We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outstanding hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   411 West Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast Package
Ranked #32 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Hobart, Indiana
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“outstanding hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The location was fantastic, walked out and was able to get to everything. The riverfront, marketplace, vinie van go go was a few yards away. We walked to Savannah Smiles and pretty much anything we wanted. We parked the car and left it for the entire stay. The breakfast was one of the best we have had as far as free meals. The had a fried rice that we would gladly have back back for again. We were very happy with our stay after moving over from the Hampton inn & suites historic district.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    384
    137
    66
    29
See reviews for
231
418
38
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wareham, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Had the opportunity to stay at the Doubletree in Savannah for three nights. Hotel is right in the downtown area close the river. We asked for a quiet room and were graciously placed on the Market side. The front desk person, Mariah, could not do enough for us. She explained the hotel functions and we opted for the $10 add on breakfast which was the best deal in town.
Because we are Hilton Honors members, Happy Hour was extended from 3pm until 11pm! $3 wine and domestic beers. By the way, your can walk around Sanannah with an alcoholic drink with no problem. We just asked Barry or Kimberly,the bartenders, and they set us up. They were also great sources of local info.
A heated pool and hot tub were nice on a cool evening.
A special place is the "library". With comfy chairs and a fireplace burning it made the hotel warm and inviting.
While in Savahhan, just call and asked for Mariah Tompkins. You will be glad that you did.

Room Tip: Visit Janice, the Concierge, she is a great source of information and discounts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snellville, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The staff here is first rate. The location is excellent. There are many good restaurants within walking distance, ranging from fine dining to dive bar. There's something for everyone. I've stayed here more than once, and I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

One night business stay. Wonderful staff from valet to front desk! Cookie was wonderful. I checked in at 7 PM and the room wasn't ready??? However I was offered and accepted an easy access room. This worked out well for me. Nice TV. Nice lounge.Great parking. Great location on Bay Street. A lot of restaurants around the hotel.

Room Tip: If you wish to sleep, get a poolside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This is a very nice hotel in the heart of the city market neighborhood of Savannah. I have seen reviews of noise complaints, but maybe it's the season that I'm staying in, there is no noise. My room is on the city market side of the hotel, but the city market is basically dead when it gets dark mid week in January. I was shocked when I entered my room and saw a 4 post bed. Pretty cool, and it was a comfortable mattress. The hotel is within walking distance to plenty of places to eat or drink, and has it's own restaurant and bar, which might be great, but I didn't visit.
A quick tip to parking is to get a visitors pass at the parking office, it's $7 vrs the 17 or 20 valet charge at the hotel.
Every one of the staff that I ran into greeted me with a smile. Nice!!!

Room Tip: I heard that the Bay st side is loud with trucks passing through, but I also heard that city market...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The location is great. And, the Staff is excellent. Everyone have a smile, always say hello, how are you, etc. Make you feal like a king... The valet parking personnel were friendly and always able to help with your baggage, with directions and recommendations about shopping and restaurants. The front desk staff was great as well. The room were cleaned and always smell fresh.

Room Tip: The best staff by far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gray
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The breakfast is great...best i have ever had at a hotel...Everything was so nice...The only thing I think needs to be improved is the staff at the desk..Not that friendly...But everything else was great! Will stay again..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District

Address: 411 West Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Savannah
#27 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#34 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel valued and cared for at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District, and enjoy a variety of special comforts and thoughtful amenities, including a freshly baked, warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie on arrival. Set in the heart of Savannah’s Historic District, just 20 minutes from Savannah International Airport, this Savannah hotel is positioned next to Savannah City Market and just one walking block from the iconic River Street. Explore Savannah’s nearby attractions and shopping as you step out the front door and immerse yourself in the historic city.Unwind in a spacious guest room or choose a suite and relax with a separate living space, a microwave and refrigerator. Indulge with delicious, innovative cuisine at Savannah restaurant, John Ryan’s Bistro or sip on evening drinks at John Ryan’s Pub. Bathe in the summer sun on this Savannah hotel’s pool deck or plunge into the hotel’s outdoor heated pool and whirlpool.Enjoy a comfortable and professional setting to catch up on work in the 24-hour business center and benefit from complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel. Host a meeting in one of seven fully equipped meeting spaces and let us help you with the planning. Hold a corporate meeting in the modern boardroom or celebrate your next special event for up to 150 guests in our function rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Savannah
Savannah Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.