We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes! Do it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of East Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added East Bay Inn to your Saves list
East Bay Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   225 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 10%
Ranked #8 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Denver, CO
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Yes! Do it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We just spent 5 days here and are so glad we chose East Bay Inn. The location is excellent. Situated so we could walk almost everywhere we needed in Savannah. Parking in Savannah is limited and kinda stressful at first so we walked when we could. East Bay has 14 parking spaces for 28 rooms so you may have to park around the corner if lot is full but oh well. We loved the decor in the Inn and our rooms. Very historic and charming and so Savannahish. Sheila and Willie and Melvin were very helpful and friendly. Floors are wooden and squeaky so could be haunted but I think just an old squeaky floor. Breakfast included is fine but we preferred to walk 1 block to Matthew Bs or alittle farther Goose Feathers. Beds comfy. Tip: AARP disccount.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    135
    38
    19
    9
See reviews for
87
283
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hurst, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at East Bay Inn and highly recommend it! The staff was very friendly and helpful. It was a perfect location! Due to their limited parking we had to park our car the first night in a parking garage about a half block away but was able to move it the next morning to the lot next to the Inn. We were able to walk to all the attractions and restaurants that we wanted to go to. We enjoyed the complimentary wine and cheese in the evenings and met some nice people while attending. Our room was large and very nice, the decor was very charming. Breakfast was OK, nothing fancy but it was good. Staff was very helpful with all questions we had and recommended some great places to eat. We enjoyed our visit to Savannah and would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Tazewell, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My wife and I only stayed one night in Savannah and were happy that we picked the East Bay Inn. Great Location, friendly staff and good food (wine and cheese, breakfast). We are both in our late 20's but look much younger so you can imagine people looking at us a little different whenever we came in but everyone was very nice...Melvin the bellman was awesome. There was a slight mix up when we initially checked in but was corrected immediately. Savannah was good (i would say great but we just arrived from a week in Tybee Island, GA soooo) and we wished we would have had a couple of days to take everything in. Lots of history, great bars and friendly people.

Wifi worked fine for my Fantasy Football Draft so I'm not sure what everyone's problem with the wifi is....we did wake up in the middle of the night after hearing some strange noises...turns out it was the elevator...but why would people be using it in the middle of the night? Ghost? Just sayin....

Go to Congress St. (if you like bars) and don't spend all your time on River....

If you don't do anything else...please go to the Pink House (literally a block or two away) and have dinner or at least go to the tavern in the basement of the Pink House and have a drink and an appetizer...I suggest the shrimp and grits...they were the best I've ever had!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Great location, park here and walk to most all Savannah attractions. Charming atmosphere. Very nice clean room. The staff was friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was just okay, similar to most economy hotels.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffin, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Location is great, staff is wonderful, rooms large. That being said the inn's decor is tired and in need of updating. Breakfast is mediocre for a B&B and the whole inn needs a huge cleaning blitz. They should not advertise Wifi because it is nonexistent. I am currently using Staybridge Suites wifi to write this review.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I made a one night stop in Savannah on our way from NC to FL. We stayed in a "cozy queen" for a decent price, considering it included wine and cheese hour and breakfast. Their parking lot was full, but they gave us a pass ($12) to park in the garage just around the corner. Once parked, we didn't need the car again since EBI is so close to everything. Check in was easy, and Melvin the Bellman helped us to our room. The room was cozy, as described, but didn't feel cramped at all with the 15 ft ceilings! It was extremely clean, and had larger than normal bathroom towels (thicker too!) The bartender was very friendly at wine hour. We slept late the next morning (guess the bed was too comfortable!) so we missed breakfast. Everyone we saw after said how good it was, hot eggs, meat- not the typical continental. We'll make sure we get up earlier next time so we can enjoy it too! We will definitely stay again in the
future! Be sure to read (and write in) the journal in the room, what a nice touch!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We started off our stay in Savannah with a night at the East Bay Inn.The location is great, and it's an easy walk to shopping, restaurants and the river front. Our room was lovely with comfortable beds and loads of room for 2 girlsfriends. The Inn provides free water bottles which was a great bonus given the heat and humidity. The breakfast in the morning was standard fare and some fruit would have been a nice addition. One complaint I do have, we arrived after a 7 hour flight at 3:30 p.m. and our room was not ready (so much for the 3 p.m. guaranteed checkin). Although apologetic, we were told by the staff to come back no sooner than 5:00 p.m. when our room would likely be ready. This was inconvenient for us but we did head down to the river for a early supper and when we came back around 6:00 p.m. our room was ready. This is why I have given this Inn an average rating. Also, watch out for the elevator, you have to be real quick to make it safely in the door.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to East Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Bay Inn

Address: 225 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#8 Family Hotel in Savannah
#15 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your East Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Bay Hotel Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Bay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.