We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service and food have gone down hill...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Maxwell's

Maxwell's
109 Jefferson Street, Savannah, GA
912-349-5878
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Maxwell's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #69 of 722 Restaurants in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: State St./Broughton St.
Description: Chef: James Parker, formerly of Garibaldi's.
Sharpsburg, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Service and food have gone down hill...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Totally bummed this little gem was a disappointment during our last visit. Nearly a year old, we had better food and service last year, after they had only been open for a few weeks. We enjoyed the

atmosphere, the owners, and the fod so much, we ate there two nights in a row last Febuary. However, after a terrible dinner, along with bad service, on Febraury, 1st, I doubt we'll be returning. There are too many other great restaurants in Savannah to have another bad meal at Maxwells. I will say, the owner gave us a few drinks on the house, but it took nearly 2.5 hours to get our dinner. Yikes. So sad, I was your biggest fan, Maxwell's!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    25
    10
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Went here on my birthday. Small and cozy joint. While the menu is somewhat limited, we really enjoyed everything we had. The avocado egg rolls were fantastic. Will definitely go back next time I'm in savannah, would love to try their brunch.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Sunday brunch...closer to lunch, than breakfast, but yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Sunday brunch...high noon
lookout for this one...lovely spot
owner very helpful and welcoming, wonderful interior designs and colors
check out the woodwork and light...awesome
service from Kevin was spot on, quite accommodating and pleasant
nice lunchfast menu, needs a bit more from the breakfast side
portions well sized, and flavor-filled...will need to check portion size to $$
chef power's presentation is lovely
we hope that he considers some of our suggestions for balancing
some egg appointments
would do this again!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Disappointing Value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Arrived with high hopes, and we were warmly greeted and seated in this cozy little bar with restaurant seating. Service was cordial and friendly but slow, and had to be asked for on a night where not very busy. Food was average but portions were appetizer size with the price of a full dinner elsewhere. Chicken was slightly undercooked. Better values are available in this fine city.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A cozy off the beaten path tapas style eatery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Being good Methodists, we went to Maxwell's after church on a Sunday. My wife was attracted to the "Bottomless Mimosas". They also have a do-it-yourself Bloody Mary - you check off the ingredients you want in it. I would characterize the Sunday brunch as tapas style. The portions will not cause bloating. Everything was cooked to order. My wife (originally from Maryland) fancies herself as a crab cake connoisseur. She was not disappointed as it was full of crabmeat and little breading! My Waygu beef minis were very good – wish there was more. The manager / partner was very engaging and we found we had a lot in common. Now that we have had the brunch we are looking forward to going back for dinner. Our opinion is you will not be disappointed in Maxwell’s.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maxwell's also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Maxwell's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maxwell's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.