We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Resort Dr, Savannah, GA 31421   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #26 of 111 Hotels in Savannah
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Glenwood, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“great views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Was there on business so we didn't have time to enjoy much of Savannah. Stayed on 12th floor facing south. Room had a balcony overlooking Savannah River and Savannah. Beautiful, birds eye view. Fun to watch the tug boats and large ships passing by. Room was clean, comfortable, and reasonably quiet. Very comfortable bed. Concierge recommended we go to their sister property in Hilton Head Is., SC and use their beach and pool facilities. The beach and shopping at Hilton Head is a little farther than Tybee Is. but worth the trip.

Room Tip: South view faces river and downtown Savannah. North view overlooks a golf course and low country.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinDave, Public Relations Manager at Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments and for choosing The Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa. I am happy that we were able to provide a clean and comfortable Five Star experience. Our sister property in Hilton Head is a wonderful day trip indeed. I also recommend you investigate our Daufuskie Island excursion on your next trip westinsavannah.com/beach. Please find us on social media to learn of upcoming events and promotions for your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back upon your return to our lovely city.

BE WELL,

David Moses
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    323
    107
    70
    26
See reviews for
217
365
23
242
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ormond Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed two nights over this past 4th of July weekend to see the fireworks. Room was not up to Westin Resort standards. Stayed on the 15th floor with a river view, room had a number of problems. First the chair at the desk had 4 cuts in the fabric. The sheer curtain was dirty on the window side. Sheets on bed should have been replaced a long time ago, worn out. Inside of the bathroom door had mold and rust on lower portion. Due to the large crowds, the restaurant service did not know how to handle the numbers of people. We asked if The First Friday Sunset Party Oyster Roast would be happening and they told us no. In its place was a BBG for $42.00pp. We opted to eat in the Starbucks Café At Midnight Sun and the food was just food. When we went outside to watch the fireworks, found that they were having the oyster roast. Would not stay at this Westin Resort again nor recommend it to anyone. .

Room Tip: Have no idea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinDave, Public Relations Manager at Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for sharing your review and for choosing The Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa. I apologize that we were unable to meet your room, service or dining expectations. We will use your feedback to improve. We hope to welcome you back one day and restore your faith in our property.

BE WELL,

David Moses
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south florida
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The resort itself has everything one needs....awesome property, great location, and many amenities......BUT there is zero management to be found.. They tried but this was one of the most dysfunctional resorts I have ever seen!! I am a Platinum member with Starwood and I had to fight for a decent room....had to wait in line to check in for 35 minutes...every time I had to go to the front desk there was a long wait which shouldn't happen at a 4 Diamond AAA resort which they proudly display. Staff tried but fell short because their is ZERO leadership in this resort. Will I stay in this resort again....sorry to say...NO. Enough said!

Room Tip: I have no idea how to improve your room. No rhyme or reason!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinDave, Public Relations Manager at Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments and for choosing The Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa. I apologize that we were unable to meet your service expectations and we will use your feedback to improve. We hope to one day welcome you back and restore your faith in our property.

Be Well,

David Moses
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locust Grove, GA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed at The Westin during the July 4th weekend. It was great, we spent so much time sitting out on our private balcony, watching the ships come & go & watching the constant activity on River Street. The pool area was quite the attraction in & of itself. There was the pool, the hot tub, a fountain play area for the little kids, very nice pool furniture, zero-gravity lounge chairs, a nearby bar w/food, and a good bit of shaded areas to relax in as well. The complimentary ferry departs every 30 mins to take you over to River Street, it was very convenient to use it back & forth. We just left our vehicle in the parking lot all weekend, no need to drive around & hunt for a place to park. The front desk was super helpful & accommodating, room service was speedy.

Room Tip: You must must must get a room on the 12th+ floor & get a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinDave, Public Relations Manager at Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Rhonda,

Thank you for sharing your comments and for choosing The Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa. I am happy that we were able to provide a scenic and entertaining Five Star experience. Please find us on social media to learn of upcoming events and promotions for your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back upon your return to our lovely city.

BE WELL,

David Moses
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed here in the middle of June. We visited with family on Friday when we arrived in Savannah so we checked in late - no king size bed room which we had reserved. They comped us two breakfasts. We checked with the front desk and said that are bags were packed and that they could move us to the king bed room. Went to visit family again and returned late - they had not moved us. So we had to wait for our bags to get to our room. They comped us to the top floor. One breakfast was great the same breakfast the next morning was awful. This is not what I expected from a Westin, as I've been an SPG member since 1999.
The people were friendly it's just the processes that they've got that let them down
For the price we paid there are a lot of other great hotels across the river in Savannah.

Room Tip: Get a riverview room so that the sun doesn't come blazing in in the morning. you'll pay a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinDave, Public Relations Manager at Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments and for choosing The Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa. I apologize that we were unable to meet your service, dining and amenity expectations. We will use your review to improve. We look forward to welcoming you back upon your return to our lovely city.

BE WELL,

David Moses
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The Westin Savannah is a potential meeting site for a company event is 2016 so we made a visit to The Westin last week. Sissy in sales was a wonderful host and arranged a great tour with breakfast for 2 days. I had attended an event at The Westin previously and was impressed so our visit included our Marketing Director and Event Planner to evaluate space, hotel accommodations, services, and more.

In addition the the Westin we toured Old Fort Jackson, The Train Museum Round House and Forsyth Park for an off site dinner event with Ann a wonderful Savannahian that is a destination management planner. The combination of Sissy and Ann was great.

The hotel overall is a great hotel just across the river from Savannah, a 90 second ferry ride away. This makes the hotel a great place to stay. The food at the hotel was good and the service was good as well.

Our check-in left something to be desired, a new associate helped us, but we got over that quickly.

I know we will be back.

Room Tip: A river view room is my preference but the golf course view is great too. A balcony room would be g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinDave, Public Relations Manager at Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments and for choosing The Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa. Sissy is an absolute asset to the team and will be delighted to know that her efforts to provide a stellar visit are appreciated. Ann is also a great partner of the Resort! I appreciate your feedback about your check-in experience and we will use it to improve. We look forward to welcoming you back upon your return to our lovely city.

BE WELL,

David Moses
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicksburg, Mississippi
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Excellent water front location with great views with the added attraction of a ferry ride to the river front boardwalk where you can have all kinds of gastronomic indulgences. Rooms were nice for the price but service lacked. The Spa attendant was kinda rude making you feel as if she is doing a favor giving you an appointment. The front desk needs to be bigger with only two counters for a 200 plus room hotel? A line is unsightly for check ins. Pool area was great although a little congested, could do with a more expansive one. Hotel need more recreational areas close to main building as the heat is oppressive to walk. The average rating is because I expected better service as the guest expects to get better than a downtown hotel attention.
One more plus was the food, excellent menu and flavors even for a buffet. I congratulate the chef.

Room Tip: Ask for river front, the ships are a pleasure to watch.
See more room tips
Green Features: Vey conscious of Enviro friendly products, good job.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinDave, Public Relations Manager at Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments and for choosing The Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa. I apologize that were were unable to meet your service expectations and we will use your review to improve. We hope to welcome you back one day and restore your faith in our property.

BE WELL,

David Moses
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa

Address: 1 Resort Dr, Savannah, GA 31421
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Savannah
#9 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#17 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#17 Business Hotel in Savannah
#18 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern charm meets modern luxury at the Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, in the heart of the historic Savannah River District. Savannah's premier resort is the prime location; not far from fantastic shopping and nightlife, but removed just enough for tranquility. Enjoy complimentary water ferry service to River Street, renovated guest rooms, meeting rooms and public spaces. The Resort is adjacent to International Trade and Convention Center, 20 min from the airport, 90-second ferry ride to River Street. Be well. Be Westin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, Otel, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort And Spa
Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Hotel Savannah
Westin Savannah Harbor Hotel
Westin Savannah Harbor Resort
Savannah Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.