We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Tour!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bonaventure Journey's w/Shannon Scott

Bonaventure Journey's w/Shannon Scott
330 Bonaventure Rd, Savannah, GA 31404
912-604-4423
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 166 Activities in Savannah
Type: Walking tours, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tour the South's most illustrious, Victorian Cemetery with 25 year, resident storyteller, Shannon Scott! Herein rests poets, songwriters, actors, artists, industrialists, duellists, Confederates, and every life story under one sunny cemetery! See Little Gracie, Johnny Mercer, Conrad Aiken, Noble Jones and more! Fans of "Midnight In The Garden of Good and Evil?" Get close to the characters! Even better, a significant portion of your ticket goes directly to Bonaventure Cemetery's preservation! Talk about a personal & impacting day out! Historic District Hotel Transportation Available!
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Tour!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We decided to go to Savannah on a whim. One of the things we did during our two day stay was the Bonaventure After Hours! Shannon was very accommodating especially since we made our reservation last minute. This was such a fantastic way to experience Bonaventure. The tour was all inclusive covering the history or the cemetery itself along with some intriguing stories about some of the people buried there and some history of Savannah itself. Shannon was very genuine with his story telling and it was a delight to see his passion for his subject material. We will definitely do this again as I'm sure there are more stories! A great experience for anyone in the area. Also wear sneakers and bring bug spray and water. Enjoy!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    422
    27
    4
    4
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mulvane, Kansas
1 review
“Awesome Tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We went on a 3 hour private cemetery tour with Shannon May 27. He shared a great deal of information, a lot from personal knowledge, that we couldn't have gotten from anyone else. The tour was leisurely and because it was private we were able to ask questions and discuss at length the things that interested us most. His unique personal experiences and perspectives enhanced our experience. Great tour!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
“Stellar! In my local opinion, I could not recommend it more!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Lots of walking and be prepared to listen. Shannon Scott is quite the historian. I'm a local and some of the legends he discusses I had heard of before but never close to the detail he provides, but most of his stories were new to me. He commands and audience and does a great job keeping you intreigued. If you're visiting don't skip the opportunity.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Robins, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Highly Entertaining and full of Savannah's rich history!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

Our tour with Shannon was so entertaining and full of interesting historical facts, I am ready to go again! He is a great storyteller and was able to keep the group's interest throughout the entire tour of this beautiful cemetery.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hercules, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Tour... Great Storytelling!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

If you are going to take 1 tour in Savannah, make sure that you make time for Shannon Scott. He is a great storyteller, and he pulls you into the long and wonderful history of Savannah's most notable cemetery. The cemetery is on a beautiful piece of land, and you cannot help but be fascinated with the all of the plots and stories behind some of the most prevalent ones. Shannon does a great job, and I would recommend this to anyone that enjoys taking a walk through the past.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bonaventure Journey's w/Shannon Scott also viewed

 

Been to Bonaventure Journey's w/Shannon Scott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bonaventure Journey's w/Shannon Scott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.