We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hated it” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Savannah South

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Savannah South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge Savannah South
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Gateway Boulevard, I-95 & 204 ex. 94, Savannah, GA 31419   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #101 of 112 hotels in Savannah
Anderson, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“hated it”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

we checked in july 1 and the first room i got smelled like smoke and it was a none smoking room. they switched us to another room and the door lock was broke. they swiched us to another room the shower was dirty the soap dish in the shower was very dirty. they did not clean my room the next day so i sent for some towels and the house cleaner bought some dirty looking towels i had to go down to the front desk to get some more. when i got ready to check out they tried to charge me for friday night which i had already paid for it was on my credit card.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    8
    10
    7
    43
See reviews for
22
19
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

There is nothing really horrible or good to say about this hotel. The room was average, clean but kinda run down. The bathroom needed work...the shower curtain rod was barely hanging on by a single screw and the tun had nicks and dents in it. The back of the bathroom door looked like someone took metal and scraped gouges into it. The bed was clean and comfortable.

The price included breakfast at the Perkins adjoining the motels lobby and that was very nice....what you'd expect. You got the choice of a couple different items or so much off the bill if you chose something else. So I'm considering the breakfast into the value of the room and is one of the redeeming values.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan, North Dakota
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

The Place Is real run down. someof the rooms smell . but we got a okay one for the price .brekfast seemed like a scam. frr breakfast means free. but u have to pay for it .huse keepers very rude . no clean towels . but we had a ray of sunshine . connie the front esk clerk was amazing . she went above and beyond her call of duty . but at the end we had clean towels and everything we ask for . she was vey nice . what a true southern . i love the south . and yes i would stay there again . she is a real gem ........ will return in the summer .

Room Tip: ask for connie
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

Under no circumstance should anyone stay at this hotel (if it can be called one!!!).

Issues faced:

1.Cracked walls that resembled a war zone and reminded me of "No Man's Land" ( 2001 Oscar Winning movie);

2. Doors that do not lock or unlock ( First room, the lock was broken and hence the door could not be locked and then we were moved to a room whose door wouldn't open);

3. No towels or toiletries in the room. When requested, we were offered pool towels since the hotel ran out of clean towels;

4. The faucet and shower were leaking. The flush was broken;

5. Carpets were stained with unidentifiable liquids and not cleaned since the end of the Cold War;

6. Neighbouring room had a barking dog that reminded us of the "Hound of Baskervilles";

7. The In house fridge had a half of bottle of cranberry juice ( or was it???)

These were the few things that we noticed in the first 10 mins we were there and ran as if there was no tomorrow.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, DE
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

We stayed here on our way to Daytona in February. The room was average, the free breakfast was great and the price was just right. We only stayed overnight while passing thru Savannah. You couldn't ask for a more comfortable bed and a great shower with lots of water pressure. The staff was friendy, fast check-in check-out and the room was adequate. Will definately stay here every year on my way down to the Daytona Internation Raceway.

Room Tip: Request room near Lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lilburn
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

The staff were not very informative and friendly. don't ever use their breakfast service. they try to rip you off !!!! We ended up paying $25 extra even though they mentioned free breakfast !!! Stay away from these crooks. Go stay with others nearby. There are several others within blocks away

Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, SC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

I don't know where the bad reviews stemmed from. For the price, this was a perfectly fine, clean hotel. We came in late on a stop over to FL. The staff checked us in promptly, even though they had computer issues. Our rooms were clean and nicely appointed as you would expect in a hotel costing $45 or less near Savannah. Our rate including a free breakfast for 2 at the adjacent Perkins Restaurant. The food was good and the service was excellent. We travel 6-8 times a year and I found nothing disagreeable at this facility and neither did my friends.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge Savannah South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Savannah South

Address: 3 Gateway Boulevard, I-95 & 204 ex. 94, Savannah, GA 31419
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 112 hotels in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Savannah South 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Econo Lodge Savannah South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Savannah South Hotel Savannah
Savannah Quality Inn
Quality Inn Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Savannah South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.