We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Historic District

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Historic District to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Historic District
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   630 West Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #36 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
48 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

My family went to Savannah for a visit in July '13. Our draw to Savannah was the historic landmarks as well as close proximity to the beach. This hotel had what my family desires in a hotel. 1. It was clean. The staff was very friendly and made us feel welcomed. 2. Free Continental breakfast. It was tasty and filling. 3. A pool. The indoor pool space super nice.
4. Location was just on the edge of walking distance from attractions, but quiet.
The negatives: our air conditioner was leaking and spurting water. It cooled but made the floor wet. We notified the staff they came up but only after 2 days of letting them know. It never got fixed. The breakfast orange juice ran out and did not get refilled the last two days.
I would recommend this place. I would return as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GA323_Hotel_GM, Manager at Comfort Suites Historic District, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of the Comfort Suites Historic District.
We are looking into the issues you mentioned and we do apologize for any inconvenience. We hope you will stay with us again so that we might have the opportunity to better serve you.

Thank you again,

Best regards,
Ron Jean/AGM
Along with the Historic District Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    134
    34
    21
    14
See reviews for
113
157
7
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We found this hotel on AAA and it had 3 diamonds, which was fine for our stopover needs. Our initial room was not very clean...hair in the bathtub, trash on the floor, crumbs on the nightstand...small things that made me uncomfortable. We asked for housekeeping and Donna changed us to an "executive suite" instead, although this was not necessary, just another room would have been fine. The breakfast was very good in the morning. We didn't use the pool as the water was very cloudy. It is a 3-star (out of 5)...no more, no less. Donna also said that she was waiving the parking fee, but I couldn't find anything in AAA or in their ads that said there was one in the first place. Donna's customer service is what made our stay worthwhile.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Bridge view from this hotel is not the best. We have been here several times. City view is great. Do not sleep on the 1st floor. 1st floor is for pet owners. You may hear a dog bark. Overall great staff, clean rooms, and great free breakfast!!! Great price for Savannah. Walking distance from the Riverfront.
Note the Apartments across the street may look dangerous but it's appear to no problem. We have been here several times with no problems.

Room Tip: Bridge view from this hotel is not the best. We have been here several times. City view is great. Do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We had no reservations and decided to spend the night in Savannah Georgia. I had no idea where to stay, but knew we wanted to stay in the historic district. The young man at the welcome center set me up with Comfort Suites. It was on the outer edge of the Historic District but still close to everything and the price was fantastic. The room was clean, comfortable, and large. The staff at the front desk is friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good and there was a free shuttle to get you where you wanted to go, which was great, as parking was hard. Loved it and will stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here before but this time....it has went downhill. One elevator and its small and super slow! The rooms are ok...beds were soft..our shower was clogged when we got there and had to fix ourself. The jacuzzi was disgusting and brown. Even though they drained it and refilled it not bothering to actually scrub it. The pool was ok if you could get past the smell of wet paint. The shuttle van was nice and the lady doing the driving was extremely nice! Bring your own pop and water because they vending machine was out the whole week we were there! The breakfast was awful so were settled for toast every day..it wasn't well kept or refilled very often. Don't park around the bushes or your vehicle will be covered with some sticky stuff that comes from the sprinklers. It's hard to get off the windshield and handles also! Some of the front staff wasn't very informative and didn't have any area info or brochures of the area! You have to pay 5.00 each night for parking whereas we didn't have to last time. Ask for the top floor unless you have pets because the bottom floor is for pet owners. We won't be staying here again. I will gladly pay more to stay somewhere else next time!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The Comfort Suites is conveniently located within walking distance to downtown Savannah. It's a bit cheaper as it's not in the heart of the area, and you do have to walk through a small area that is a bit on the fringes. Fine during the day (and really at night, too) but I did not want our teen girls to do it alone at night.
Parking is great, and it's either free or pretty cheap compared to most of the other hotels in the area.
The staff seemed helpful and friendly. We liked that they had luggage carts available.
The rooms were about what you would expect for this price. We liked the sitting area; the sofa could have been pulled out to a bed if we'd needed. We did not like the fact that the toilet was either stained or damaged so it looked stained; that was kind of unpleasant, and the A/C, while it was cold, was somewhat blocked by the bed closest to it, so the air did not spread out as well as it should have in the room. The WiFi is free and great.
We were near the elevator; that's a bad place to be as the elevator is the slowest I've ever experienced in any hotel, which meant people stood in the hall and talked - loudly - at all hours waiting for it.
The fitness center is small; a treadmill, an elliptical and a bike. I'd have loved to see a few weights or a multipurpose machine - but it was clean and the equipment and TV worked well. The pool and hot tub are not very private - they are indoors and right at the front off the lobby - and looked a little small, but were pretty popular.
We used the washer and dryer; they were reasonable and worked well; usually these dryers are almost worthless, but this one was great. The front desk did not have laundry soap, however, which was kind of a pain. Maybe sell it in the snack machine in the same room?
I thought breakfast was good; pretty typical stuff.
We liked that the tour we selected picked up at the hotel; that was really convenient.
We loved Savannah and Tybee Island and we'll be back. I might pick one of the more historic hotels closer in or a B&B, just for a new experience, but this was a good choice on a busy holiday weekend, and was available at the last minute when our previous plans did not work out.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the world's slowest elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, GA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

There is much here to like: Nice, friendly staff (front desk and shuttle drivers), free and safe parking for your car, clean accommodations, proximity to everything, nice little indoor pool and spa, large free breakfast and - most important - a free shuttle to get you around. We found no parking spaces anywhere downtown or near River Street and the ones you may come across have short term meters that have to be fed during the course of your dining or visit which is a hassle! If you ignore and park anyway, we were told by locals you will be fined and towed! Comfort Suites will help you get to anywhere you want to go which will make your stay SO NICE. They also took AAA which reduced the cost of our room. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah-Historic District
Downtown
BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Downtown
SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Downtown
Residence Inn Savannah Downtown / Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Historic District

Address: 630 West Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#32 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary Shuttle Service available to drop off and pick up our guests anywhere in the Historic District of Savannah. Hotel is located on the outer edge of the Historic District of Savannah, within walking distance of River Street and City Market. Just minutes from the Savannah International Trade & Convention Center, Savannah Civic Center and the Savannah College of Art and Design. Enjoy the shops and boutiques, restaurants & many museums, book tours available throughout the Historic District with our concierge from 10am-5:30pm daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Comfort Suites Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Historic District Hotel Savannah
Comfort Suites Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.