We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   411 West Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast Package
Ranked #32 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
durham, nc
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location, great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Stayed there for two nights in December. Every single staff person at every service point was professional and helpful. And the location is a big plus!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    384
    138
    67
    29
See reviews for
231
419
39
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011 via mobile

Stayed recently in December. The location is great, 1 block away from city market and in walking distance to the river front. Many places of interest near the hotel. Make sure to talk with concierge, she is very knowledgeable will provide great tips.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Dora, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

The room as always was beautiful and comfortable. The hotel was noisier than expected, which this is a first seeing as we have stayed at this hotel seven times previously and have never had a problem with noise. We had requested a river view room, but ended up facing the back which was a bit of a disappointment because we love the bridge. The breakfast buffet (which was included) was very satisfying and so was our waitress. There was a fire alarm at 1:30 in the morning and guests were left to guess what to do and where to go. While there was an apology the next day in writing, I thought there could have been a bit more direction from the staff to help the guests. John the concierge was wonderful! We will be back!

Room Tip: If you want quiet you will prefer a room that faces the square and not Bay street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

We booked to stay at this hotel through virgin holidays, as part of a 4 centre vacation. At the time of booking (13 months prior) we stipulated we wanted a king room, and as virgin holiday travellers we would get a 'preferred room'. In fact when we arrived we were given a double room, over looking the parking garage exit,when we questioned this, we were told that the hotel was full. How much in advance do you have to request a room then ???. The hotel 'prides' itself on always saying hello when you return to reception, we found this very false, irritating and to be honest made us feel uncomfortable. We have been to Savannah before and were really looking forward to returning, it is a beautiful city, we didn't let our below average hotel stay spoil this. Really wished we had paid a bit more and stayed at the Mansion on Forsyth Park, even though it's a bit further out of town.

Room Tip: What ever you request, you probably won't get it, so don't bother asking, unless you book at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

Located in the center of the historic district. Valet parking only. While checking in the employee couldn't seem to find my Hilton Honors number so I had to provide the receipt of the Hilton Hotel that I stayed in the night before. I have always loved the signature chocolate chip cookie that DoubleTree serves. I strongly recommend you get a room on the back side of the hotel, not facing the front which is a very noisy street. The room was clean, spacious, and high ceilings. I did feel that I was sleeping along a truck route from all of the loud traffic traveling down the street.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

We (a group of women) arrived at the hotel for what we thought was going to be a great weekend. Little did we know that someone would come into out room without our knowledge, eat our food, and leave crumbs in the bathroom. Upon addressing this with the hotel staff, we were laughed at and assured that nobody had been in our room. Also, we paid in advance only to be charged again. When this was addressed with with the front desk we were told that the room was paid in advance and nothing else had been charged. The double charges caused fees to be made to the card. We got NO help from the hotel and contacted corporate to try to solve the issue. The hotel would do nothing until finally they were contacted by their corporate office. The gentleman at the desk while trying to get help in these situations was commenting on women walking through the lobby of the hotel. It was very uncomfortable, unprofessional, and rude.

Room Tip: Pay the money and stay at AVIA
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

First time to Savannah. This hotel is on Bay Street, making it an easy walk to river and hoping day and nightlife. The hotel is a brand new /old style type that has first class ammenities including underground parking. Staff was excellent ,easy check in/out . only gripe was the breakfast...was it included or not.. It was a great breakfast,

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District

Address: 411 West Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Savannah
#27 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#34 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel valued and cared for at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District, and enjoy a variety of special comforts and thoughtful amenities, including a freshly baked, warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie on arrival. Set in the heart of Savannah’s Historic District, just 20 minutes from Savannah International Airport, this Savannah hotel is positioned next to Savannah City Market and just one walking block from the iconic River Street. Explore Savannah’s nearby attractions and shopping as you step out the front door and immerse yourself in the historic city.Unwind in a spacious guest room or choose a suite and relax with a separate living space, a microwave and refrigerator. Indulge with delicious, innovative cuisine at Savannah restaurant, John Ryan’s Bistro or sip on evening drinks at John Ryan’s Pub. Bathe in the summer sun on this Savannah hotel’s pool deck or plunge into the hotel’s outdoor heated pool and whirlpool.Enjoy a comfortable and professional setting to catch up on work in the 24-hour business center and benefit from complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel. Host a meeting in one of seven fully equipped meeting spaces and let us help you with the planning. Hold a corporate meeting in the modern boardroom or celebrate your next special event for up to 150 guests in our function rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Savannah
Savannah Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.