a tiny place and I thought we'd be the only ones in there, but we took the last booth available. They smoke their ribs/chicken on site and it was all tasty.

I ordered the 1/4 Chicken, potato salad, coleslaw and my hubby ordered ribs, coleslaw and mac and cheese. For dessert, we tried the peach cobbler which was also good.

They have two different types of BBQ sauce and serve the meat sauce-less you can add whichever kind you prefer. I had the mild sauce - which wasn't spicy at all. The hot sauce did have a kick to it.

Service was great, the kitchen staff was friendly and talked to us while they were fixing our meal (yes, the space is that small) and I would recommend this restaurant to those who enjoy true BBQ.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“When you want the best barbeque!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Right behind us in a little alley. Go early. Go often (well as often at they're open! Thursday night, Friday and Saturday noon-9. Pulled pork is unbelievable. Ribs aren't so bad either! BBQ sauce is southern vinegar style. Spicy if you like. Best side dishes I've had: Okra and tomatoes; collard greens. Deserts are fabulous.

Not much to look at but worth the hunt. Simply plain out right excellent!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Alabama
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Wonderful welcoming place to eat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This place is hard to find, but well worth the search. When we were there they were only open Thur-Sat. Really good BBQ, and the sides are great! I had the mac 'n cheese and red rice and a chopped pork plate. We took our order To Go, but there was more inside seating than I expected. The staff were really nice. Sometimes when you go to a small place like this that the locals frequent, the staff can be annoyed at tourists who are slow to make up their mind, but everyone was great here, and the experience felt very authentic. If you are walking south on Houston St, there is a small sign on the left showing you where to turn in.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wrong address , could not find new location”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

The location of 515 east York St. was closed and we walked 10 minutes to eat here. There was no new address for the downtown restaurant or phone number .

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wall's Barbeque also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Wall's Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wall's Barbeque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.