We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special visit to Savannah” 5 of 5 stars
Review of East Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added East Bay Inn to your Saves list
East Bay Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   225 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% Summer Savings
Ranked #8 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Rockingham, North Carolina
1 review
“Special visit to Savannah”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Everyone at the East Bay Inn offered us a smile and great service. Many little touches added to a pleasant stay. Staff is very accommodating, and we had a beautiful room with 18' ceiling. Excellent location! Very comfortable beds.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    160
    44
    21
    9
See reviews for
102
337
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

East bay inn is the perfect place to stay in Savannah. It is across the street from river walk. The rooms right on east bay street can be noisy from traffic, but my husband and i are both deep sleepers so we had no problems with this. It is a historic building so the foors do squeek and the doors to the room do slam. This didn't matter to us it added to the charm. If you can go for the superior queen room it is amazing. We were in room #322 and it was perfect. All of the staff go above and beyond the call of duty! This is the only place we will stay when we return to Savannah!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Bc
Level Contributor
118 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay - so close to the historic district, restaurants etc. But what really made our visit special was Julie, who was on the front desk every day. She was delightful - so hospitable and helpful - she knows all there is to know about Savannah. I did read comments about the breakfast - basically continental with some eggs/biscuits available, but really, every other meal we ate was so over the top, it was good to have a fairly simple breakfast.

We were on the top floor - I recommend this as the hotel is quite creaky, and we also overlooked the parking lot so our rooms were pretty quiet. East Bay itself is a busy thoroughfare so I imagine the rooms might not be so quiet. The beds were very comfortable too. We loved our stay.

Room Tip: The top floor would be quieter, and not facing East Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blossvale, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights and were very happy with our room and the hospitable staff. I was surprised however, that the continental breakfast was not comparable to the ambiance of the hotel. A simple homemade sweetcake with fruit and some homemade muffins on the bar would look prettier and more welcoming. There were only bowls for serving on the second day. The prefabbed sausage and eggs were filling but tacky for such a nice hotel.
Skyler was a very nice host @ the social hr as was the sweet girl that followed him the second night. However, I think a nicer shirt, blouse, and a little extra care with their appearance and knowledge about different areas of Savannah would be very helpful.
I also think that the choice in music should be changed intermittently. I enjoy classical but many do not. And again, the food and staffing attire didn't coordinate with the setting and music.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at East Bay for two nights due to lack of vacancy elsewhere. While the location was terrific the inn itself wasn't very clean. Our bathroom floor was disgusting, the shower curtain was dirty, the bedroom needed vacuuming and the lampshade had red wine stains on it. The breakfast was substandard as well. Historic doesn't forgive the need to provide basic cleanliness. I can't imagine why this inn has received such rave reviews. We won't be back.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The East Bay in is the perfect place to stay while in Savannah. The location is perfect as is the quality of the Inn. The price included both evening cordials as well as a continental breakfast. It was very comfortable and quiet. We'd stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleming Island, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The East Bay Inn is housed in a beautiful, old building located across the street from the river shops and taverns of downtown Savannah. The rooms are very spacious, appearing even more so because of the soaring ceilings in the building. The location of the hotel is excellent, providing walking access to downtown and the squares of historic Savannah. Wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to East Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Bay Inn

Address: 225 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Savannah
#7 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#22 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in beautiful accommodations of The East Bay Inn, close to the famous River Street along the Savannah River in historic Savannah, Georgia. Featuring the perfect blend of modern comfort and classic touches in one of our 28 incredible guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your East Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Bay Hotel Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Bay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.