We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“East Bay Inn, Savannah, GA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of East Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added East Bay Inn to your Saves list
East Bay Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   225 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct Discounts
Ranked #9 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence 2014
jackson, ms
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“East Bay Inn, Savannah, GA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We just returned from a lovely trip to Savannah. It was our first time and we selected the East Bay Inn as our hotel. We weren't disappointed at all. From the moment we walked into the lobby, we knew we had selected the right hotel for us. It is a lovely, old building. The rooms are increcible spacious. The staff is wonderful. We were able to park our car each day in the parking lot provided out front, but there is a garage just around the corner if you aren't so lucky.
The breakfast was also very good, and the happy hour was an added plus. We will certainly return to the East Bay Inn on our next trip to Savannah.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    153
    43
    21
    9
See reviews for
97
329
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

This is the 5th time we've stayed there. And we will stay again. Its a little pricey for the room you get. However the service makes up for it. Julie at the front desk really helps make our stay a pleasant one. Which is why I always ask and make sure she still works there before I book our rooms. The location is excellent. With everything we want to do in walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This is a lovely old Bed & Breakfast in Old Town Savannah. You can't see the river, but it is across Bay Street. Walk everywhere from this location. Amazing piece of history in a town that is all about history. Enjoy a lovely wine and cheese gathering before dinner and a terrific breakfast when you get up in the morning.

Room Tip: ASK for a ROOM WITH a VIEW - not all of them have a view. ALL rooms are beautiful, though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed at the East Bay Inn in June and really enjoyed it!!! The location was great!! We were able to walk to everything we wanted! The room was spacious and kept very clean. Breakfast was good and the wine and cheese in the afternoon was a nice treat!! Staff was very nice and helpful. Only downfall was the parking but other than that we'd definitely recommend and go back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I am not a bed and breakfast person so I am not the best person to review this hotel. It is pretty enough and is close the the riverfront, however, I thought that the mold in the bathroom shower and the noise were enough to give it a less than good review. There never seemed to be coffee in the 24/7 coffee area. When we went to the free breakfast there was no one and no plates or glasses there. Also no service. The room was pretty and the bed and bedding were nice. There are better places to stay in Savannah.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Illinois
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We truly enjoyed our 4-night stay at the East Bay Inn and will definitely be back! Sheila is absolutely wonderful, she greets you when you first come in the door with a big genuine smile and was absolutely fantastic setting up tours and making dinner reservations for us. The Inn itself is very charming and quaint. I would agree that a lot of the charm is the age of the facility. The beds were comfortable and linens were clean. Heavy curtains blocked the light from the street. The noise from the street did not keep us up at night but Charlie (the Inn's friendly ghost) did do some heavy furniture moving and sometimes walked a little hard on the floors above us. The wine and cheese socials were also a treat. It is located near River Street and close to numerous restaurants, antique stores, pubs, and just about anything else you would like to visit or see.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

okay...we first came here because it's pet friendly. Now, we don't have a dog anymore; but we still like it. I have to tell you that the traffic noise can be loud. Ask for a room towards the back. The rooms are comfortable. The ceilings are high. The staff members are very pleasant. The location is good if you want to go to the waterfront. Our local friends say it's in the "too touristy" district. And that we need to get into "the district." But we like it. Hard to put my finger on exactly what it is...maybe just familiarity? The breakfast was good. Parking is not great...but you're in the middle of a cramped little city. There's Vic's (I think that's what they call it) across the street. Check in, and go to Vics for good food and a drink and a nice view. i think that may be what i like about it...that you FEEL like you're in the middle of everything.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to East Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Bay Inn

Address: 225 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#11 Family Hotel in Savannah
#21 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in beautiful accommodations of The East Bay Inn, close to the famous River Street along the Savannah River in historic Savannah, Georgia. Featuring the perfect blend of modern comfort and classic touches in one of our 28 incredible guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your East Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Bay Hotel Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Bay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.