We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Wonderful..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   411 West Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sweet Dreams + Breakfast
Ranked #37 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Denver
1 review
“Just Wonderful..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

I love this hotel. It has a great restaurant, a good sized bar which also serves
restaurant fare and wonderful amenities such as a fitness room, free parking,
spacious rooms (I received an upgrade) and they have comfortable beds.
The hotel is located close to the historic district and many restaurants.
The decor is more set to traditional and I have been so used to modern design with hotels
, but this was a welcomed change. I was here for leisure and some of the local tours.
The desk staff specifically Mariah who checked me in and Craig who provided information and excellent direction was professional and very courteous. the maid service was excellent.
High grades from me to this hotel. My hats off to the management team who have trained the employees to provide 4 star service.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    414
    155
    68
    39
See reviews for
257
445
40
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

This is a wonderful hotel in a wonderful location, with wonderful service. What more could you want? Easy launching point to see all of Savannah's history and charm.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Stayed here for a few nights in late May during a business trip. The hotel is amongst a strip of hotels along the edge of the bay. The location of the hotel is perfect for it's proximity to the town. I found it to be very comfortable and clean. Has a gym and outdoor pool to relax by. It was run with quiet efficiency and the staff were very attentive. My best thanks are reserved for the guys running the front garage. Nothing is too much trouble for them. If I had to mention a bad point it would have to be the noise from the traffic on the main road which, if you are in a room at the front would certainly interrupt your sleep. Would certainly stay again on my next trip.

Room Tip: Floor 2 at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Being at the hotel was a joy from the outset. Im not alone in saying the cookies that are given out at check is not the only reason why anyone would stay. The staff is wonderful i was rushed in my check in to get to a dinner but Craig who checked me in efficient and helpful to make sure I met my party in time. Taylor and the valet parkers and bellman are friendly and the restaurant where we ate breakfast was a smiling bunch, that wrapped up my enjoyable stay Every hotel should have a staff like this one.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

I recently stayed at the Doubletree hotel in historic Savannah, GA. I can't say enough good things about the stay. From Taelor meeting me upon arrival and taking my luggage to my room, check in and ultimately check out, everyone was very friendly! I couldn't have had a more memorable vacation as the one I just experienced, I can't wait to return!!! As for valet parking, if I needed to get something from my car or wanted to take it out, everyone was extremely courteous; everyone always had a friendly smile for me! I would definitely recommend Doubletree hotel in the historic district to anyone. The hotel was close to the places I wanted to visit and shop, very close to the Savannan river and River street!

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle V, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Taelor is our girl! We are very fortunate to have her on our team because she truly is fantastic at her job and providing the best for the guests. We take pride in giving our guests 100% customer satisfaction and there is no bigger compliment than hearing “I can’t wait to return!” Come back and see us again soon – we’ll be waiting with those warm Doubletree cookies and more great service!

All the best,
Dannie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here on a business trip and it was a very nice property. The rooms were very nice and roomy. I loved my stay other than an issue I had with a wake up call. I requested a wake up call at 6 am and they did not call me until 6:45 am which put me late to an appointment. I had to eat my breakfast on the go. When I reported the incident to the front desk I just got a "sorry". I am a Hilton Diamond member and typically they are very generous when an issue like this arises. I would have requested to talk to management but I was already late and didn't want to be later to my meeting. Other than that issue my stay was perfect. I will try this hotel again at some point due to the location and price. Hopefully this issue was only an one time occurance.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

I was very pleased with this hotel, from location and condition of the property, to the very gracious staff. Upon my arrival, late on a Saturday night, I was treated to great service and a warm cookie and even a glass of milk upon request. :) I could tell the management and training was in order here and that everyone I encountered, was on board and took pride in the property and their job.
Some guest pulled a fire alarm one evening, but the desk staff and security on duty handled the situation professionally and efficiently.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District

Address: 411 West Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Savannah
#31 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#32 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel valued and cared for at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District, and enjoy a variety of special comforts and thoughtful amenities, including a freshly baked, warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie on arrival. Set in the heart of Savannah’s Historic District, just 20 minutes from Savannah International Airport, this Savannah hotel is positioned next to Savannah City Market and just one walking block from the iconic River Street. Explore Savannah’s nearby attractions and shopping as you step out the front door and immerse yourself in the historic city.Unwind in a spacious guest room or choose a suite and relax with a separate living space, a microwave and refrigerator. Indulge with delicious, innovative cuisine at Savannah restaurant, John Ryan’s Bistro or sip on evening drinks at John Ryan’s Pub. Bathe in the summer sun on this Savannah hotel’s pool deck or plunge into the hotel’s outdoor heated pool and whirlpool.Enjoy a comfortable and professional setting to catch up on work in the 24-hour business center and benefit from complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel. Host a meeting in one of seven fully equipped meeting spaces and let us help you with the planning. Hold a corporate meeting in the modern boardroom or celebrate your next special event for up to 150 guests in our function rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Savannah
Savannah Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.