We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding value in Historic District” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   411 West Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast Package
Ranked #32 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
North Canton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Outstanding value in Historic District”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed at the Doubletree for one night so we could tour Savannah. We had never visited Savannah before, and booked this hotel after reading reviews on Trip Advisor. We were more than pleased with our choice. We were warmly greeted by Courtney at the desk, and check in was easy. All the staff were so friendly. The valet parked the car, and we never needed it again until we checked out. Our room was clean and nicely decorated with a great view of the Savannah River. My husband enjoyed watching the huge freighters. The very friendly concierge, Janice, helped us book a tour on a trolley and we got a full view of the city, as well as lots of history information. The concierge gave us a book of walking tours, which we used the next morning. Checkout time was at 12 noon, so we had lots of time to explore. The hotel has a very nice outdoor spa and pool. There was coffee in the lobby and a nice bar area with a happy hour. There were loads of restaurants to choose from within walking distance. We loved this city and will return to the Doubletree.

Room Tip: We faced the river and did not need a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for staying with us in Savannah. We love to hear when our guests have an excellent stay. We appreciate your feedback and will share your comments with our front desk and concierge team so they can read your praise as well. Come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    385
    138
    67
    29
See reviews for
232
419
39
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Folly Beach, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We totally enjoyed our experience here. Parked once at the hotel and walked everywhere. Nice, free breakfast and beautiful, clean room. Very friendly staff that is knowledgeable about the local area. Close to everyting in the historic area of Savannah. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, don't bother getting a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Our breakfast experience at John Ryan's Bistro was second to none. We ate breakfast there all 3 days and it was mainly due to our server, whom we specifically requested and waited for on day 2 & 3. Ms. Michelle is the most professional, nicest and sweetest woman I believe we have ever met. She took care of our every need...without even having to ask it. She is truly a valuable asset to the DoubleTree Hotel in Savannah. If for no other reason than we love this hotel and we love the city of Savannah.....I would come back to visit and stay at this hotel just because of her!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
We are thrilled you enjoyed yourself at our DoubleTree hotel. We are proud to give our guests a fantastic experience while they stay in Savannah and we look forward to having you as our guest once again. I have forwarded your praises regarding Michelle to our Food and Beverage Director and will make sure she knows what an excellent time you all had because of her. Thank you for leaving your review for other travelers and choosing our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoschton, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Very nice experience. Clean hotel,helpful, friendly staff. Would stay again and would recommend to family and friends. Enjoyed the warm cookie and great breakfast. The waitress was very helpful and attentive.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stateboro, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This hotel's staff really go out of their way to make you feel welcome and appreciated as a guest. The rooms are clean and very well-appointed. The internet service is not very good, but no worse than other hotels.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Booked a room with a balcony. The balcony is a joke so small maybe about5 long. Would not credit us the $5.00 for the night! Really poor customer service. Only said its a balcony. There are bigger balconies on a small cruise ship room

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We do apologize you did not enjoy your balcony and experienced unsatisfactory customer service while visiting our hotel. We will be sharing your review and feedback with our front desk manager so we can learn from your comments. I noticed that you also visited us last September and had an excellent stay. I hope you will give us another opportunity to provide you with another 5-star worthy stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We had a fabulous time at this hotel and really liked the location, service and the room was very clean and nice. The only thing I would suggest not spending any money on is to upgrade to a room with a balcony - not worth it - balcony is tiny and tucked away off the side of the room that you really don't want to use it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our location, service and room! We also appreciate your feedback regarding our balcony and do apologize if it was smaller than expected. Thank you for your review and we hope we will see you again next time you’re visiting Savannah!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District

Address: 411 West Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Savannah
#27 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#34 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel valued and cared for at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District, and enjoy a variety of special comforts and thoughtful amenities, including a freshly baked, warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie on arrival. Set in the heart of Savannah’s Historic District, just 20 minutes from Savannah International Airport, this Savannah hotel is positioned next to Savannah City Market and just one walking block from the iconic River Street. Explore Savannah’s nearby attractions and shopping as you step out the front door and immerse yourself in the historic city.Unwind in a spacious guest room or choose a suite and relax with a separate living space, a microwave and refrigerator. Indulge with delicious, innovative cuisine at Savannah restaurant, John Ryan’s Bistro or sip on evening drinks at John Ryan’s Pub. Bathe in the summer sun on this Savannah hotel’s pool deck or plunge into the hotel’s outdoor heated pool and whirlpool.Enjoy a comfortable and professional setting to catch up on work in the 24-hour business center and benefit from complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel. Host a meeting in one of seven fully equipped meeting spaces and let us help you with the planning. Hold a corporate meeting in the modern boardroom or celebrate your next special event for up to 150 guests in our function rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Savannah
Savannah Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.