We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was a rare experience where we were made to feel welcome, and were not treated like "just another vacationer".” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oglethorpe Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Oglethorpe Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Oglethorpe Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7110 Hodgson Memorial Drive, Savannah, GA 31406-2532 (Formerly Masters Inn Suites)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence 2014
south carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This was a rare experience where we were made to feel welcome, and were not treated like "just another vacationer".”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

We found Oglethorpe Inn and Suites on the internet while searching for a place to stay on the Savannah River. We could not afford a room on the river, so we clicked on this inn. We were very surprised at the rates. Every over the phone contact was a pleasant experience. They even gave us a better rate than we had previously booked.
This was a totally unexpected experience for us. The inn was so clean and neat. The rooms were the cleanest of any hotels in which we have stayed in the past 5 years. We loved the suite style room. You can relax at the end of the day on a sofa, instead of having to lie down on the bed to watch television or read.
You step out of your room onto an inside balcony instead of a cold sidewalk. We love the sea; therefore, we loved the color scheme. The balconies remind you of old days with all the lovely iron work. The atrium is filled with plants, Christmas music was playing, hot coffee at the end of the day. The staff was wonderful to us. We will return.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    219
    50
    25
    12
See reviews for
132
288
20
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Litchfield
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

This hotel has very large suite rooms nicely decoratored, looked like everything has been remodeled recently. Location is not close to downtown but bus service is good and in front of hotel. Good value when visiting Savannah.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2009

I booked at this hotel based on the posted reviews. However, after arriving there I found out that the hotel is located 9 miles/ 11 minutes driving to Savannah downtown and not 5 miles as stated on their website. Also, they do not offer a free shuttle as read. The Shuttle service you around the hotel area only but during my 2 days stay I never spotted parked outside. The close location and the shuttle service were the 2 reasons that made me book there but I was disappointed after finding out that the location is bit far and the "shuttle service" is not to downtown. The place on Saturday night after midnight was noisy by some drunk people with others knocking on the wall. Also, my room was not cleaned and I never had any fresh towels so I had to ask for some when I returned back to my room after a long day in downtown. Internet is a bit slow if you use their business center. The breakfast is rich. They offer a lot. The frontdesk people are friendly. The parking in downtown during weekend is cheap. It is just for 3 bucks for the whole day.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City Peachtree, Georgia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2009

I found Oglethorpe Inn & Suites on Trip Advisor and was very happy I did! I booked two rooms; one for me and my husband, and one for my mother who was visiting from California. All three of us were very impressed with the size of our rooms and the attractiveness of the atrium. I also appreciated the complimentary breakfast, newspapers, and computers located in the lobby. They came in handy for looking up restaurants on Trip Advisor! (By the way, there is a terrific Thai restaurant within walking distance, "The King and I". Turn right out of the parking lot and walk up past the light. The King and I is located in the strip mall, just past the light.)

We really enjoyed our three night stay before Thanksgiving and will definitely return. It is a much better value than staying downtown! And, the staff was very friendly and helpful.

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, MO
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

None of the other reviews have mentioned how beautiful this hotel is. The atrium is lovely and distinctive, having a cool retro vibe of updated late 50s-early 60s interior design. It is a real treat to step out of your room and look out over the wrought-iron railings to the elegant breakfast area below. Our room was incredibly spacious, also beautifully decorated. The front desk staff was great, and we enjoyed eating breakfast in that lovely atrium. Our visit was a lovely surprise. We arrived in Savannah without a hotel reservation and happened to find it while driving around the mall area.

On a previous visit to Savannah, we stayed at one of the pricier hotels on Bay Street. It was OK, but more expensive, and the valet parking was a hassle. This hotel was as nice as that one, without the parking problem (plenty of free parking on the hotel grounds), and at a much lower price.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

My husband and I spent one night at the Oglethorpe Inn and Suites. The room was very clean, and was very roomy and had a good setup. Free breakfast in the morning, and free internet. However, ours did not work because we were in a far corner of the hotel. The lobby was beautiful and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. Our television was not working properly, and they sent someone up immediately to come look at it.
This hotel is not in historic Savannah, which was more than fine with us because of the money we saved. It is just a short 5 minute drive into town where you can find free parking on the streets. I would stay here again, and will recommend this to anyone I know going to Savannah.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

We were very impressed with Oglethorpe Inn. First of all, I talked to Penny on the phone when I was checking out hotels, her friendly and helpful attitude is what made me decide to stay here. Other places I called had negative attitudes and seemed like it was a bother to answer questions. When we checked in Amber assisted us, she and all the other staff that we came in contact with were all very nice. The breakfast is good for the money. The property inside and out was extremely clean. I loved the layout of the room, my husband said it was very cozy. We got a great deal for the money, it was much nicer than we expected to get for what we paid. Two years ago, we stayed maybe a mile down the road at a chain hotel, paid much more and the place was nasty. I would say that this room was the best hotel stay I have ever had--and I am also including casino hotel rooms as a comparison. I would recommend Oglethorpe Inn & Suites to anyone and everyone!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oglethorpe Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oglethorpe Inn & Suites

Address: 7110 Hodgson Memorial Drive, Savannah, GA 31406-2532 (Formerly Masters Inn Suites)
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#26 Business Hotel in Savannah
#33 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Oglethorpe Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Gem Among Midtown Savannah's All-Suite Inn Near Savannah 's Historic District,Oglethorpe Inn & Suites is an excellent and affordable alternative to the higher priced hotels in downtown Savannah. It's consistently one of the highest rated and most positively reviewed Savannah hotels on TripAdvisor, listed in the Top Twenty out of 108 properties. Easily accessible from I-16 /I-95 and Savannah International Airport, Oglethorpe Inn & Suites offers business travelers,vacationing families and sports teams accommodations close to all of Savannah's favorite spots, one block away from Oglethorpe Mall(over 140 stores) . Recently purchased all new bedding, sheets, comforters and pillows. Guests enjoy complimentary hot continental breakfast, high speed wireless internet with free lobby computers/printers, private outdoor pool / sundeck and a fitness center / laundry facilities on-site, free parking, 32" flat screen TVs in every suite with coffeemaker, microwave & mini-fridge, living room with over 450 sq. ft.all non-smoking, Free newspaper & local calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Oglethorpe Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oglethorpe Inn And Suites
Oglethorpe Inn & Suites Hotel Savannah
Oglethorpe Hotel Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oglethorpe Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.