We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sushi was okay, but not great...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ta Ca Sushi & Japanese Fusion

Ta Ca Sushi & Japanese Fusion
513 E Oglethorpe Ave, Savannah, GA 31401
912-232 - 8222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #245 of 756 restaurants in Savannah
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Sushi was okay, but not great...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Went here for sushi based on the many good reviews. The fish quality wasn't bad (although the tuna was not great), but the signature rolls were just weird. Smothered in strange and unappetizing sauce. In a pinch, if you're jonesing for sushi, go with the sashimi or stick with the classic rolls. Honestly, I'd say go to Sushi Zen. It's way better.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

67% Recommend
    15
    8
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I love the concept of blending flavors to the food. Very nice fusion concept inspired menu. I enjoyed my sushi so much, I took some back to the hotel for a midnight snack. The staff were very nice, and knowledgeable. The outdoor seating is a welcome to those wanting to get away from the crowd. We will definitely return on our next trip. Great recommendation!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great Sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

By far one of the best places eat in downtown Savannah. The fish is fresh, qulality of sushi and hibachi is great, and service is fast, every time. Thisis definitely a place to return to.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Food was good - service terrible”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I looked forward to trying this restaurant and stopped in last night. I ordered sushi and soup to go and the bartender was extremely rude. I tried to discuss the wine and food choices to get suggestions but he didn't want to help me. The food was good but I won't go back. I would suggest putting someone behind the bar that can treat people with respect and be somewhat personable.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hien T, Owner at Ta Ca Sushi & Japanese Fusion, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Hi Beth,
Sorry about your bad experience. We have reviewed and reprimanded the bartender for his / her behavior when you asked the question. We would love you come back and enjoy the actual experience by dinning with us instead post your opinion from a "take out" experience.

thank you,

Ta Ca Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Ok but been to better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

The sushi was ok but the rice on the sushi was not very flavorful. The smoked salmon wasn't very smoky and my husband was not very impressed at all with his ribeye. Service was good, but it you like REAL sushi this is not the place.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ta Ca Sushi & Japanese Fusion also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Ta Ca Sushi & Japanese Fusion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ta Ca Sushi & Japanese Fusion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.