We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly an attraction not to miss” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Owens-Thomas House

Owens-Thomas House
124 Abercorn Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)
912 233 9743
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 204 things to do in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Owens-Thomas House is considered by architectural historians to be one of the finest examples of English Regency architecture in America. Inspired by classical antiquity, this style of architecture takes its name from England’s King George IV, who ruled as Prince Regent from 1811 to 1820.The house was designed by the young English architect William Jay, one of the first professionally-trained architects practicing in the United States. The elegant residence was built from 1816 to 1819 for cotton merchant and banker Richard Richardson and his wife Francis Bolton. Mr. Richardson’s brother-in-law was married to Ann Jay, the architect’s sister. Three years after the house’s completion, Richardson suffered financial losses and sold his house, which later came under possession of the Bank of the United States.
Wayne, PA
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Truly an attraction not to miss”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

The (free) audio tour of this historic landmark sets the mood taking you back in time to the period of this dwelling. This is a 'preserved' landmark so don't expect recreated furnishings. Let your imagination run with what it may have looked like. You won't be disappointed.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    270
    89
    22
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Top Contributor
270 reviews 270 reviews
123 attraction reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

We enjoyed our guided tour very much but $16 each was a bit much.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, TN
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, significant piece of history.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

My family and myself are big fans of historic properties and architecture. We found this home to be very beautiful and the tour informative. Our tour guide was a little stuffy but she did a good job. While we were here, they were giving information on the mourning culture of the time. While, I was already familiar with the practices, it was still interesting to have it included in the tour. Your ticket is good for three places, the house and two art museums so it is a great value.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh,pa
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great tour...combo deal with the Telfair Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

We did the combo deal with The telfair museum...you get tickets for this house and two other museums. You can purchase the tickets at the Telfair museum and one of the museums is open in the evenings on Thursdays. It was definately worth it. We had a young man give us a tour and he was very knowlegeable of the house and its history.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
englewood
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“check it out further before you go?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

we arrived and was told it was a self guided tour? 15.00 per person self guided,most rooms drapped off had some guards? people wondering around didn't know anything, one of them said the guides were at a local guide meeting? would have been nice if the lady taking your money would have given a clue.looked like a great house but ask Qs before you enter, would not give them a second chance, and will tell all my friends that go to owens thomas house watch out. was the worse tour (not tour) in all of savannah. please check it out close before you go

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Owens-Thomas House also viewed

 

Been to Owens-Thomas House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Owens-Thomas House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.