We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better carriage ride than most.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carriage Tours of Savannah

Carriage Tours of Savannah
Jefferson Street & W Saint Julian Street, PO Box 2402, Savannah, GA 31402
912-236-6756
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 166 Activities in Savannah
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Better carriage ride than most.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I guess I have Ben to savannah at least 20 times, usually just to get away and relax, so believe me, a carriage ride was a "touristy" thing I wasn't interested in....but I had brought newbies along , and of course they wanted to do this. When we got aboard, I asked the driver to hit the back places and she asked if I had ever been to the colonial section...I hadn't. So simply by asking , we got to clip clip through the oldest areas in town...no traffic, and a very pleasant and informative historical ride. Loved it !

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    54
    11
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mayfield, Kentucky, United States
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Way to View the City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I'm always a sucker for a carriage ride. I feel like you get a detailed historical presentation of the city while relaxing and enjoying the view. Our carriage driver was rich in Savannah knowledge and gave us many tips while visiting the city (Do's and don'ts).
If you have the time, take a carriage ride and enjoy the true ambiance of the southern life style. The city has over 20 city parks and on the tour you will see most of them. Savannah is a beautiful sight seeing city whether you walk, drive, or ride in a carriage.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

My wife,Grand Daughter and I took a horse carriage ride,great historical information by the driver. A great way to see and hear of the history of the city and the buildings.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Justin was a great and enthusiastic tour guide.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

My first time in Savannah was filled with great knowledge and beautiful sites. I am already looking forward to coming back down to bring my husband for our Anniversary next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludowici, GA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Romantic night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Our tour last night with Ally and Shea was money well spent. My husband is home from Korea for a few weeks and we wanted a relaxing, romantic evening out. Since we've been stationed near Savannah for many years, we've been on many tours. We still heard new facts about Savannah, however, that we had not learned in our previous 10+ tours. She catered the tour towards what we wanted and even made a stop for us at the 17hundred90 bar for us to grab a drink. Ally helped make our special night out perfect.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carriage Tours of Savannah also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Carriage Tours of Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carriage Tours of Savannah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.