We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in the middle of downtown with our big dog!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of East Bay Inn

Save Saved
You added East Bay Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
East Bay Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   225 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 10%
Ranked #8 of 112 hotels in Savannah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Right in the middle of downtown with our big dog!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

My 9 year old daughter stayed here with our 8 month old goldendoodle and it was the perfect spot to have your dog and be downtown. Nice historical place hut plan to eat breakfast out, free food was just fair. Lots of placesvto eat whin in walking distance. We will start there again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    334
    131
    35
    19
    9
See reviews for
86
265
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

If you want to experience Old Savannah, you must stay at the East Bay Inn ! We stayed three nights (July -20-23, 2013) and thoroughly enjoyed our visit to this historic city. Julie, our inn keeper for all four days we were there, is the BEST. She recommended sights to see and places to eat. Our rooms were like stepping back in time, were quite spacious and comfortable. This was a family reunion vacation for us and we occupied four of their rooms and our service couldn't have been better. We enjoyed the wine & appetizer reception every evening before walking to dinner .. nice ! And, the full hot breakfast in the hotel's Skyler Restaurant downstairs was definitely a plus ! All the literature said "continental breakfast, but they've recently upgraded. Biscuits and gravy anyone ? Grits ? yum !

The East Bay Inn was the perfect place as its right in the middle of the historic district; within easy walking distance to the water front, great restaurants, public transportation, parks and all of the historic district. My husband and I definitely plan to come back ... we highly recommend this hotel !

Room Tip: All the rooms are different and uniquely decorated. Our second floor corner room in rear of buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is a great place to stay when visiting historic Savannah. Everything is within walking distance!
The Inn itself is very cool. the rooms are awesome and the beds are very comfortable.
The staff is friendly and accomodating.
There is a wine and cheese gathering each evening for the guests. Great way to meet new people from all over the world!
Food was above par.
Highly recommend this Inn!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Recently spent 3 nights at this wonderful hotel. The staff was wonderful. The rooms were roomy and cozy. My only complaint is that there wasn't a refrigerator in the room, but as long as you have a cooler, you will be fine. Parking is limited, but they will provide an all day parking pass to a parking deck a block away. Was unexpectedly quiet, especially being near River/Bay Streets. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Deluxe Queen-bed was smaller than expected, but overall comfortable! Stayed on 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

This place is just wonderful and I am sure I will stay here anytime I am in savanna the front desk personal was a wealth of information and a big help ! Be sure to ask them where to eat and what to see while there the rooms have a very old south feel

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Loud, very loud. We stayed in a superior queen room, barely got any rest. You are right above the street on a very busy main street. The bed felt like a padded cot. The room is very spacious. Does not feel like nice quaint bed & breakfast at all. Feels like a small hotel on a very busy loud street. The bellman was very nice & charming. We came back to our room later and the front door was unlocked (not normal for a small b&b) with no one at the front desk. Super unsafe for Savannah. Keep looking!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

A really nice short notice find, with helpful staff, great location (minutes from the river) and truly beautiful decor. The hotel is decorated traditionally, with lots of nods to history, from the antique furniture and beautiful drapes to the wonderful unifomed Bellman who knew all about what good manners and good service means in practice! Well woeth a stay. The guest memoires in our room made an interesting (and sometimes moving) read....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to East Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Bay Inn

Address: 225 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Savannah
#8 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#27 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Bay Inn 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your East Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Bay Hotel Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Bay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.