We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesomeness” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City Market

City Market
Jefferson at West Saint Julian Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)
912-232-4903
Improve this listing
Visit City Market like an insider
Special Offer
$20*
and up
Savannah City Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour
Ranked #38 of 204 things to do in Savannah
Activities: Shopping, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This old area of the city includes a pedestrian promenade with a collection of interesting shops, restaurants and stores.
Chatt
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Awesomeness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

City Market is so awesome. I love the fact that they have live bands playing at their city Market area. You can enjoy great music while having an adult beverage with friends, family, or couple. City Market is friendly to everyone (pets, kids, families, couples. friends, etc.), I feel really safe and welcomed every time I visit. I love that there are so many places to choose from in the market. From food, candy shops, boutiques, souvenir shops, etc. The residents there are so welcoming. Don't take a tour, walk instead so that you can see all of what City Market has to offer.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityMarketSav, Manager at City Market, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
We are delighted to read your awesome review. Thank you for taking the time to visit City Market and meet some of our tenants. We hope you visit us again. Please check our website for any upcoming events.

Kimberly Phillips
Asst. Director - City Market
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    194
    98
    16
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yulee, FL
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Waste of time!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Mediocre stores and restaurants at best. Do yourself a favor and skip this area and head over to Broughton Street! Lots of unique shopping and food there but not here!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityMarketSav, Manager at City Market, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
We are sorry to hear about your experience. We try to offer a bit of everything. We are sorry you did not find anything to your liking. We hope you were able to check out some of our art galleries and hear some of the live music played daily in the courtyard. We hope you give us another chance.

Kimberly Phillips
Asst. Director - City Market
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Alabama
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“City Market--grab a bite and ride”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

If you visit Savannah, you will want to go to City Market if no other reason, then to grab a ride on the horse drawn carriages that you see about the Historic District. There are cutesy little eateries. Vinnie Van Go-Go's was our favorite. It is nice to walk through the art galleries and listen to music as you enjoy the scenery around you. Want drinks? Food? Art? Music?..you will find it here.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityMarketSav, Manager at City Market, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time at City Market. We hope you visit us again.

Kimberly Phillips
Asst. Director - City Market
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Busy, but very enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

stop & watch the basket making, stay late & listen to live music, if you like art the local crafts & artist are everywhere, there are great places to eat all around the market it is a nice place to spent a good part of a day

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityMarketSav, Manager at City Market, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to browse around City Market. We hope you were able to meet some of our wonderful talented artists.

Kimberly Phillips
Asst. Director - City Market
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Galleries, Galleries, Galleries and Gelato!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Walked this area a few times in the 4 days we spent in Savannah. Went into every gallery building or space we found! There was live music in the evenings, enough places to get a drink to keep all of us happy, and GELATO. I plan on revisiting this area again!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityMarketSav, Manager at City Market, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
We are delighted to hear you took the time to visit our galleries and meet some of our talented artists. Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

Kimberly Phillips
Asst. Director - City Market
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Market also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to City Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.