We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service was so hospitable! Way better than any hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of East Bay Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added East Bay Inn to your Saves list
East Bay Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   225 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 10%
Ranked #8 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Service was so hospitable! Way better than any hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

I came here expecting service like a hotel i guess, i got way more. When we arrived "Melvin the Bellman" came out and rolled the bags to our room. (we had lucked out and arrived just as someone had pulled out so we got to park in the parking lot). Anyway, we went to the room which was perfectly cleaned and put in place. Gorgeous rooms! We stayed down at River St. until we discovered their coffee. WOW. I never drink coffee but i drunk at least 5 cups of that coffee! Willie came around and did turn down service and gave us chocolate, while the girls and i sat in the sitting area we had a chat with Willie about the hotel and it's history while drinking that awesome coffee! The staff there is so kind and friendly, by the end of our stay i felt like i was leaving family. They were just so amazing! We will be returning to the FABULOUS East Bay Inn!! :)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    135
    37
    19
    9
See reviews for
86
281
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rockingham, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Everyone at the East Bay Inn offered us a smile and great service. Many little touches added to a pleasant stay. Staff is very accommodating, and we had a beautiful room with 18' ceiling. Excellent location! Very comfortable beds.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

East bay inn is the perfect place to stay in Savannah. It is across the street from river walk. The rooms right on east bay street can be noisy from traffic, but my husband and i are both deep sleepers so we had no problems with this. It is a historic building so the foors do squeek and the doors to the room do slam. This didn't matter to us it added to the charm. If you can go for the superior queen room it is amazing. We were in room #322 and it was perfect. All of the staff go above and beyond the call of duty! This is the only place we will stay when we return to Savannah!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Bc
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay - so close to the historic district, restaurants etc. But what really made our visit special was Julie, who was on the front desk every day. She was delightful - so hospitable and helpful - she knows all there is to know about Savannah. I did read comments about the breakfast - basically continental with some eggs/biscuits available, but really, every other meal we ate was so over the top, it was good to have a fairly simple breakfast.

We were on the top floor - I recommend this as the hotel is quite creaky, and we also overlooked the parking lot so our rooms were pretty quiet. East Bay itself is a busy thoroughfare so I imagine the rooms might not be so quiet. The beds were very comfortable too. We loved our stay.

Room Tip: The top floor would be quieter, and not facing East Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blossvale, New York, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights and were very happy with our room and the hospitable staff. I was surprised however, that the continental breakfast was not comparable to the ambiance of the hotel. A simple homemade sweetcake with fruit and some homemade muffins on the bar would look prettier and more welcoming. There were only bowls for serving on the second day. The prefabbed sausage and eggs were filling but tacky for such a nice hotel.
Skyler was a very nice host @ the social hr as was the sweet girl that followed him the second night. However, I think a nicer shirt, blouse, and a little extra care with their appearance and knowledge about different areas of Savannah would be very helpful.
I also think that the choice in music should be changed intermittently. I enjoy classical but many do not. And again, the food and staffing attire didn't coordinate with the setting and music.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at East Bay for two nights due to lack of vacancy elsewhere. While the location was terrific the inn itself wasn't very clean. Our bathroom floor was disgusting, the shower curtain was dirty, the bedroom needed vacuuming and the lampshade had red wine stains on it. The breakfast was substandard as well. Historic doesn't forgive the need to provide basic cleanliness. I can't imagine why this inn has received such rave reviews. We won't be back.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The East Bay in is the perfect place to stay while in Savannah. The location is perfect as is the quality of the Inn. The price included both evening cordials as well as a continental breakfast. It was very comfortable and quiet. We'd stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to East Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Bay Inn

Address: 225 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#9 Family Hotel in Savannah
#15 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your East Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Bay Hotel Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Bay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.