We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Divine Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of East Bay Inn

Save Saved
You added East Bay Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 6 more sites!
East Bay Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   225 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 10%
Ranked #10 of 111 hotels in Savannah
Wilmington, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Divine Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

the Eastbay Inn is the finest and most comfortable establishment I have stayed in that I can remember!! My cousin and I had a two queen bed room which was large and beautifully furnished. The beds were the absolute most comfortable I have slept in. the entire staff was so friendly, helpful and courteous and went above and beyond to make us feel right at home. The complimentary breakfast and wine reception enhanced the total package and made our stay totally complete and absolutely superb in every way. The location was PERFECT for walking everywhere. I will certainly recommend the Eastbay Inn to all !!! Skylars restaurant downstairs was incredibly delicious and cozy!!! Service was fantastic!!!

Room Tip: I chose the two Queen bed room for my cousin and me, it was very spacious, large bathroom and extrem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    297
    117
    28
    19
    9
See reviews for
73
232
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newport, NC
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Since we rented an apartment for our week stay, but wanted to go into town a day early-we chose this old inn so we could see the Savannah River district Christmas parade. Our corner room was absolutely beautiful, and huge. Comfy bed, soaring high ceilings, outer brick walls, opulent bed and window coverings. The lady at the desk was a delight, even put down the phone to walk out front and show us where to drive for parking. There was a lovely evening wine reception with cheeses and light fare, plus a good red and white wine. We were able to walk directly out the door to see the parade with the crowd, then over to River Street later. Very convenient, quiet, and a real treat.

Room Tip: superior queen rooms are quite large, with comfortable seating and bedding
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed at the East Bay Inn during November, and our stay was great. The staff is exceptional- especially Julie who answered all our questions, gave us a bit of history, and helped us make all our reservations while in town. The rooms were beautiful, and we loved the location. We were situated near all the town's highlights. The breakfast was pretty simple, and could use a little help, but otherwise, the East Bay Inn was amazing and I'd recommend staying there to anyone who visits Savannah.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, North Carolina
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This was our first stay in Savannah and I can tell you we are coming back. We stayed at the East Bay Inn and this is a winner. This is a boutique historic hotel with lots of charm and Charlie the ghost visits sometime. We parked our car at the hotel and did not move it until we left because the hotel is located within walking distance of the attractions and restaurants. In fact, tripadvisor said I had 182 restaurants to chose from with in 1 mile. We did not eat at everyone but every place we chose was very good to excellent. Food selection should not be a problem.

The people at the Inn are very helpful and will will help you with tours and will book them for you. Don’t miss the 5:30 to 7:00 wine and cheese event in the Inn. It is a great opportunity to talk with the other guest and fine out what they visited during the day, which could be your next day events.

I will definitely stay at this Inn on my return trip to Savannah and would recommend you should also stay at Inn.

Room Tip: We chose a room off of Bay Street. Bay Street is a busy street and rooms facing this street could h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland or
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We just got home after staying a week at the East Bay Inn. It was delightful. Beautifully decorated for the holidays and such a comfortable place to be. The staff was exceptional...very helpful and informative regarding their city and what it has to offer. Great location, lovely rooms and comfortable beds. We were so glad that we chose the East Bay Inn.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor...not on the street side and it was perfectly quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford Ct
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We went to visit my Daughter after Thanksgiving, for three days. Found the Inn on a travel site. Our room was a cozy Queen, with 10' ceilings exposed handmade bricks, there was fingerprints in one of them, I put my fingers and felt a connection with a long deceased brick maker. A wine reception in the evening gave us a chance to meet the other guests. The beds turned down with mints on the pillows, we had a small cooler, when I went to get more ice our second day the bucket was filled. There is a journal in the room for guests to write in.
Savannah is a walking city with parks everywhere; a nice stay will be back.

Room Tip: One reviewer mentioned rooms on streetside being noisy if you are a light sleeper (I'm not)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We spent two nights in Savannah at East Bay Inn. We were in Room 320, a double queen room. It was very beautiful! However it does face Bay Street so it was pretty noisy early in the morning. It wasn't bad during the night but if you are a light sleeper, I'd recommend a room facing a different direction. The floors squeaked a lot. Nobody was above us so we didn't hear anybody else squeaking. I feel sorry for whoever was staying below us though. The outlet in the bathroom didn't work which made it a little challenging to dry my hair. This could be the ghost Charlie doing his thing....

Julie, at the front desk was awesome. She recommended The Olde Pink House for dinner and it was wonderful. Only a couple blocks from the Inn. We were fortunate to get a parking place in the tiny lot and never moved our car. Many restaurants and the River Street area are within walking distance. Julie also arranged a trolley tour for us which was great. Savannah is a beautiful city and I hope to visit again. I'd stay at East Bay Inn again but I'd also like to try one of the other Inns in the area. Several looked very nice.

The wine and cheese in the lobby in the evening was fun. We met some other guests and enjoyed talking to them. The continental breakfast wasn't anything special - kind of like what you'd find at a Comfort Inn. But it was adequate. Unfortunately the restaurant wasn't open for dinner the evenings we stayed, So we weren't able to try it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to East Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Bay Inn

Also Known As:
East Bay Hotel Savannah
East Bay Hotel
Address: 225 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Savannah
#9 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#29 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Bay Inn 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your East Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Bay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.