We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern resort overlooking historic Savannah” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Resort Dr, Savannah, GA 31421   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #26 of 112 hotels in Savannah
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Modern resort overlooking historic Savannah”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

The Westin is located across the river from Savannah, but easily accessible by a short drive or take the 2 minute ferry located adjacent to the hotel for a quick trip to the riverfront. My room faced the river and had a small balcony. It provided excellent city and sunset views as well as the active shipping traffic. A nice bonus. The room on the 15th floor was modern and a great size with a wonderful Westin king bed. Internet is included in the resort fee which also included parking. We had a wonderful breakfast at their second floor restaurant and picked up a Starbucks before heading out for the day. The Westin Savannah will be my base of operations for all future trips to Savannah.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinSav, Guest Relations Manager at Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Westin Savannah. I am so happy to hear such nice comments about your recent stay. We look forward to welcoming you back on all your future trips!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

935 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    451
    303
    91
    65
    25
See reviews for
197
335
23
225
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

The Westin was a good hotel option for our trip to Savannah. We used points and spent New Year's Eve in town. The hotel is very nice (and large). At first we thought it might be annoying to take the water taxi everywhere, but it was actually fun. And the view of the city and river from our room was really pretty, too. It would have been nice if it ran past midnight, but it was still quite convenient. Compared to the rest of the city which is oozing with charm and history, this hotel felt a bit sterile, but it was definitely nice and relaxing...and the golf course looked great, too.

Room Tip: Get a high floor on the river side for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinSav, Guest Relations Manager at Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments. I am glad to hear you were able to enjoy New Year's Eve with us. The ferry is a lot of fun, and the view of the historic district from our hotel is the best in Savannah! We would love for you to visit again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We traveled along the East Coast of the U.S. last summer and the Westin Savannah was one of the nicest hotels we stayed in during that time. The bed was so comfortable that we had a hard time getting out of it every morning!

We loved their eco-friendly policy that gave us a $5 voucher to spend anywhere in the hotel (which we use could at the Starbucks in the lobby) for every day they didn't make up the room (change towels, etc.). This really is a great incentive for guests to be more environmentally aware and even get something in return.

We came across one member of staff that we weren't fond of - unfortunately at the check-in, so it wasn't a great first impression - but everybody else made up for that person and they went above and beyond to make our time at the Westin as pleasant as possible. The staff we talked to were all very dedicated and very obliging, especially in the restaurant.

We were a little bit concerned about the location at first, as the Westin sits on Hutchinson Island, not directly in town, but facing Savannah across the river. Turned out not to be a problem at all thanks to the free ferry shuttle service which runs regularly until midnight. The ferry ride is quick (10 minutes) and we enjoyed the tranquility of the island, plus the great views over Savannah from the hotel!

The pool is fantastic, right at the river, and makes for a great place to relax after exploring the town (especially in the summer heat!) and there are also a couple of fun waterpark features for kids.

We also tried the Sunday Brunch buffet which was excellent. Even for vegetarians there were plenty of choices, and we were big fans of the fresh pasta station and the dessert buffet which was incredible.

Since we visited Savannah during the first weekend of the month, we were there for the 'First Friday Oyster Roast & Fireworks', with a live band playing at the river, oysters and other food provided by the hotel (another great dessert buffet including their excellent Bananas Foster and an open fire where guests could make marshmallows - great fun not only for the kids!) which was absolutely amazing. The fireworks were incredible, and the guests really started to mingle during this night.

The gym, located in a different building a short walk from the main hotel, was small, but very well equipped with a good selection of work-out machines, weights, etc.

Room Tip: The higher up your room, the better the views over Savannah - and ask for a room with a window towar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinSav, Guest Relations Manager at Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Thank you for sharing such wonderful comments about your recent stay. I am thrilled to hear you were able to enjoy so many of the wonderful events we offer. We appreciate feedback from our guests and being able to use to help us maintain our high standards of customer service. Should you travel this way again, we would love to welcome you back to our Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

I love staying at the Westin whenever I'm in Savannah. It is very quiet, but if you can get a river view it can be exciting to watch the hustle and bustle of an active harbor. The staff are always incredibly friendly. Everything is clean and the housekeeping staff is very prompt and attentive. Free internet -- a rarity these days at more upscale hotels -- is a nice, particularly when staying on business. I also enjoy the ferry back and forth to River Street. Can't wait for my next visit to Savannah because I know where I will be staying.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinSav, Guest Relations Manager at Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Westin Savannah! We truly appreciate you taking the time to post such positive comments. We look forward to your next visit to Savannah, and welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We have stayed at the Westin several times over the years. We live close by in Hilton Head and this is a great escape. You get to enjoy Savannah without having to be in the middle of it. The water taxi is free and fun. It runs early-late and is a great way to end the night. Rooms are typical Westin good and many of the rooms have an incredible view of the city. Also, if you check regularyly, they have excellent deals on rooms where much of Savannah is fairly price fixed.

Room Tip: Try to upgrade for an upper water view room. Excellent views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinSav, Guest Relations Manager at Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Westin Savannah and for sharing such nice comments about your recent stay. Our resort is a great place for a wonderful weekend getaway and I am so happy to hear that you are able to visit often. We appreciate your loyalty, and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

This misfortuned location on Hutchinson Island in the Savannah area is remotely located, hard to get to and underwhelming in guest activity. Who at Westin picked this place?? If there is not a convention going on...during mid week...you will be a unique and lonely guest.
The $250 room rate was in line/reasonable for Westin's normal higher tiered pricing...and the guest room was fine...except that the tub/shower faucet control in my room was broken off !
With less than a 5 % occupancythat night...you'd think I could have gotten a room with a functioning shower?? Hello...Management are you here???!
Nice looking property...but the hotel lobby is cold and somewhat stark...and with the double lobby sliding doors rapidly auto open function...the result left the lobby area exposed to the very cold winter winds...and coupled with the lack of other guests...it looked and felt quite desolate.
I'll bet the 8 overnight guests from our business group numbered more than the staff in the entire 400 room facility!
Speaking of remore locations...we waited over 15 minutes for a cab ride to a dinner...the cab never did arrive...the bellman left his station to drive us to a downtown location in the hotel car (a nice touch). Unfortunately he bearly could find the restaurant (one of Savannah's finest I was told)...cudo's for effort...but not for his training! The nice Mercedes SUV had a navigation system...but he did not know how to use it.
Back to the Westin hotel...the poorly located second floor hotel restaurant...with very poor and little signage making finding it very hard. Once I found it...the restaurant was dark at 7AM for my breakfast meeting the next AM...and the staff person was still tying on her apron as she emerged from the darker reaches on the place to turn on the lights...to seat our table of 2.
Of course...we were the only customers in the place!
Come on Westin...you can do better!

Room Tip: Avoid # 909...or request a check of the tub/shower first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinSav, Guest Relations Manager at Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments surrounding your recent stay and allowing me to contact you via email. It is important to us that each and every guest have a true Westin experience when they visit, and anything less than perfect concerns us greatly. Your feedback has been shared with our management staff to ensure other guests are not subjected to similar situations. Should your travels bring you back this way, we look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed with our dog for two days to celebrate New Years in Savannah. I will start off by saying the staff at the front desk and in reservations were fantastic! When we checked in they were very nice and even had a Westin pet bed put in our room for our dog. There is a ferry service that takes you over to Savannah which also allows you to take your dog! Our room was overlooking the river and was clean and beautiful even though it was pet friendly. I was very impressed with our experience. If you happen to bring your dog the pet fee for the hotel was 100 dollars for your entire stay, so if you are planning on staying more than a day it is well worth it.

Room Tip: A view of the river was very pretty!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinSav, Guest Relations Manager at Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Thank you for sharing such nice comments about your recent stay and our staff. I am so glad to hear that you had a great experience and were able to enjoy our pet friendly hotel. Savannah is a wonderful city for pets and when you walk through the downtown historic district, it's not uncommon to see fresh bowls of water for pets sitting outside many of the businesses. We are so glad you chose the Westin Savannah for your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa

Address: 1 Resort Dr, Savannah, GA 31421
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Savannah
#9 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#14 Family Hotel in Savannah
#16 Business Hotel in Savannah
#18 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern charm meets modern luxury at the Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, in the heart of the historic Savannah River District. Savannah's premier resort is the prime location; not far from fantastic shopping and nightlife, but removed just enough for tranquility. Enjoy complimentary water ferry service to River Street, renovated guest rooms, meeting rooms and public spaces. The Resort is adjacent to International Trade and Convention Center, 20 min from the airport, 90-second ferry ride to River Street. Be well. Be Westin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort And Spa
Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Hotel Savannah
Westin Savannah Harbor Hotel
Westin Savannah Harbor Resort
Savannah Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.