We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of East Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added East Bay Inn to your Saves list
East Bay Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   225 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE WiFi, Breakfst, Wine
Ranked #9 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Atco, New Jersey
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2008

My husband surprised me for my birthday with a 3 night stay here in Savannah. He prepared all the reservations himself (which he usually doesn't do). He definitely made a great choice!! I wouldn't have stayed anywhere else. The hotel was lovely and the staff (especially Sheila) was extremely helpful. We had a deluxe queen corner room on the 3rd floor facing the river. It was beautiful!!!!We had no issues with the buffet breakfast or the staff. When we were there, plenty of tables were available. We enjoyed hearing stories about "Charlie" the friendly ghost who usually appears on the 3rd floor. The location was excellent-an easy walking distance to all of the great restaurants. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Liked — location, amenities
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    153
    43
    21
    9
See reviews for
97
329
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vicks3
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2008

We only stayed at the East Bay Inn for one night and to be honest I am glad we did not stay any longer! The hotels location is perfect for exploring Savannah (which is an amazing place), and its decore is sympthetic to the history of the building. However, the staff who turned down the room in the evening (which is a nice touch) and those who worked in the dinning room at breakfast were extremley rude and incompetent!
Breakfast time was the most disappointing as there were no were near enough tables to accomodate even half the guests staying in the hotel. We had to sit at the bar, where there was no cutlery or crockery and very little food or drink available. Several other people had the same problem so we requested what we required from the only person working in the dinning room who very slowly went about getting the items whilst muttering about us under his breath. This muttering soon increased to shouting as another guest requested a fork. Some light relief came in the form of the reception manager who came to assist with the situation, however she did not seem compitent enough to resolve the problem appropriatley. We understand that a member of staff had not turned up that morning so they were short staffed, however the rude nature of the customer service means that we would not return to this hotel in the future.
However, we recommed Savannah whole heartedly - just stay in a different hotel!

  • Liked — the decor which was symperthetic to the historical archetecture
  • Disliked — the service was appaling
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2008

We stayed at East Bay Inn for a weekend. The location is wonderful. This end of Bay St is more quiet than the other end at night. The Pink House is stumbling distance from the Inn.

The room was nice, but not very big. The bathroom was fine, nothing special. The room was clean, but should have been cleaner, (dusty and hair in the tub).

The breakfast was O.K., not great.

The staff was very unfriendly, and not helpful.

The best part about this Inn, is the wine and cheese hour. They put out wine, and food that is not very good, but the other guests come down, and you can visit with them and learn where and what they have done in Savannah. If you don't want to stay and visit, than you can bring a glass up to your room. We were not planning on visiting with other guests, but every night we got great info on Savannah and other places we were going to visit. It was a great social time.

So the staff was not helpful, but the other guests were.

FYI, they only have a few parking spaces available that are close by, the rest are in a parking garage. So try to get there at the right time if you want your car close.

I rated the overall stay above average because of the location, happy hour, and the room design.

  • Liked — happy hour
  • Disliked — staff
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2008

We stayed here to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary, and were not disappointed. Everything from check in to check out was top notch. Upon arrival, the front desk clerk, Sheila, was outstanding and super friendly. The bellman who carried our bags had actually just gotten off work but graciously offered to carry our bags and get us set up in our room. We were very pleased with their outgoing personalities and willingness to make our stay special. Loved the turn down service and the continental breakfast was fine for us. Choices included bacon, sausage, biscuits, pastries, cereals, fresh fruit and of course, coffee, milk and juices.

The location of this hotel is superb and the hotel restaurant, Skylers, has great food as well; locals often eat there for lunch. I would definately stay there again. Thanks to everyone who made our stay so memorable!

  • Liked — Ambiance and location (plus the great staff!)
  • Disliked — Romm a little musty but took care of that with air freshener.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2008

We loved the East Bay Inn. Everything was wonderful!
We booked 2 rooms ( one was pet friendly). The pet friendly room was on the first floor . You never heard a sound even though all the pet friendly rooms were full. There is a park across the street which made it very easy to take the dog out.
The second room was a superior room and was huge. The beds were very comfortable and the decor was beautiful. The bathroom was agood size and very clean too.
The hotel is near everything, especially River Street.
The staff is probably the most friendly and helpful of any hotel I've ever stayed at . It was such a pleasure to be greeted evey time we came in.
We also loved the wine and cheese every evening. It was great to talk to the other guests.
The breakfast is just your basic stuff but it was enough to keep us going until lunch.
Savannah is such a great city with the best restaurants and attractions. I can't wait to go back and will positively stay at The East Bay Inn!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

This is a lovely appointed old place one block from the river. Beautiful furnishings and fabrics.My friend was here from England, we were on a girlfriends getaway. This was the first of the Inns or B & B's that had a room with two beds. The beds were very comfortable, lots of pillows. Room held a sofa, coffee table, chairs and THREE luggage racks, limited hanging space, plenty of drawers. Small bathroom but lots of towels, hair dryer, etc. Breakfast is included, a typical spread of cooked, breads, muffins, fruit,etc. Great service staff always. Red & White Wine and cheese is provided from 5'ish to exactly 7 PM in the comfortable lobby. Parking is limited in Savannah, $8 here if you are lucky enough to find a spot. The place was very clean except for a wall mirror that was always missed! My only issue was the shower was unpredictable and would go from hot to cold every 30 seconds.

  • Liked — Location, quality of furninshings & the beds
  • Disliked — shower was hot & cold
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2008

My husband and I went to Savannah for a couple of nights just to get away. Overall, we loved the East Bay Inn. The staff was very friendly and we loved our room. It was very "historical" looking which we loved. Although this is listed as a Bed and Breakfast, it really is just a hotel with a continental breakfast. That was fine for us but don't expect a homemade hot breakfast in the morning. They served hot sausage and biscuits. Everything else was fruit, cereal, muffins, etc. What we loved most about East Bay Inn was the location. We parked our car in the small hotel lot when we arrived and never moved it again until we left. We were able to walk everywhere! The only two complaints we had about our stay was that we were supposed to have a turn down service each night and both nights we did not receive that. The other complaint was that the hotel charged us 8.00 to park in their own lot. I read several different things about parking there in other reviews and how they would give you a parking pass. Well they do, but they charge you! We thought that was unnecessary. Those were our only complaints which ultimately aren't bad. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Liked — We loved the historical feel and the location of the inn.
  • Disliked — We did not receive the turn down service promised and were also charged for parking.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to East Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Bay Inn

Address: 225 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#9 Family Hotel in Savannah
#20 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in beautiful accommodations of The East Bay Inn, close to the famous River Street along the Savannah River in historic Savannah, Georgia. Featuring the perfect blend of modern comfort and classic touches in one of our 28 incredible guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your East Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Bay Hotel Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Bay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.