We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience at a great price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Resort Dr, Savannah, GA 31421   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #26 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing experience at a great price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This hotel was fabulous. We happened to find this hotel by mistake and we are so glad we did. The location was great because we were able to catch the free ferries and water taxis across the river to historic Savannah. It was convenient, the staff was friendly, the rooms were clean, the hotel was beautiful, and the view across the river was even better. Great hotel for family or romantic visits either one.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinSav, Mark Spadoni, General Manager at Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
We are so glad you found us and had such an enjoyable experience. We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments, and hope you will visit again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    341
    119
    70
    28
See reviews for
226
380
27
257
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Savannah is a beautiful and historic city, but also is "fashionably seedy", and in some cases well worn. Just a short hop across the river, the Westin is a manicured resort reminiscent of Florida's high end manicured hotels. It sits on the Savannah River offering an excellent view of the river front city without the grunge of being right there. Even better, there is a free ferry that can have you walking River Street in less than five minutes. Sitting on the patio by the river when a freighter comes by is awesome.

Rooms are large and well appointed, as are the bathrooms. Beds are very comfortable. The large flat screen sits on a dresser that also boasts an elaborate multimedia input panel (HDMI, USB, Component inputs), and my favorite: plugs everywhere, even a powered USB port. Geek city. Unfortunately, this capable TV is not hooked to a digital source so the stations available look pretty bad. This extends to sports as Monday night football was not available since the channel isn't available. The remote didn't work but you're not going to spend much time in the room anyway.

Guests have access to the fitness center in the golf club. It's very good, but a 5 minute walk or car ride away. That's okay in nice weather, but can be a deterrent to going. Also, there is nothing on the island except the Westin, the convention center next door, and the associated golf course. You'll have to take the ferry or drive to do anything else.

There is a nice restaurant and a small bar/lounge area. There are several meeting rooms with the connecting halls and lobby very comfortably and attractively decorated. It's easy to feel at home here. The first floor has a number of comfortable sitting areas.

Epic Fail: I was on the 14th floor leaving at 8 am to catch a flight home. After a lengthy wait and no elevator, I called the front desk to find that all four elevators were under repair with no estimated time to complete. I'm 61, fortunately in good shape, but carrying two healthy suitcases down 14 flights of steps pretty much ended the joy of the stay. Like many higher end properties, the staffs are not trained in how to handle non routine problems. Surely they could have left messages on their phone system to alert guests. This would have eliminated the needless wait wondering when the elevator was coming. When on a schedule, this matters.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have windows on two sides. The area offers great views in higher rooms. Rooms on the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinSav, Mark Spadoni, General Manager at Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We are please there were so many aspects of your trip that you enjoyed while staying with us. We do apologize for the inconvenience of the elevator. It was unavailable for such a short time of approximately 15 minutes that by the time we could have notified all of our guests, the elevators were completely restored and back in service. We do hope that we will have another opportunity to serve you in the future should you visit Savannah again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Nice Property 20 minutes from the airport. There is a quick shuttle to downtown from the docks outside the hotel . The Pool was great, fitness center was across the street at the golf course. The road race track was a great place to get a 5 mile run on.

The rooms are what you expect from a Westin, solid quality. The bed was great, bathroom was clean. Staff was nice and breakfast was decently priced.

I would recommend this hotel for families traveling or for business.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinSav, Mark Spadoni, General Manager at Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for sharing such a nice review about our Resort. We are pleased you chose to stay with us, and truly look forward to welcoming you back when travels bring you back to Savannah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Great hotel... recently stayed there for a business conference. Friendly staff, clean public areas, beautiful outdoors (the restaurant seating area outside, awesome pool, and can't beat the scenery that passes you by on the lake).

Rooms are getting older but were still clean and well appointed. I hope that I may return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinSav, Mark Spadoni, General Manager at Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear how much you enjoyed your recent visit with us, and appreciate the nice comments about our Resort. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed here (instead of at one of the numerous hotels actually in the historic district) because it was billed as a resort. We wanted a destination in and of itself, but still close enough to enjoy Savannah. This is not a resort...it's a hotel that wishes it was a resort. The resort fee covers self parking, wifi, and the water taxi (that is free for anyone). The water taxi was more annoying than exciting (after waiting and other stops it takes about 30 minutes every time to get to historic Savannah). The dining options are extremely minimal. There is the insanely overpriced restaurant or the Midnight Sun bar which uses the exact same menu as the pool. That's it. There are supposedly "hammocks" by the river...translation, one hammock stand with no hammock in it for 4 days. When I asked the front desk about it she first said...it should be out there and then changed her response to...it's too windy. I went outside to the windless evening and wished I'd stayed somewhere else. Don't get me wrong, the hotel and grounds are beautiful and the room was perfect...but this is no resort. Save your money and stay at one of the options on the other side of the river.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinSav, Mark Spadoni, General Manager at Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. It is always our goal to exceed the expectations of our guests, and when we fall short, we always appreciate hearing the feedback from our guests, so that we can improve our resort. We hope that should travels bring you back this way, you would allow us the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head Island, SC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We spent 1 night at the Westin Savannah Harbor for a girls trip. We checked in at 4pm on Friday and were able to spend some time at the gorgeous pool area sipping on margarita's. There is a stunning view of River Street in downtown Savannah. The pool area had plenty of room so no one was squished too closely to the person next to them.

We took the ferry into downtown Savannah for dinner and it was surprisingly packed. We enjoyed the quick trip across the river on the outside deck of the front of the ship.We caught the last ferry back to the hotel at midnight and slept well in our heavenly beds.

Breakfast in the Restaurant the next morning was delish!

We will be back and spend more time in the pool area!

Room Tip: Upper level floor with river street and bridge view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinSav, Mark Spadoni, General Manager at Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. It sounds like you all had a great weekend getaway and truly enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your feedback, and hope that you will visit again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I decided to take my girlfriend away for a nice weekend to Savannah. It was our first trip to the area, and wanted a resort type facility with a nice spa instead of the traditional b & b. Chose the Westin based on reviews and reputation. I have to say I was HUGELY disappointed. We arrived at 6:20pm Friday, only to be told the room was not ready and it would be at least an additional hour before we could check in. No apology was offered, just a come back in an hour. I literally stood there with my jaw hanging to the ground. I received better customer service at a La Quinta! After approximately 90 minutes, I received a phone call our room was ready. The room we were assigned, room 1001, was a big disappointment. There was peeling paint in the bathroom shower area, the refridgerator did not cool, and the damper for the air condition banged everytime the A/C, which would wake anyone up. Additionally, our river view room overlooking the pool area showed how the pool had not been cleaned in awhile. We spoke to the front desk and the lady just looked at us as if we were crazy and offered no resolution.
We woke up Saturday, and decided to try the Aqua Star restaurant for breakfast, since there were some decent reviews online for the Sunday jazz brunch. It was a big disappointment as well. The buffet was ice cold, and the coffee they claimed to be starbuck tasted as if it was two weeks old.
The only saving grace to the hotel was the spa. We had a couples massage at the spa, and were treated like royalty from the moment we arrived at the spa. The staff and service they delivered was outstanding.
For the amount of a room here, skip it. There are much better places to stay than the Westin. It certainly is not up to par with normal Westin standards.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinSav, Dan Kakabeeke, Director of Operations at Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank-you for the helpful feedback in regards to your recent stay. I am sorry to hear that it did not go as well as hoped. I am glad that we were able to connect via email to discuss some of these service challenges. We use this information as a training opportunity with our staff to ensure like experiences will not to happen going forward. Thank-you for your kind comments regarding our Spa staff.

Best regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa

Address: 1 Resort Dr, Savannah, GA 31421
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Savannah
#9 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#18 Family Hotel in Savannah
#19 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#20 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern charm meets modern luxury at the Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, in the heart of the historic Savannah River District. Savannah's premier resort is the prime location; not far from fantastic shopping and nightlife, but removed just enough for tranquility. Enjoy complimentary water ferry service to River Street, renovated guest rooms, meeting rooms and public spaces. The Resort is adjacent to International Trade and Convention Center, 20 min from the airport, 90-second ferry ride to River Street. Be well. Be Westin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Hotels.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort And Spa
Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Hotel Savannah
Westin Savannah Harbor Hotel
Westin Savannah Harbor Resort
Savannah Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.