We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City Market..."underwhelming"” 3 of 5 stars
Review of City Market

City Market
Jefferson at West Saint Julian Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)
912-232-4903
Improve this listing
Visit City Market like an insider
Special Offer
$20*
and up
Savannah City Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour
Ranked #38 of 204 things to do in Savannah
Activities: Shopping, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This old area of the city includes a pedestrian promenade with a collection of interesting shops, restaurants and stores.
Nantucket, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“City Market..."underwhelming"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

City Market was a bit underwhelming for us. My Wife and I walked around but didn't see any stores etc that we really wanted to walk-in. If you like a laid-back vibe then this is the place for you. The City Market isn't a big place, but it was a crowd of people sitting around and seemed to enjoy the live band/music.

City Market was a bit of a disappointment for us. We liked "River Street".

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityMarketSav, Manager at City Market, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
We are sorry to hear about your experience. We hope you were able to visit and sample our candy store and cookie store. We hope you were also able to meet some of the artists and take a look at the incredible work they do. On your next visit we hope you will give us another try.

Kimberly Phillips
Asst. Director - City Market
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    194
    98
    16
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not as Expected, but still good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

City Market was a bit of a disappointment. It didn't have nearly the art galleries, shops and restaurants I had expected. But we still enjoyed going there and it is worth the time. It was only a block from our hotel. We did enjoyed the art galleries. The shops weren't all that much.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityMarketSav, Manager at City Market, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for coming to visit. We are glad you were able to meet some of our friendly artists. Please check our website for any future events.

Sincerely,
Kimberly Phillips
Asst. Director - City Market
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Not what it is marketed to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Loud, lots of college youth, disappointing shopping. It was a surprise that nothing is unique or very interesting including the "artist" shops. It seems that this is a place for 20 somethings to come to get drunk. I guess I am too old for that. Much better food and ambiance in other parts of the city. Feels really touristy.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityMarketSav, Manager at City Market, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
We are sorry to hear about your experience. We try to have a little something for everyone. We hope you were able to get a sample from our candy store and meet some of the artists. Thank you for posting a review.

Sincerely,
Kimberly Phillips
Asst. Director - City Market
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Few nice restaurants, limited shops, smaller than I had imagined. Probably would skip it on a limited schedule.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityMarketSav, Manager at City Market, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
We appreciate you visiting City Market. We hope next time you are able to enjoy some of our live music played in our courtyard daily. Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

Sincerely,
Kimberly Phillips
Asst. Director - City Market
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon, Michigan
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Intimate shopping experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

City Market provides a more intimate shopping experience with smaller shops within a two block radius. Shops offered versitle options, included local artists. Not a place we spent a ton of time but still enjoyed the lesiure shopping approach.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityMarketSav, Manager at City Market, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to visit City Market. We hope you visit us again.

Sincerely,
Kimberly Phillips
Asst. Director - City Market
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Market also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to City Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.