We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to go for a cheap meal with friends!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taco Abajo - CLOSED

Taco Abajo
217 1/2 West Broughton St., Basement, Savannah, GA
912-480-9050
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night
Savannah, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great place to go for a cheap meal with friends!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I've been to Taco Abajo several times with different groups of friends and had a great experience each time. The waitstaff is always very nice and have even taken our cards a few times if we didn't quite hit the required $10 minimum. The chips are absolutely delicious, and I'm a personal fan of their loaded nachos. If you're looking for a cheap night out, good food, and a decent bar scene, this is definitely the place to go.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    12
    9
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Heathrow, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Second time around...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This was our second visit to Taco Abajo. We brought our friends from Nashville with us this time and now they love it too! We all ordered different tacos - pork, chicken and fish and they were all delicious. The game room is awesome and hopefully next time there will be live music. We will definitely be back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Avoid Taco Abajo. Savannah has so much more to offer!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This place was awful! We came for dinner after I bought a gift card through my Savannah menu membership. The menu looked good, so I thought a $15 gift card for $5 would be great. I was wrong! To begin with, our waiter had virtually zero knowledge about the menu or the bar offerings. He had to bring us a dry erase board from the bar when we asked what beers they had on tap. Then, my husband asked him to describe the tobacco-raisin jelly and he said he really didn't know what it was. The guacamole was average, but not worth the increased cost compared to an ordinary chain texmex place. I ordered the cilantro lime shrimp tacos with Mexican rice and the only thing I ate was the overly seasoned shrimp. The rice was cold and terribly flavored. My husband ordered the buffalo burrito with fried corn. It tasted old and overcooked. The best part of the meal was the draft beer, and even it wasn't cold like a tap should be! We should've known what we were in for when we walked in and there was only 1 other table occupied in the entire restaurant. Avoid taco abajo. Savannah has so many better options, some of which don't make it because of underexposure.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, GA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Delicious casual dining.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I keep coming back to Taco Abajo and like it more with each visit. This time I had the Slow-Cooked Pork Taco plate with a side of Sweet Tater Tots while my partner had the Modelo-battered Fish Tacos with a Garbanzo Bean Salad. The fish was good but the pork tacos were the best thing I've ever had on a soft taco- a slightly sweet slaw, caramelized grilled onions and pulled pork that was well-seasoned with what tasted like either a bit of 5-spice powder or anise.

I do have 2 comments, despite my 5-star rating: the meat on my taco was only room temperature. I'm not sure why, as our plates were brought out very quickly from the kitchen. I would've sent mine back but the idea of having my slaw microwaved to rectify the problem didn't sound like a good idea. But the tacos were still delicious and I didn't say anything to the waiter. My second comment is that sweet potato tater tots do not need to be dusted with powdered sugar. I am diabetic and can handle sweet potatoes in moderation but the sugar was a huge no-no for me and I had to let my partner finish them off. Extra sweetness was not needed and very unexpected, although I must admit I didn't ask for prep details before I ordered them. But overall, this place still gets an excellent rating from me because the food was not only delicious but downright cheap to boot. Next time, though, the food needs to be hot or I will not be so generous with my accolades. Listen up, kitchen!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savannah
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Interesting atmosphere with brick walls and low ceilings. Food was reasonably priced. Beer was the most expensive in town! So, on to the food... We liked the tacos and burritos. It needed some spice but was fresh tasting and they do bring out the sauces. Service was excellent. We will definitely return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taco Abajo also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taco Abajo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.