We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right at home.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Savannah Historic District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Savannah Historic District to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Savannah Historic District
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   415 West Liberty Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #39 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence 2014
forsyth ga
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Right at home.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Upon entering this hotel, we were greeted at the door. Valet staff were very helpful. The rooms very nice and clean. We were very, very pleased. Riverstreet and downtown was a pleasant scroll. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    195
    79
    29
    14
See reviews for
137
155
19
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Great corner room on the second floor. Front desk and valet staff were courteous, helpful, friendly, and professional. Location was across the street to the Savannah visitors' center. Easy walk to the historic district and the riverfront. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea T, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
We appreciate you choosing our hotel for your vacation. as well as for sharing your glowing review of our hotel and staff. We endeavor to create memorable experiences for all of our guests and clearly we did so with you.

Thank you again and we look forward to your return on your next vacation to our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

My wife really loves the city of Savannah and this was our first chance to stay overnight in the city and get some sightseeing done. We ended up staying at the Courtyard by Marriott and couldn't have been more pleased with our stay. I could tell that the stay would be worthwhile when we first walked in and were attended to right away by the person at the front desk who made us feel very welcome at the hotel, even with our four kids in tow, all clamoring for a drink of water (which they were able to get right away in the lobby).

Our room was a great place for all of us to stretch out we all slept more than we probably should have because everything was so comfortable. With the curtains pulled closed, the rooms were completely dark and my wife and I slept late into the morning. We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel since by the time we got up and out of the hotel, it was already going on lunch time, so I can't comment on that, but we did use the pool, which was a great addition for the kids. They played in the pool while my wife got some alone time in the hot tub, which was nice and hot and really helped to soothe the aching feet and legs from walking around during the day. One thing I liked about the pool especially was that it was open until 11:00 PM and this gave us plenty of time to get back to the hotel and relax by the pool and hot tub.

Being new to Savannah, I wasn't sure at first how close the hotel was to City Market and River Street, but it turns out that the hotel is really close which makes for an easy walk. I'd say the hotel is about 5 blocks away from River Street which isn't far at all. Our two-year old was able to make the trip just fine after walking around with us the whole day. It's nice because the hotel is close enough to everything so you can walk, but far enough away to where it is still quiet and calm in the evenings.

All in all, a perfect place to stay when you're in Savannah!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea T, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us and for your kind words about our team which we are extremely proud of. We so look forward to the pleasure of your stay very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stay here. If u have kids. Good location. service is excellent. Short drive everywhere. Close to tour companies. Only little thing. Free wifi was week. They ask u to upgrade for a fee. Breakfast too expensive.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Checking in was a breeze, unfortunately we requested a room on a high floor, away from elevator, extra towels and pillows and a frig for meds. We got to our room on the 2nd floor right next to the elevator. No extra towels (4 adult women) 3 towels!?!? No extra pills, no frig and the room had a mildew smell. We went back down to the desk and told them the problem and we were given on room on a high floor, away from elevator, housekeeping came up with extra pillows, towels and the frig. On the second day, housekeeping decided we had enough towels and wouldn't bring us anymore. After speaking to a few other people at the hotel we did get the towels. Lets face it 3 towels for 4 adults with long hair doesn't work.

As always at Marriotts the rooms are clean and beds are comfortable.

Hotel had a restaurant with a buffet or ala carte menu which was convienient.

All in all the hotel was nice and the staff did try to accommodate us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea T, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide insight into your stay with us. Each and every response you provided is greatly appreciated for its constructiveness and for the assistance it provides to me and my staff to correct any weakness in our service. At the Courtyard Savannah Hotel, we are committed to providing the highest level of service to our guests. And, while we do many things well here, our failure to insure an immediate and friendly welcome at the front desk, as well as the information that would have enhanced your stay in Savannah is inexcusable, but I assure you, is being urgently addressed. I know your next stay with us will reflect the daily improvements we are working diligently to implement.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to help us improve!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

This hotel looked nice enough when we arrived. Paid $12-14 to valet park but probably could have had on the street parking for much less. Front desk person was not very pleasant, but concierge proved helpful. The Hotel had a pretty outside garden area and a nice looking pool and the lobby was attractive. There was a hot tub indoors near the pool, but it wasn't even warm. We asked to have the temperature increased and they said they would fix it, but they did not. The hot tub room was dingy and had a used band aid stuck on the tile. Not at all appealing. There was also a small fitness room on par with those found in any moderate hotel. The room was large although the decor was more monotone and cold than I would like. The problem was when we retired, we found hairs in both beds. There were several different kinds of hair and none of them ours. Worse yet, we discovered a huge crusty looking thing between the sheet and coverlet the next morning....looked like it was from someone's nose and again not ours!! Just revolting. Manager took his time before coming to speak to me and did not seem at all surprised or upset. Offered me half my money back, as if I should be happy to have slept in the dirty mess for a discount. The hotel itself could have been fine, but the lack of cleaning and impersonal and unhelpful staff made it a less than acceptable stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea T, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide insight into your stay with us. Each and every response you provided is greatly appreciated for its constructiveness and for the assistance it provides us to correct any weakness in our service. At the Courtyard Savannah Hotel, we are committed to providing the highest level of service to our guests. And, while we do many things well here, our failure to insure a clean and and friendly environment would have enhanced your stay in Savannah is inexcusable, but I assure you, is being urgently addressed. I know your next stay with us will reflect the daily improvements we are working diligently to implement.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to help us improve!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcadia, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

Just right. A bit off the beaten path, but the staff works hard to make it right for you. I wanted to go to Paula Deen's place and they immediately got me a great cab and it was done despite pouring rain. Service was the key.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Savannah Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Savannah Historic District

Address: 415 West Liberty Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Savannah
#32 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#42 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Savannah Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Savannah Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Savannah Historic District Hotel Savannah
Courtyard Savannah Historic District
Savannah Courtyard
Savannah Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Savannah Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.