We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Market

City Market
Jefferson at West Saint Julian Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)
912-232-4903
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$19*
and up
Savannah City Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour
Ranked #30 of 100 Attractions in Savannah
Type: Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Cultural
Activities: Shopping, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This old area of the city includes a pedestrian promenade with a collection of interesting shops, restaurants and stores.
Columbus, Indiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Neat place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

This is a neat section of Savannah, with nice little specialty shops, restaurants, and sometimes live entertainment. A fun place to unwind.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityMarketSav, Manager at City Market, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We do have nightly entertainment in the courtyard. We hope you were able to listen to a band or two.

Kimberly Phillips
Asst. Director - City Market
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    166
    84
    15
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“WOW! Lots to see in a 2 block area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

This 2 block piece of real estate is a have to see. There are a number of shops, restaurants, and bars. Vinnie Van Go-Go's Pizza is a must, great pizza and a great deal. Another Candy Kitchen with free praline samples and watch the salt water taffy making (especially with kids) there is a flavored popcorn room no and the bin candies will revive memories of the adults: Zots, Charleston Chews, etc. There are a number of restaurants and bars. Pour Larry's is down stairs (below the market) and has the best prices and coldest beer. The Bar Bar is a night bar (also below the market) with a dress code of sorts: not looking for the old-enough-to drink-but no-money. Thomas Kincaid has a store here as does Byrd's cookies.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityMarketSav, Manager at City Market, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to visit City Market. We are delighted you found some great things here. We also love the pizza from Vinnie's. Thank you for posting a review.

Kimberly Phillips
Asst. Director - City Market
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Met the best locals in the city here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Broke off from friends to do my own things and came here to bar hop. Met some of the coolest people who I will be going to visit again and who no have a place to crash for football games and such when they come to my city. Best place to go from bar to bar as well as check out art and cool places to eat.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityMarketSav, Manager at City Market, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
We are glad you had a wonderful time. We strive to have something for everyone whether they be locals or tourists. Thank you for visiting City Market.

Kimberly Phillips
Asst. Director - City Market
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Small but good restaurants and shops”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

The City Market area was smaller than I expected, but definitely still worth the trip. We enjoyed a nice lunch there on one of the restaurant's covered patios. There is also a good selection of cute gift shops offering plenty of Savannah souvenirs.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityMarketSav, Manager at City Market, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
We love the covered patios especially with the warmer weather approaching. We hope you visit us again.

Kimberly Phillips
Asst. Director - City Market
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Funky place for art and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

City Market is located in the historic district, It has art shops, artist studios, and restaurants. If you want to take a carriage ride through Savannah this is the place to find them.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityMarketSav, Manager at City Market, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for posting. You can always find a carriage ride or even a trolley stop at City Market. We hope you enjoyed your visit.

Kimberly Phillips
Asst. Director - City Market
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Market also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to City Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.