We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel-comfy beds!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   411 West Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast Package
Ranked #29 of 112 hotels in Savannah
Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice hotel-comfy beds!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed just one night here for our 16th wedding anniversary & even though we already knew what to expect (our son stayed here and recommended it), we were extremely happy with the room, beds, location, check-in and valet service. The only negative is that when we went down to use the hot tub - (@7:30-8:00 pm), all the towels were gone).

Market square is just behind this hotel and there are many places to eat & drink with a very short walk.

The warm cookies at check-in and friendly smiles go a long way to making you feel at home! We would stay here again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle V, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guests,

What an honor it was that you chose our hotel for your 16th wedding anniversary. We’re thrilled you had an excellent time and we will share your compliments with our staff. We apologize about the towels on the pool deck but hope a quick call down to Front Desk allowed our staff to quickly resolve the problem. We hope you’ll celebrate your next anniversary with us again.

Best,
Danielle Valenchis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    414
    344
    109
    54
    27
See reviews for
206
359
36
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We prefer to stay at a Double Tree if possible when we travel because it is always a good experience and comfortable stay. We stayed here in May of 2012 and had an amazing time. Our room was clean & comfortable and the staff was friendly and accommodating. We hope to return to Savannah hopefully in the near future and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

On the corner of Bay and Montgomery, this hotel was the perfect spot to explore all of the historic district. The employees were very friendly, welcoming us back each day when our travels were done and wishing us a good day when we left each morning. Our room was clean, the bed was very confortable and our window faced the bridge. This is the second time I've stayed here and would stay again.

Room Tip: The jacuzzi suite is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The hotel is located in a very good spot for touring the city. The concierge had the trolley company come and pick us up right outside and we enjoyed walking thru the city and ending back at the Doubletree. Rooms were very comfortable and spacious.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We were supposed to be on a beach get-a-way at Tybee Island and had a terrible experience. So when we woke up the next day we decided we were checking out early from Tybee. I got my phone out with my Tripadvisor app and started looking at hotels in Savannah. We wanted to be near River Street in the Historic District. DoubleTree came up and had multiple great reviews. So I booked the room and we got the heck out of Tybee. The DoubleTree was WONDERFUL! Walked in to the hotel around 10:30am and asked if we could just store our bags and car until the afternoon when we would be able to check-in. They did even better than that... they went ahead and let us check in! Everything was clean and beautiful and the staff were so very pleasant and happy we were there. This hotel is located perfectly. We were able to walk all over the place and enjoy the restaurants and shops and beautiful squares. Gorgeous! If you are thinking about going to Savannah, please do yourself a favor and stay here. It definitely salvaged the rest of our trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Totally enjoyed staying here at DoubleTree..Savannah Historic District. Food, service, and overall experience was AWESOME! All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. Great location to waterfront and historic district. Walking distance to everything...very safe area.
We will definitely stay there any time we are in the area!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Room was very clean and the furniture, carpeting and drapes looked fresh and updated. Very friendly personnel and eager to accommodate a request. The restaurant food was very good. A wide variety for breakfast brunch for only $15.00. Very convenient to the city market and River Front without having to take a trolley tour.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle V, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Hello Doubletree Guest,

We are thrilled you enjoyed our hot breakfast and our wonderful staff. We are proud to give our guests a fantastic experience while they stay in Savannah and we look forward to having you as our guest once again. Thank you for leaving your review for other travelers and choosing our hotel.

Best,
Danielle Valenchis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District

Address: 411 West Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Savannah
#18 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#31 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel valued and cared for at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District, and enjoy a variety of special comforts and thoughtful amenities, including a freshly baked, warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie on arrival. Set in the heart of Savannah’s Historic District, just 20 minutes from Savannah International Airport, this Savannah hotel is positioned next to Savannah City Market and just one walking block from the iconic River Street. Explore Savannah’s nearby attractions and shopping as you step out the front door and immerse yourself in the historic city.Unwind in a spacious guest room or choose a suite and relax with a separate living space, a microwave and refrigerator. Indulge with delicious, innovative cuisine at Savannah restaurant, John Ryan’s Bistro or sip on evening drinks at John Ryan’s Pub. Bathe in the summer sun on this Savannah hotel’s pool deck or plunge into the hotel’s outdoor heated pool and whirlpool.Enjoy a comfortable and professional setting to catch up on work in the 24-hour business center and benefit from complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel. Host a meeting in one of seven fully equipped meeting spaces and let us help you with the planning. Hold a corporate meeting in the modern boardroom or celebrate your next special event for up to 150 guests in our function rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Savannah
Savannah Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.