We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The guys at the Valet were super!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   411 West Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast Package
Ranked #32 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Beaver Falls, Pennsylvania
1 review
“The guys at the Valet were super!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Everyone tried their best to make our first visit to Savannah and the hotel the best it could be. We would stay there again. It was a great location as well. And there was never a worry about my car, the guys took very good care of it. And they were great with directions. Better than Garmon!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    382
    136
    66
    29
See reviews for
230
415
38
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
atlanta, ga
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Location great. Clean hotel. Very friendly staff. It's kind of small compared to some of the larger machines you might expect in other cities but quaint. Location is very good, price reasonable for the location.

Greeted with warm cookies. I didn't eat any but my wife did and I heard no complaints. Room was a decent size. Didn't have a mini-fridge (not sure if that's standard or not at Doubletrees) which was a slight bummer. We had some great leftovers that could have used some cooling. No microwave either. TV was standard flat screen, nothing too big or small.

Bed comfort was fine. Bathroom furnishings and appearance were fine. Bathroom fan was quiet which was surprising. Room AC was loud when it was on full blast. Once cooled and on more maintenance temp mode, it was reasonable. Point? Keep your room cool and don't turn off the AC when you leave like we did. Otherwise it will be hours of loud noise. Only other gripe would be that the carpets, while appearing and smelling fine, were a little dirtier than I would have liked. Obviously this place has high traffic but it could have been better. Kid spilled some water so I got a towel to clean it up and scrub it dry and it did not stay white to say the least.

Only one group of 2 elevators as far as I could tell but fortunately didn't find myself waiting too long for them. Only 6 floors anyway. Didn't use the pool (outdoor) but had a view from the room and it looked nice. Still warm in this past week so people were still out there. It was hard to tell but it looked like there was a little kiddie pool too. Could have been a round hot tub type area for adults I guess.

All in all, a quality stay. Staff, again, including housekeeping were very friendly. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for your review. We're very happy to hear that you had such a nice stay with us. We do apologize that you found your carpet to be dirty. We have already forwarded your review to our Housekeeping supervisor to look into this issue. We do also have a limited number of mini-fridges and microwaves available. Should you need one simply check with our front desk associates to see if one is available for you during your stay. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed here while visiting family in the area. After staying in several local hotels on previous visits, we decided to try the DoubleTree for a change. Good points: quiet, clean, fluffy towels, great front desk staff, good buffet breakfast. Disappointments: small rooms for the price, next to no room around sink area for personal hygiene items, no towel hanger in sink area (which is outside the bathroom and behind the door when it's open), no in room refrigerator or safe and $18/day valet parking. I felt this hotel was a bit overpriced for the offerings and the quality of the rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for recently staying with us in Savannah. We're glad to hear you enjoyed our staff, breakfast and towels. We do apologize that you were unsatisfied in other areas of your stay. We would like to let you know that while we do not have refrigerators in every guest room, we do offer them upon request on a first come first serve basis. We hope you will give us another opportunity to host you in Savannah and leave you with an excellent experience overall!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The DoubleTree is in the perfect location for a trip to Savannah. You can park your car and walk everywhere! The staff was very friendly and the rooms were comfortable. My only problem was that we were given a room right on Bay Street and it was extremely noisy starting at around 5:30 a.m. Next time I will request a room on the back side of the hotel since getting up this early was not in my plans. Otherwise it is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
We’re glad you enjoyed the hotel’s close proximity for Savannah’s most famous attractions and do apologize if it was noisy during your stay. The hotels in the Historic District can have more city noise than a less active part of town and in order to ensure our guests are comfortable, we always have ear plugs available at the Front Desk. Thank you for leaving your review and we hope we will see you on your next visit to Savannah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We were very pleased with our stay. Personnel went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable. We had one little glitch which was promptly and professionally handled. We have stayed at other DoubleTrees Inns and each has been an excellent choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach,FL, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Savannah is a favorite city for many years and, now, we have am affordable and comfortable place o stay. This was our 5th stay at Savannah Doubletree (some reservations made by me and some by my friend and traveling partner). Staff is always friendly and accommodating and rooms are nicely appointed. We will continue to mark this as a "favorite".

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Lovely hotel with an outstanding location near great restaurants & sites. But if you're a "bagel & coffee" only breakfast eater, the full buffet at additional cost as the only breakfast option is impractical and inconvenient. Also, the bedding - pillows & comforter- at this and other Hilton brand hotels is attractive, but extremely uncomfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to Savannah. We do apologize that you left feeling unsatisfied. Our goal is to ensure each and every guest is fully satisfied with all aspects of the stay and we are sorry we did not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District

Address: 411 West Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Savannah
#27 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#33 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel valued and cared for at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District, and enjoy a variety of special comforts and thoughtful amenities, including a freshly baked, warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie on arrival. Set in the heart of Savannah’s Historic District, just 20 minutes from Savannah International Airport, this Savannah hotel is positioned next to Savannah City Market and just one walking block from the iconic River Street. Explore Savannah’s nearby attractions and shopping as you step out the front door and immerse yourself in the historic city.Unwind in a spacious guest room or choose a suite and relax with a separate living space, a microwave and refrigerator. Indulge with delicious, innovative cuisine at Savannah restaurant, John Ryan’s Bistro or sip on evening drinks at John Ryan’s Pub. Bathe in the summer sun on this Savannah hotel’s pool deck or plunge into the hotel’s outdoor heated pool and whirlpool.Enjoy a comfortable and professional setting to catch up on work in the 24-hour business center and benefit from complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel. Host a meeting in one of seven fully equipped meeting spaces and let us help you with the planning. Hold a corporate meeting in the modern boardroom or celebrate your next special event for up to 150 guests in our function rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Savannah
Savannah Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.