We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Savannah's best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maxwell's

Maxwell's
109 Jefferson Street, Savannah, GA
912-349-5878
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Maxwell's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #70 of 772 Restaurants in Savannah
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: State St./Broughton St.
Description: Chef: James Parker, formerly of Garibaldi's.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“One of Savannah's best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

I would definitely recommend Maxwell's-- and especially for dinnertime. The restaurant is excellent; a true gem!

The Charcuterie Plate and Chef Parker's Chicken Saltimbocca are to die for!

I love going there in the evening to unwind; their wine selection is superb. It doesn't matter if I'm wanting merlot or chardonnay, Maxwell's has more than enough on their fine wine list to help me finish my night right.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    22
    10
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Boring”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

While a lovely place the buzz is not there and the food isnt special enough. Good for the older set as seems to b their clientele. Owner a bit nosy for our liking seems like she's listening in on your conversations. Need to step up their game with the prices they charge.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Pretty and nothing else”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Our first night in Savannah and Maxwell's was a huge disappointment. The waitress was clueless about the menu and recommended everything because it was "moist". The menu described the salmon as being served with a seasonal sauce. When asked what the seasonal sauce was she responded it was a sauce served over the fish. The famous avocado egg rolls were just awful, tasteless, except for the sauce, slimy and dull. The Parmesan risotto was so poorly prepared I mistook them for over-whipped mashed potatoes that had become gummy. There was not a single grain of rice discern able in the pile of mush. The timing of the meal was also a disaster. Our misguided waitress asked if we were finished with our appetizers and tried to take the plates away. When we told her were did not want our plates taken away, she simply brought out our meal and crowded the table with additional plates. Okay, you win, take the appetizers away!! $50 per person, the only people in the restaurant and we were out in 45 minutes. The only reason I did not rate this restaurant as terrible is because it is clean and well decorated. It would be fine if you brought your own food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick B, Manager at Maxwell's, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
The management of Maxwell's was not made aware of any problem with the service or food from the guests. Which was not the fault of our guest but rather our server. We understand that not everyone likes our food or the way it is prepared and when we are aware of this we offer something else or do not charge the customer if they are not happy with the food.

Maxwell's has worked hard to create a calm, relaxed atmosphere where customers can relax and have a great dining experience without feeling rushed and we are very sorry to have failed this customer.

Unfortunately, we had a server that was not up to the standards of Maxwell's and is no longer employed with us.

We sincerely apologize for making this guest's first night in Savannah a disappointment and would welcome the opportunity for them to give us another try on their next visit to Savannah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Joe, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fine Dining Savannah,GA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We had a lot of choices in Savannah. Perhaps too many to easily choose. We wanted a small restaurant with ah fewer tourists...ha! Maxwells is a small restaurant quite near the busy area off Bay Street. Parking is usually in a garage whereever you can find it. At Maxwells, after 5 PM there is limited parking right behind the restaurant. A certain positive. Inside, small with a friendly staff. A reasonably priced wine list also. The menu is a mix of small plates and large plates. We chose the small plate diver scallops and the large plate lamb chops. Both were quite good. After we had the cheese cake with fresh berries. Again actually quite good. If you are looking for a very good restaurant in Savannah without the over the top décor or noise this is it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
“Amazing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I don't understand why anyone would go anywhere else for a steak in Savannah. You must try the Filet Parker at Maxwell's .. a petite filet mignon cooked to perfection and topped with a delicious crab cake with accompanying roasted potatoes and perfect string beans. But the steak itself was "to die for." Moist, tender, succulent .. hardly needing a knike to slice it into delicious morsels.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maxwell's also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Maxwell's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maxwell's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.