We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good launching pad to Savannah” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Savannah Historic District

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Savannah Historic District to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Savannah Historic District
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   415 West Liberty Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #38 of 111 Hotels in Savannah
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Good launching pad to Savannah”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Even though it's on the perimeter of the historic district, everything you would want to see in Savannah is within a walk. The visitor center/museum and tour bus terminal is right across the road and the staff are friendly and helpful with an in-house tour booking service. Valet parking only with a $15/day surcharge. The rooms are spacious and comfortable with vanilla chain-hotel decor. One minor niggle with the plumbing was fixed promptly and efficiently. There are a wide choice of nice places to eat within a short walk. Breakfast is an extra cost option and from what we saw, isn't worth it. Take a walk, work up an appetite and enjoy a real breakfast at Clarys on Abercorn Street. .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DerrickGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to write a review for our property! Thank you also for the kind words about our staff and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    167
    67
    23
    12
See reviews for
114
130
16
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This hotel was really nice especially being a Courtyard. It was clean and conveniently located close to the historic district. The only thing I would advise if that you cannot walk stairs request to stay in the hotel and not the cottages. There was no elevator and my sister had problems walking up stairs. I ended up have to carry all our bags up and down! The staff was nice and welcoming. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The location of the hotel is good. It was easy to find and access from SAV airport. It is a 10 minute walk from the Courtyard to Wright Square and about a 15 minute walk to City Market /Ellis Square. There are also 2 DOT Shuttle stops within a half block of the hotel.
The Hotel lobby renovation has been completed and it is very nice. Coffee and ice water were available throughout the day for guests. Another reviewer had stated that there was only one elevator. There are 2 more that perhaps they did not see as they are on the ends of the hallways. The room itself was spacious, nicely decorated and clean. The bathroom floor was probably the only thing that looked like it still needed to be updated (a few cracked tiles ) The bathroom did have a shower head placed high enough for taller people and good water pressure. There was no in -room refridgerator.
While there were no vending machines, there is an area near the front desk where snacks etc. could be purchased.
The patio and pool area are nicely landscaped. In Savannah, making a get away from a slow/nonexistent spring, it was a great place to read and relax. The pool is probably 20 feet x 10 feet with a maximum depth of 4 feet. The kids seemed to enjoy it but the adults who took a dip did not seem to linger in the water that most agreed was cold. The pool area has about 8 chaise lounge chairs and two round tables with 4 chairs each. While that's not a lot, guests seem to keep rotating through the area. I never saw anyone not find a place to sit who was looking for one.
The breakfast buffet was standard fare : yougurt, waffles, eggs, bacon etc. I do have to applaud the breakfast seating area. It was nice with plenty of tables and chairs. No stress trying to find a place to eat.
What really sets this hotel apart,though, is the staff. They were all very friendly and accomodating. The Vallet team was outstanding. We appreciated that we were allowed to park our car in the ramp even though we arrived a few hours before we were able to check in.
Nearby, there is a CVS Pharmacy on the Corner of Wright Square . We also would recommend meals at The Distillery (accross the street), Goose Feathers Cafe and Bakery (near Ellis Squre) and a tour with Savannah Belle Walking Tours. Oh, and if you have a sweet tooth, check out Savannah Candy Kitchen at City Market for wonderful pralines and salt water taffy made on site.
We would absolutely stay here again !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DerrickGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for your review! Yes, the lobby renovation has been completed! It is beautiful and very unique. Thank you for your kind words about our staff and the patio area is one of my favorite places at our hotel. Right now everything is in bloom and the aroma of beautiful blooming flowers emanates from the courtyard.

Thank you for staying with us and I hope to see you again soon.

Derrick Pair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed over the St. Patrick's day weekend, pretty close to everything. Amazing, friendly people make this place one you want to come back to. Rooms were comfortable, coffee in the lobby every morning and someone with a smile wanting to help was very nice. Sit by the lobby bar or by the fireplace after walking miles around town.... definitely enjoyed it

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed five nights at the hotel. While not a fancy place it was very clean, free wi-fi and a good location for walking downtown or hopping on a trolley tour of the city. What stands out is the staff here. Everyone we encountered was extremely courteous and friendly. Very, very nice folks at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Tennessee
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Our group of 43 stayed here two nights. The rooms were large, clean and comfortable. The requested "special needs" were met. The staff was very friendly, courteous and attentive. The breakfast was wonderful. There was nothing else one could want on a breakfast menu. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Overall, this was a good visit. The hotel staff were solid: friendly, helpful, and engaging. The location is on the edges of the historic district, but still within walking distance of the river and *very* close to two of the Dot stops (free historic district bus). The room was, basic, but clean. The bed seemed older, but was comfortable. The couch in the room was a bit hard. The biggest downside is that the hotel only has one elevator and it's used for both guests and as the service elevator. This isn't a problem, but it does mean that at some points during the day it can be slow (and it's already a slow elevator). Even so, this is a quibble, and I have no major complaints about my stay.

BONUS: the hotel is across the street from The Distillery, an amazing brewpub!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from MLK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Savannah Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Savannah Historic District

Address: 415 West Liberty Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Savannah
#22 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Savannah Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Savannah Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Savannah Historic District Hotel Savannah
Courtyard Savannah Historic District
Savannah Courtyard
Savannah Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Savannah Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;