We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great property with average staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Resort Dr, Savannah, GA 31421   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #31 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Vicksburg, Mississippi
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great property with average staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Excellent water front location with great views with the added attraction of a ferry ride to the river front boardwalk where you can have all kinds of gastronomic indulgences. Rooms were nice for the price but service lacked. The Spa attendant was kinda rude making you feel as if she is doing a favor giving you an appointment. The front desk needs to be bigger with only two counters for a 200 plus room hotel? A line is unsightly for check ins. Pool area was great although a little congested, could do with a more expansive one. Hotel need more recreational areas close to main building as the heat is oppressive to walk. The average rating is because I expected better service as the guest expects to get better than a downtown hotel attention.
One more plus was the food, excellent menu and flavors even for a buffet. I congratulate the chef.

Room Tip: Ask for river front, the ships are a pleasure to watch.
See more room tips
Green Features: Vey conscious of Enviro friendly products, good job.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinDave, Public Relations Manager at Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments and for choosing The Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa. I apologize that were were unable to meet your service expectations and we will use your review to improve. We hope to welcome you back one day and restore your faith in our property.

BE WELL,

David Moses
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    361
    138
    73
    33
See reviews for
238
417
31
271
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed at the Westin for one night on our way to Florida, as we have family in Savannah and wanted to extend the trip a bit. The best part about the hotel was the service we received. When we arrived at the pool, seats were hard to come by, but one of the pool attendants saw our problem and quickly came over to identify seats that were available. She even carried towels to us from the pool stand. Later, another staffer came over and invited our two girls to come to the kids area near the pool to do arts and crafts (no charge!) Finally, when we were back later in the evening from a quick water taxi ride to River Street (parents should beware taking kids to River St on a weekend evening), the staff was making smores by one of the fire pits and again our girls got to participate at no charge. Otherwise, the hotel was fine, the location was great, and the views of the river and golf course were very appealing. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room as far from the elevators as possible. While always a good tip, the Westin elevators wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinDave, Public Relations Manager at Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments and for choosing The Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa. I am delighted to hear that you our Associates provided stellar service! We strive for excellence and our activities directors will be happy to hear their efforts are appreciated. Please find us on social media to learn of upcoming events and promotions for your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back upon your return to our lovely city.

BE WELL,

David Moses
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio, Usa
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

The Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort was a top rated golf course. The course was not very long but difficult to play. The service was top quality and I would love to come back and play again. The hotel is not on the river walk so you will have to get transportantion to the shops and historic restaurants on the walk.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinDave, Public Relations Manager at Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Harvey,

Thank you for sharing your comments and for choosing The Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa. We like to say that we are not far from fantastic shopping and nightlife, but removed just enough for tranquility. I am happy to hear that we were able to create a positive and memorable experience for you. The Club at Savannah Harbor also has a tripadvisor page and I am sure they would greatly appreciate you sharing your feedback there too. Please find us on social media to learn of upcoming events and promotions for your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back upon your return to our lovely city.

BE WELL,

David Moses
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gastonia, NC
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I enjoyed my stay at this property. The pool area was very nice, the people were friendly, and my room was nice and clean. The complimentary ferry takes you across the river to River Street and I felt no pressure to tip so it was truly complimentary. There are several restaurants on the property and a nice bar at the pool. No complaints, I would stay here again however I will say that I enjoyed staying on the other side of the river because it was more central to walk to both river street and the historic district. You could easily do that from the Westin too, just be aware you are a ferry ride away from the activities.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinDave, Public Relations Manager at Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments and for choosing The Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa. I am happy that we created an overall positive and memorable experience for you. Please find us on social media to learn of upcoming events and promotions for your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back upon your return to our lovely city.

BE WELL,

David Moses
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Stayed there for a long weekend. Had a really great time. Great location, good service, weekend brunch was excellent. Will be returning!
Location is fantastic. Great views and very convenient going back and forth from River Street

Room Tip: get the river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinDave, Public Relations Manager at Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments and for choosing The Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa. I am happy to hear we created a positive and memorable experience for you. The views and location are indeed the best in Savannah. Our Chef will be pleased to learn that his efforts to create a spectacular Sunday Brunch are appreciated. Please find us on social media to learn of upcoming events and promotions for your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back upon your return to our lovely city.

BE WELL,

David Moses
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I was there for 4 night in May 2014. There was an empty bottle on the chair when I checked in the room. Just a start...
One of the pillow case was about 3 inch short! Thought was funny and had to take a picture to show a friend who is GM of a hotel.
Took them 2 days to delieve the wine glass. The dirty glass was not collected nor replaced next day.
The matress top was lumpy.
The lamps and phone were dusty.
I checked out one day earlier since I don't think the hotel is worth $250 a night.
They did respond to my survay and said they will let the housekeeping dept know.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinDave, Public Relations Manager at Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for sharing your review and for choosing The Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa. I apologize that we were unable to meet your housekeeping expectations and we will use your comments to take immediate action. Please find us on social media to learn of upcoming events and promotions for your next visit. We hope to one day welcome you back and restore your faith in our property.

BE WELL,

David Moses
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I had heard good things about this hotel and was excited for my stay. That excitement deflated quickly. Upon arrival, I had to wait in a long line to check in. They only had one or sometimes two people helping guests and they moved at a snail's pace. When we got into our room, the refrigerator didn't work and we tried to call the desk and got no answer. I went back downstairs to the lobby and waited in the long line again. The employee told me they were too busy to answer the phones and didn't seem to care about it in the least. When I started asking about leaving the hotel and voicing my concerns, a manager came and talked to me. Her name was Chris Hogg and she was very nice and accommodating. She said she was sorry to for wait as they had several large conventions in the hotel and were very busy. She did have a new refrigerator brought to the room and followed up with meal vouchers. She was the best part of the hotel stay. Overall, the hotel was very crowded with people attending conventions which made it not very relaxing for someone on a vacation trip. When we went to bed later in the evening, we discovered the comforters were full of dust on the inside lining. We just slept with the sheets. The next morning, we used our meal vouchers for breakfast at the restaurant in the hotel. The breakfast buffet was cold and terrible. We were grateful we were not paying the $25 fee per plate. For the price we paid to stay in this hotel, we were very disappointed and will not be returning.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinDave, Public Relations Manager at Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Jennifer,

Thank you for sharing your review and for choosing The Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa. I apologize that we were unable to provide a positive check-in, rooms or dining experience. We will use your review to take corrective action and improve for the future. We hope to one day welcome you back and restore your faith in our property.

Be Well,

David Moses
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa

Address: 1 Resort Dr, Savannah, GA 31421
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Savannah
#10 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#18 Family Hotel in Savannah
#22 Business Hotel in Savannah
#23 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern charm meets modern luxury at the Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, in the heart of the historic Savannah River District. Savannah's premier resort is the prime location; not far from fantastic shopping and nightlife, but removed just enough for tranquility. Enjoy complimentary water ferry service to River Street, renovated guest rooms, meeting rooms and public spaces. The Resort is adjacent to International Trade and Convention Center, 20 min from the airport, 90-second ferry ride to River Street. Be well. Be Westin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Starwood, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort And Spa
Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Hotel Savannah
Westin Savannah Harbor Hotel
Westin Savannah Harbor Resort
Savannah Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.