We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern Charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of East Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added East Bay Inn to your Saves list
East Bay Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   225 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% Off, Free WiFi & Wine
Ranked #9 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Brentwood
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Southern Charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed in double queen superior room. The hotel is across from the Riverfront. Our room was on the main street, 3rd floor, so if you are there during a busy time like St. Patty's, the traffic noise will interfere with your sleep. There are fireworks the first Fri of each month on the river which we could see from our room. Terrific staff-very accommodating, polite and helpful! The complimentary happy hour was a nice way to unwind before getting ready for dinner - and nice to socialize with other guests. The complimentary breakfast was biscuits, sausage patties, juices, milk, coffee, cereals, some pastry. This is a charming B&B and a couple would love it for the romantic vibe and the proximity to walking to River Street for night life.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    146
    40
    19
    9
See reviews for
90
300
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My girlfriend and I wanted to get away for a romantic weekend, and the East Bay Inn was the perfect place to elope for the weekend! The room was clean and amazing. I'd recommend this bed & breakfast to any, and I cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: Any room facing Bay Street. The view is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We were returning from Boone and knew we would stay in Savannah. I looked online for the place we had stayed on the return trip and theri price did not match what I had paid for the 4 ngiths previous, so I searched online and foudn this place with a 99.00 rate. I called and spoke with Julie and I was using my Iphone to make the reservations and she said she could beat the internet rate and she did. We arrived and it was fanatasitc. She is great and very knowledgeable as is MElvin the Bellman. HE took us to uor room and told us about Charlie the resident haunt. He pointed out from our bedroom window the building next day which had been a livery stable adn they had left the arched doorways in place. and built around them. It was wonderful. He then shared the history of the East Bay Inn. Happy hour ws in process and we met some great peope. Then I asked Julie a good casual seafood place to eat and she told us about One Eyed Lizzy's on RiverStreet. What a great place. We stayed in room 212 and read all the comments that previous guests had written. That in itself is helpful as well as entertaining.
Had breakfast the next morning..a little less than expected but ok and I asked Julie again about a tour and she siad Oglethorpe had a specail going for friends of the East Bay Inn.. So she called, got us tickets and the shuttle van was waiting for us out side the parking lot. She let us check out and leave the car in the parking area.
When we completed the tour, we asked Julie once again about a place to get Shrimp and Grits and she suggested Huey's which was as NOLA as it could be..which is wonderful since Savannah is considered the sister city to NOLA..Smells a lot better though!!!
..so we have shrip and grits, red beans and rice and she had gievn us a coupon for a free beignet!! all wonderful food...
Can't say enough about this place and its staff!!! wonderful place. We will return!!!!
The only reason I am not giving it a 5 was for the limited breakfast selections. It was more what one woud fine at a Comfort Inn that had a complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. The staff did an exceptional job in making me feel welcome and making recommendations on what to see, where to eat, and helping to make the reservations to do so. Sheila really goes the extra mile with all of the guests, and you can tell she really enjoys here work. Be advised that parking is very limited, although there is a parking garage quite close. I agree with others that the wine and cheese hour in the evening was quite enjoyable. In addition, a turn-down service is provided every evening with the next day's weather report left on your pillow. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The staff at the East Bay make all the difference. They are very helpful and very friendly. We stayed in a double Queen with views onto the street on the 3rd floor, which was quiet and spacious. The height of the ceiling makes the room seem much bigger. The happy hour is a nice way to unwind and meet fellow travellers and the hotel staff kept it well stocked with Australian wines and local snacks. Parking is on a first come basis, but there are alternatives close by. The hotel is really well located for walking the beautiful streets of Savannah.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wedowee, Alabama
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Lovely historical property in great location to the river
Staff helpful and very pleasant. Rooms typical for this type but very clean
Wine and cheese hour enjoyable with good selection. Great place
Parking off site but close

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Italy
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My friends and I spent two nights at East bay Inn.
The great, huge quaint double room facing the river is said to be hunted by Charlie, one of Savannah's ghosts...but unfortunately we did not meet him!
The high ceiling room was amazing, well decorated with a large bathroom, a lot of towels and two bathrobes. Generally speaking, the charming atmosphere was truly enhanced by gloomy lampshades and the music provided by a pleasant alarm clock...quite surprising features for a hotel room! Every night they served some wines and cheese appetizers in the lobby.
The complimentary breakfast is quite good,except for the overall cleanliness...they'd better take more care in washing dishes and flatware...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to East Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Bay Inn

Address: 225 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#9 Family Hotel in Savannah
#17 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your East Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Bay Hotel Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Bay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.