We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   411 West Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Panama City
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

My wife, daughter, and I all stayed here on our way to visit my brother in Charleston, SC. We arrived to some friendly valet workers who helped us unpack... We had a lot because we have a 2 year old, we're traveling for a week, and also were doing an early Christmas with my brother. My little girl loved the cookies at the front. The inside was very eloquent but not snooty, which is not my style at all. Our room was nice, clean, and had a cool view of the city. I was not excited to pay $40 for breakfast the next morning, but was not expecting a free continental either. Just thought it was a bit overpriced for the selection. The concierge was amazing, and she made some great recommendations for us. The location was really close to downtown attractions, and history was at every corner. Awesome for a history teacher! Shopping was close too with a little commons area nearby, but there is a homeless shelter right behind the hotel. We never had any encounters, but we are cautious travelers as well. Overall, a pleasant place to stay with a good location.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    388
    146
    67
    34
See reviews for
237
428
40
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This hotel has wonderful amenities and excellent service. The front desk service was outstanding, the concierge was wonderful, the valet team was very attentive, and the restaurant was excellent. The attention to our needs was exceptional, and my 90 year old mother was very well taken care of by this staff. We will definitely choose Doubletree Hotels again when traveling and recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Savannah, GA.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed just one night here for our 16th wedding anniversary & even though we already knew what to expect (our son stayed here and recommended it), we were extremely happy with the room, beds, location, check-in and valet service. The only negative is that when we went down to use the hot tub - (@7:30-8:00 pm), all the towels were gone).

Market square is just behind this hotel and there are many places to eat & drink with a very short walk.

The warm cookies at check-in and friendly smiles go a long way to making you feel at home! We would stay here again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle V, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guests,

What an honor it was that you chose our hotel for your 16th wedding anniversary. We’re thrilled you had an excellent time and we will share your compliments with our staff. We apologize about the towels on the pool deck but hope a quick call down to Front Desk allowed our staff to quickly resolve the problem. We hope you’ll celebrate your next anniversary with us again.

Best,
Danielle Valenchis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We prefer to stay at a Double Tree if possible when we travel because it is always a good experience and comfortable stay. We stayed here in May of 2012 and had an amazing time. Our room was clean & comfortable and the staff was friendly and accommodating. We hope to return to Savannah hopefully in the near future and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

On the corner of Bay and Montgomery, this hotel was the perfect spot to explore all of the historic district. The employees were very friendly, welcoming us back each day when our travels were done and wishing us a good day when we left each morning. Our room was clean, the bed was very confortable and our window faced the bridge. This is the second time I've stayed here and would stay again.

Room Tip: The jacuzzi suite is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The hotel is located in a very good spot for touring the city. The concierge had the trolley company come and pick us up right outside and we enjoyed walking thru the city and ending back at the Doubletree. Rooms were very comfortable and spacious.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We were supposed to be on a beach get-a-way at Tybee Island and had a terrible experience. So when we woke up the next day we decided we were checking out early from Tybee. I got my phone out with my Tripadvisor app and started looking at hotels in Savannah. We wanted to be near River Street in the Historic District. DoubleTree came up and had multiple great reviews. So I booked the room and we got the heck out of Tybee. The DoubleTree was WONDERFUL! Walked in to the hotel around 10:30am and asked if we could just store our bags and car until the afternoon when we would be able to check-in. They did even better than that... they went ahead and let us check in! Everything was clean and beautiful and the staff were so very pleasant and happy we were there. This hotel is located perfectly. We were able to walk all over the place and enjoy the restaurants and shops and beautiful squares. Gorgeous! If you are thinking about going to Savannah, please do yourself a favor and stay here. It definitely salvaged the rest of our trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District

Address: 411 West Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Savannah
#29 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#34 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel valued and cared for at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District, and enjoy a variety of special comforts and thoughtful amenities, including a freshly baked, warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie on arrival. Set in the heart of Savannah’s Historic District, just 20 minutes from Savannah International Airport, this Savannah hotel is positioned next to Savannah City Market and just one walking block from the iconic River Street. Explore Savannah’s nearby attractions and shopping as you step out the front door and immerse yourself in the historic city.Unwind in a spacious guest room or choose a suite and relax with a separate living space, a microwave and refrigerator. Indulge with delicious, innovative cuisine at Savannah restaurant, John Ryan’s Bistro or sip on evening drinks at John Ryan’s Pub. Bathe in the summer sun on this Savannah hotel’s pool deck or plunge into the hotel’s outdoor heated pool and whirlpool.Enjoy a comfortable and professional setting to catch up on work in the 24-hour business center and benefit from complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel. Host a meeting in one of seven fully equipped meeting spaces and let us help you with the planning. Hold a corporate meeting in the modern boardroom or celebrate your next special event for up to 150 guests in our function rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Savannah
Savannah Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.