We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“short walk to history” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Historic District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Historic District to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Historic District
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   630 West Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #34 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“short walk to history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. It was only 10 minutes walk from the historic area which was ideal. It was clean the staff were very friendly. The shuttle service was helpful. If you book the Old Savannah tours you are better to go to the depot rather than buy tickets from touts on River street- we ended up waiting for ages- but the tour was very good once we got on it.
Everywhere we went the food was good.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    111
    28
    17
    11
See reviews for
93
130
5
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
carlinv
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

stayed in Savannah with my mom and sisters and was very pleased with the room and everything at comfort suites. the staff was so friendly and helpful. Lucas and Guillermo at the front desk cant thank you enough for all your help and kindness, This was the perfect place to stay the free shuttle service was amazing we stayed for 3 days and never moved the car. If you stay I hope you get Andrea Alls for shuttle driver she was so friendly and made our night, would stay here again when going back to Savannah

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This hotel is great for the money. We stayed here based on the reviews that we had seen on tripadvisor and the fact that it fit well within our budget. When we were looking to stay in savannah, many of the downtown properties in the historic district were overly priced for us, but we stumbled across the comfort suites and it was a true gem. The location was close enough to all the neat things to see in the historic district, and they even offered a complimentary hotel shuttle that would take you and bring you back. We definitely took advantage of this. The rooms were very spacious and the breakfast was on point every morning during our stay. Checking in and out was a breeze and super quick, they even let us check out a little bit late which was great, because we were able to grab a quick brunch before having to head out. It appears that the rooms have underwent a renovation from some of the pictures that I saw of the rooms before I got there, but they were great. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This hotel was a good bang for your buck. The free shuttle service was great until we learned our way around. So close to walking distance too. Stayed for five days and was very happy for my first time in Savannah. The housekeeping staff was exceptional especially Janie, Evette. Shantelle, the breakfast girl was great too. I would stay here again!

Room Tip: My sister and I stayed on the second floor and were very happy with our room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

The Staff and Services of this hotel made our weekend! Everyone shared their Southern hospitality and made us feel welcomed! Our room was neat, clean and all the amenities needed. Comfort and attractive surroundings. The location of this hotel was not too close to the businessness of downtown Savannah but just on the edge to make connections to the Savannah Mall and Historic Area just right! Our plans will definitely include this hotel. Thank you for your Southern Charm!!

Room Tip: All excellent marks for this location and hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stayed one night, wanted to extend it another night and was told one price by receptionist, but the GM Ron insisted that by him charging me more was a deal. What has happened to customer service! Ron, the GM, said " that is the best I can do" with regards to the rate because the Historic District was going for much more. Guess what bud, your service is unacceptable and will not be tolerated. Who gives a crap if you can sell out at a higher rate, I was told one thing and then another. Reap what you sow.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Had to book a last minute room this Memorial Day Weekend (a Friday night) as we were not sure when we would finally arrive in Savannah. The front desk was courteous and welcoming even though we showed up at close to 1:30 am. The room was spacious and beds were comfortable, I even fell asleep on the couch at one point. Complimentary breakfast in the morning with some OJ was just enough to get the day going. Will definitely look into booking here again for the next visit.

Price seemed fair (compared to the other hotels in downtown area). Though in speaking with others, the only feedback we got was that this was not "in a good area." HOWEVER, this location is only a short distance from downtown and the hotel provides a free shuttle service. I did not feel threatened or concerned with our location, but it is NOT smack dab in the middle of town. :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Historic District

Address: 630 West Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#35 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary Shuttle Service available to drop off and pick up our guests anywhere in the Historic District of Savannah. Hotel is located on the outer edge of the Historic District of Savannah, within walking distance of River Street and City Market. Just minutes from the Savannah International Trade & Convention Center, Savannah Civic Center and the Savannah College of Art and Design. Enjoy the shops and boutiques, restaurants & many museums, book tours available throughout the Historic District with our concierge from 10am-5:30pm daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Historic District Hotel Savannah
Comfort Suites Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.