We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of McMillan Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added McMillan Inn to your Saves list
McMillan Inn
304 East Huntingdon St, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 39 Savannah B&B and Inns
1 review
“Outstanding and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We had the best time at the McMillan Inn. The place was beautiful inside and out. The owners were more than delightful and helped us with getting around the city and with suggestions on where to go and what to do. The rooms were beautiful. The peach tea was delicious and the butter cake was fenominal. The breakfast could not have been better. We didn't want to leave at all and we will definitely back again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    27
    14
    7
    8
See reviews for
18
169
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Middleburg, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My best friend and I decided to visit Savannah for a girls' get-away. On the advice of my daughter and son-in-law, we booked a room at the McMillan Inn. The house is beautifully decorated and our room was just perfect. I believe we were in the only room that contained 2 beds. The room was spacious enough for both of us. The breakfast Cindy prepared each morning was perfection! Joe and Cindy were warm and hospitable. In addition to the wonderful breakfast, they provided advice and tips for entertaining ways to spend our days. Now, I'm getting ready to book another room and taking my husband this time. This inn was absolutely wonderful!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

My boyfriend and I were celebrating our first anniversary and we decided to visit Savannah. Neither of us had stayed in a B&B, but we were excited to try it out, and we couldn't have picked a better inn to stay in! Cindy greeted us with fresh baked cookies and gave us a map of the city explaining how to get around, sharing the best sites and restaurants, and answering all of our questions. I loved the parlor and the formal dining room. She gave us a quick tour of the first floor and then showed us to our gorgeous room. We stayed in the Gaston which is just as lovely as the pictures on the website. The room was beautifully furnished and very clean. It is located off the dining room on the main floor, but no one is allowed into the dining room until breakfast is served at 9am, so the privacy was not a big deal. Cindy thought of everything we would need - from bottled water in the mini fridge, an ice bucket for cocktails, extra towels, and instructions for the fireplace and jacuzzi. The jacuzzi tub for two was a nice bonus and the swivel TV allowed us to watch it from the tub, the bed, or the seating area. After walking around in the heat and humidity, we enjoyed relaxing in the dipping pool outside and drinking Cindy's peach tea. We enjoyed having a communal breakfast with the other guests every morning and the three course breakfast was tasty, though a little heavy on the sweets.
We would recommend this inn to anyone who is visiting Savannah and wants to enjoy the city's historic charm and true Southern hospitality. We'll be back in the future!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Stayed at the McMillan with Cindy and Joe for 3 nights for my wife's birthday. It is a great old restored Victorian home in the southern part of the city. You are a short walk to the tourist area of Savannah but by being in a residential area parking and noise is not a problem. Cindy and Joe are fantastic, and can help guide you in your sightseeing. They even had beach chairs we could use for our trip to Tybee Island. The dipping pool and iced tea was perfect after walking around in the heat of the day. Breakfast is served at one time 9 AM when the doors open to the dinning room and Cindy makes sure to keep the conversation going. True Southern hospitality.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful and filled with genuine antiques
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

First off I have to say that our room was very nice and comfortable. The mattress was great but the pillows were so overfilled that it shoved my neck to my chest so I did without a pillow. The towels were quite small but smelled so good that I meant to ask what detergent they used. We had a very warm welcome by Joe. He gave us a map and labeled some places for us to go. Even though they are in the historic district it is quite the 20-30 minute walk to the downtown/riverfront area that we believed was just down the street. Unfortunately, I did not feel the same welcome from Cindy. She was nice but I felt as if we were the unwanted relatives that she got stuck with in her home. My biggest displeasure was in the overly structured breakfast. You couldn't even sit in the dining room before they opened the doors at exactly 9am. Cindy stood stiffly at the end of the table talking but you got the feeling that she would rather be somewhere else. Breakfast was a nice presentation but everything was overly sweet. They put sweet syrups on everything including the fresh fruit. I just think they could've put the syrups on the side and had more of a variety instead of every course being extremely sweet. If you have a big sweet tooth you will be fine.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Loved the furnishings,hospitality,dipping pool and the location.Everything was so neat and clean, so accessible,and loved the people who were there; including the host and hostess. Wonderful time!We loved our beautiful room. We were upstairs with the round sitting area towards the front. Also the breakfast tasted so good. Gourmet! Atmosphere!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayfield, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

As usual, we arrived on a long distance motorcycle trip. We found this little gem on the internet and considered it among many options of places to stay in the Historic District of Savannah. It was number two on our list.

When we arrived, we called number one and found no one answering. We called this Inn and were greeted by a warm and friendly, and most importantly, inviting voice of the proprietress. It was noon, it was hot and we hoped they had a room.... They had 1. It turned out to be the room we had hoped to get when looking on line some weeks earlier. The price was totally reasonable.

We drove over the cobbled streets of Savannah and parked the bike right in front of the Inn. We were greated by a employee/hostess who started by giving us each an ice cold glass of Peach Iced tea in the parlor (all done in beautiful authentic period furniture etc.) The iced tea was the best I have ever had. We were told, we could help ourselves whenever we liked. (We drank at least 2 pitchers in the 24 hours we were there). The hostess gave us a great map and showed us where all the good walking, eating, drinking, artsy places were. She then took us to our room and let us get settled.

Showered and refereshed we went to the back courtyard and sat in the cool patio pool. A perfect little oasis from the somewhat oppressive July Georgia heat.

After the pool we wandered the historic district for several hours (Savannah is a most beautiful city).

The next day we were entertained by the owner at breakfast with stories and gossip from the city.

Sadly we departed and headed to Tybee Island, which is another great stop only 10 miles from the B & B.

Room Tip: The Huntingdon Room or the Carriage House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to McMillan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McMillan Inn

Address: 304 East Huntingdon St, Savannah, GA 31401
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The McMillan Inn is the perfect place for you. Our inn offers a quiet atmosphere for couples and friends, maximum of 13 people at the inn, up to 4 in the Carriage House, no children under 14 yrs or pets of any age! We are a small, quiet and intimate Inn. We offer a Continental Breakfast Basket in your room upon arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your McMillan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McMillan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.