We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carriage Tours of Savannah

Carriage Tours of Savannah
Jefferson Street & W Saint Julian Street, PO Box 2402, Savannah, GA 31402
912-236-6756
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 166 Activities in Savannah
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Lincoln, Nebraska
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I did a ton of research before choosing a tour company - I am a "horse person" with two of my own at home, and care of the horses and happiness in their jobs was top priority for me. My other half and I walked up on a Wednesday morning and booked a public tour. No one else signed up for our same time, so it was effectively a private tour, which was great. Blake was our guide and Billy our trusty steed, and both were outstanding. I already had some knowledge of the historic district and we had seen quite a bit already just walking around, so Blake tailored the information she shared and the route we took to some things we hadn't seen or heard about yet. Billy was a rock star - he knows the streets of Savannah like the back of his hoof. One of my own horses is older, and I recognized in Billy an old guy who knows his job and enjoys it - don't let his prominent "old horse" hips fool you, Billy's round belly and fleshy shoulder show that he enjoys his food! I debated whether it was worth spending the money for a carriage tour since we had already seen so much, but I'm really glad we did and that we chose Carriage Tours of Savannah for it!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    54
    11
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warner Robins, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“This was so much fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

This tour was awesome! Our tour guide was full of interesting information and the stories about the sights were fun to listen to. Being in an open air carriage was something different and added to the tour, plus it allowed us to enjoy the great weather. I would highly, highly recomend this tour!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ghost tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We had an enjoyable ending to a first visit to Savannah. Our driver was informative and entertaining.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Nice evening ride.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We took a 9:00pm tour with AJ and Billy the horse. AJ was very nice and asked us what type of tour we were looking for. He gave us some historical facts, most of which we already heard in walking tour that we did earlier that same say. So it was a little redundant. He also didn't have very nice things to say about our walking tour guide, which we found to be a little weird/uncomfortable. He made us feel like we wasted our money on the walking tour. I didn't like that. I wish he would have just kept that to himself. Other than that, it was a lovely after dinner ride. AJ's jokes were cheesy, yet funny. We had a good time. I think my husband requested champagne on in advance though, and there was none.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillon, South Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Informative & Interesting Ghost Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I really enjoyed the tour! It was a lot of fun! We're planning to go back to Savannah for St. Patrick's Day.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carriage Tours of Savannah also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Carriage Tours of Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carriage Tours of Savannah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.