We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our go to hotel in Savannah” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oglethorpe Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Oglethorpe Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Oglethorpe Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7110 Hodgson Memorial Drive, Savannah, GA 31406-2532 (Formerly Masters Inn Suites)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Our go to hotel in Savannah”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We travel to Savannah to visit family. The Oglethorpe is comfortable, convenient and fits our budget. We recommend booking ahead and getting the "early bird" rate. It is non transferable and non refundable so your plans must be firm but the value can't be beat. The buffet breakfast is very very basic but if you can make due with a cup of coffee and a banana or bowl of instant oatmeal you'll be fine. The fitness room is minimal but again if you just want a quick 30 minute treadmill or stepper workout it will suffice.

Room Tip: We had a lobby level room this time which made loading bags in and out super easy. Our room on the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    218
    50
    25
    12
See reviews for
131
288
20
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, North Carolina
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

What a pleasant surprise to arrive and find such a cute place. We stayed in a King suite with plenty of room, if we were staying a week we would have been comfortable. The room was clean and comfy the lady who checked us in was very nice and it was incredibly quiet. We will come back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cool Ridge, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is what you expect to see in the south--reminiscent of New Orleans. Very attractive building and grounds, and good security. Inside there is a lovely atrium area where they serve breakfast, or you can sit and play chess or checkers while you enjoy a free coffee and enjoy the water fountain. Very friendly staff, and helpful too. Our only issues with this location were not enough just general cleaning. Hard water stain in the commode was very bad, dust on the door panels. The linens were clean and very nice quality, comfortable beds, but our room didn't look like it was vacuumed our entire five day stay, nor was the hallway. This hotel is so close to being a great hotel, with just a little more work they could be there. Lots of little things like the light fixtures and ornamentation on the wrought iron in the atrium being very dusty. Sound nitpicky? I can tell by the attitude of those working there, that they are striving to be a great hotel, and we would stay there again, but they to need to try a little harder to become what I can tell they want to be. The location is quiet, but still near enough to access everything in just minutes. Decent breakfast--sausage biscuits, waffles, oatmeal, cereal, pastries, yogurt and juices. We enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
graSavannah, General Manager at Oglethorpe Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
I want to thank you for sharing your comments with us. Our goal is 100% satisfaction and we strive to make every stay enjoyable in EVERY aspect. I am sorry that we missed the mark this time.

I appreciate you taking time to complete our guest survey and I am sincerely sorry to hear that we failed in providing you an exceptional experience. While we earnestly strive to meet every expectation, we have, unfortunately, fallen short of our goal during your visit.

As General Manager of Oglethorpe Inn & Suites, I assure you that I take all guest feedback very seriously.

Please be assured that I reviewed your concerns, This week we are in process of ongoing training procedures with all housekeepers and addressing "Attention to Detail"m for cleaning.

It is my sincere hope that you will give us an occasion to serve you again in the future, so that we may have an opportunity to correct our mistake and provide you with an unmatched Savannah experience.

Glenn Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio, USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This hotel is located 10-15 minutes from the downtown historic district and is much more reasonable. Nice comfortable room (almost a mini-suite). Room was clean and staff was gracious. We requested a handicapped accessible room and was taken care of. Breakfast buffet is nothing special, just the usual continental breakfast and waffle maker. Not a big chain hotel but good value.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolilna
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay. The helpful staff are the jewels of this property. The are well-informed about Savannah and area sites. Our room was spacious, breakfast was ample, and the surrounding area seems very safe. The lobby with its fountain and cool greenery created a welcoming atmosphere. We will return.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham WA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We spent five nights here on a Road Scholar program. Found all the hotel personnel from desk clerks to maids to be very friendly and helpful. When we left the desk clerk found us a very reasonably priced van to share for our trip back to the airport as we had found two other people to go with us.
Breakfast was free and had everything we needed.
Beds were outstanding and beautifully comfortable- as good as anywhere we have ever stayed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oglethorpe Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oglethorpe Inn & Suites

Address: 7110 Hodgson Memorial Drive, Savannah, GA 31406-2532 (Formerly Masters Inn Suites)
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#26 Business Hotel in Savannah
#33 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Oglethorpe Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Gem Among Midtown Savannah's All-Suite Inn Near Savannah 's Historic District,Oglethorpe Inn & Suites is an excellent and affordable alternative to the higher priced hotels in downtown Savannah. It's consistently one of the highest rated and most positively reviewed Savannah hotels on TripAdvisor, listed in the Top Twenty out of 108 properties. Easily accessible from I-16 /I-95 and Savannah International Airport, Oglethorpe Inn & Suites offers business travelers,vacationing families and sports teams accommodations close to all of Savannah's favorite spots, one block away from Oglethorpe Mall(over 140 stores) . Recently purchased all new bedding, sheets, comforters and pillows. Guests enjoy complimentary hot continental breakfast, high speed wireless internet with free lobby computers/printers, private outdoor pool / sundeck and a fitness center / laundry facilities on-site, free parking, 32" flat screen TVs in every suite with coffeemaker, microwave & mini-fridge, living room with over 450 sq. ft.all non-smoking, Free newspaper & local calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Oglethorpe Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oglethorpe Inn And Suites
Oglethorpe Inn & Suites Hotel Savannah
Oglethorpe Hotel Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oglethorpe Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.