We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large rooms, high ceilings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of East Bay Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added East Bay Inn to your Saves list
East Bay Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   225 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% Off, Free WiFi & Wine
Ranked #9 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Temecula, California
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Large rooms, high ceilings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Great location, large rooms, high ceilings. I agree with other reviews about the breakfast. Ok, if you just want to eat, but so many great choices nearby for breakfast. The wine offered in the evening was a nice treat. The staff was very friendly. We loved our chats with "Sheila". The place did get a bit noisy on the weekend, but running the fan helps.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    146
    40
    19
    9
See reviews for
90
299
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, CO
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We recently stayed five nights at East Bay Inn. Like most hotels there were positive & negative aspects to our stay.

Positive:
The staff - particularly Shelia at the front desk who did an outstanding job of helping us arrange restaurant reservations, provide advice on where to eat & visit and add a smile to our day. Everyone was very friendly.
Location - within walking distance of many interesting places in the historic district.
Decor - the hotel is in an old building and the period decorations are well done. Rooms are comfortable.

Negative
Building - the hotel is in an old building that has very poor noise insulation between rooms or between floors. People talking in the next room or walking on the floor above us were very annoying. After reading reviews of the hotel we got a room facing the rear of the building. Good advice! The Inn is on a very busy street (24/7).
Bathrooms - are relatively small and the fan was very noisy.
HVAC system - very noisy.
Breakfast - eatable but very basic

Highlights of our visit: Private walking tour of the historical district by Bobby Davis & wildlife observed on the 4 mile drive in the Savannah National Wildlife Refuge.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor, facing the rear of the building are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Outstanding facility and staff. This is one of the best lodging experiences we have ever had and traveled for over 30 years. The rooms are beautiful and enjoyed wine reception and continental breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

We loved this property, it is located close to river street and is in walking distance to everything!! The staff is wonderful and they serve breakfast as well as have an on site restaurant in the basement area. We have recommended this inn to several of our friends and family and they were very thankful for our suggestion. I do however recommend to stay in the back of the inn and do not let the allure of the street room get you, they are noisy. Also just a heads up that parking is extremely limited( which they do warn you about) but there is a parking fee involved ($15 I think) which gives you access to park at any meter for the length of your stay or you can park in a garage that is to the north of the inn across the street. We stay here every time we go to Savannah, we only live an hour or so away and were engaged there so it's a special place to my husband and I.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My spouse and another couple stayed at the inn overnight just last week - the entire staff was very warm and eager to please throughout our stay. We arrived early on Thursday and were able to check our baggage and park the car in the nearby garage so we could spend most of the afternoon touring Savannah. Melvin the Bellman provides the best welcome and introduction to the East Bay Inn and made us feel like we were checking in to a 4 star hotel. Our rooms were the cozy queens which were very spacious - the decor is traditional with a 4 poster bed, beautiful decor and soft comfy chair and love seat. There was a flat screen TV which we didn't find time to use but is also a nice touch. The rooms were located in the back of the building which is quieter than the front side on Bay St. The evening wine and cheese plus the continental breakfast in the morning were nice touches. The inn also provides a turn down service for each room. We did not bring any pets but I understand this place does cater to pet owners also. We only had a short stay and spent most of our time outside exploring the area and taking a tour - the location is terrific and we could walk to nearby restaurants and shops. We definitely would love to stay here again and take more time to visit Savannah.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We checked in on a Friday afternoon and stayed until Sunday morning. This B&B was very quaint, well appointed and the staff was friendly. The afternoon wine and cheese gatherings were a nice touch and a good way to start an evening. Our room was large and comfortable albeit my bed was a bit on the hard side for my liking. The furniture was large, but inviting and the room was cozy. There was a journal in our room in which prior guests had shared their hotel and city experiences which was fun to read and a great idea! The hot portion of breakfast left a bit to be desired, but there was enough fresh fruit, yogurt, bagels, juices, etc. to make up for it. Coffee available any time was a plus as well. Over all, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend to others staying in Savannah.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Me and three girlfriends went to Savannah for a get away. This hotel was the best from a lovely room, to location and especially the staff. The staff could not do enough for us!! We felt like we were with family. The wine and cheese evenings let us mingle with other guests. I highly recommend this hotel for any staying in Savannah. shelia at the front desk had maps and bottled water for us during our entire time and made out reservations. What a great place!!! We will return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to East Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Bay Inn

Address: 225 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#9 Family Hotel in Savannah
#17 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your East Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Bay Hotel Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Bay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.