We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful historic accommodations in the Victorian district” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Galloway House Apartment and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Savannah
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Galloway House Apartment and Breakfast
107 E. 35th St., Savannah, GA 31401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 39 Savannah B&B and Inns
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Beautiful historic accommodations in the Victorian district”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed three nights in the third floor apartment which is spacious and quiet but there are stairs to climb (not a problem for us). The room, which included a sitting area with TV and DVD, full kitchen, bathroom with shower, and a queen sized memory foam bed was clean and comfortable. Our hosts, Keith and Jim, were very welcoming, helpful, and informative about Savannah. The off-street parking was also convenient. Galloway House is within walking distance of Forsyth Park (we ran into Keith walking his dogs there one day) and Monterey Square (location of the Mercer-Williams house of 'Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil' fame). Several cafe's are within 3-4 blocks and the excellent restaurant, 'Elizabeth on 37th' is a 5 minute walk (helpful after a few "best in America" mint juleps). Highest recommendation.

Room Tip: Third floor apartment is spacious and quiet but has stairs to walk up to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    99
    10
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
59
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the third floor apartment for three nights. It was spacious, comfortable and clean with everything we needed at our fingertips. There was lots of information about Savannah and even a DVD of Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil for us to watch. Lots of attention to detail. It was nice to have a private apartment in such a beautiful old home. We would definitely stay here again. Savannah has so much to offer that three nights were just not enough!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Never stayed in an attic room before, it was quiet and cozy, but expect lots of steps up ! We loved the freedom of doing our own thing at breakfast. Garden area was great and it is near everything. Jim & Keith gave great advice on food, etc. We will definitely come back!
The bed was especially comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

We met up with friends at the Galloway House to celebrate a major birthday. We stayed in the two bedroom apartment on the main floor and had use of the wide front porch, the sunroom, the back garden, the formal dining room, living room and kitchen. The place was immaculate and had everything we could need -- even a First Aid kit in the bathroom. It's the best BandB we've ever stayed in!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying in the two-bedroom apartment of the Galloway House and cannot tell you how fantastic it was. Jim and Keith are fabulous hosts, the apartment was beautifully appointed and exceedingly comfortable, and talk about location, location, location! Restaurants within walking distance, Forsyth Park 9 blocks up, easy access to freeways to go elsewhere. There is a lovely verandah in the front and secluded gardens in the back. The proprietors have even gone so far as to provide bicycles for those who wish to tool about town. The continental breakfast was perfect with muffins, bagels, coffee, tea, cream cheese, orange juice and such - all very fresh.

For those of you with dogs, I had a pup with me and the home was well suited for dogs. There is plenty of room to walk them to "do their business" and if you walk with your dogs around the various squares or parks of Savannah, you will see that the entire town is dog friendly to the point of making sure the dogs have drinking fountains as nice as the human ones! Jim and Keith do ask that you don't let your dogs on the furniture, which, once you see the lovely pieces, you will understand. I could not imagine trying to get short dog fur out of velvet - yikes! They do offer old sheets to protect the furniture if you cannot resist, but it was not a problem for my dog - she was very happy luxuriating on the oriental rugs that are well padded and feel like clouds beneath your feet.

I ended up having to stay longer than anticipated and Jim and Keith were very helpful not only in finding a way to accommodate me longer, but then in finding an alternate location for me. Unfortunately, they were fully booked, but recommended another option that worked out super well. You can't ask for more helpful hosts who are truly interested in their guest's comfort. The only way this could have been better would have been for a lady's maid to serve me breakfast in bed!

This is a super place and I cannot recommend it enough. I will definitely make every effort to visit again when in Savannah. It was like a home away from home.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We loved the hospitality of the owners. This place was perfect for both our dog and us! We stayed in the third floor apartment, where there was plenty of room. Within walking distance to all the main attractions. Everything was there that we needed and we thought the home was beautiful!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwinsville NY
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

A friend and I decided to spend a night in Savannah before flying back North. I am SO happy we did! Galloway House has great ambience, a great location, and a great innkeeper! We had a huge two bedroom apartment, two bedrooms and two bathrooms, for a better than typical B&B price. The apartment was impeccably decorated. Jim provided us with lots of information on the sights and restaurants in the area. The kitchen was stocked with yogurt, granola bars, muffins, bagels, juice, water bottles...even wine! It was very convenient as we had an early morning appointment with a local guide, so we could sleep in, grab a quick bite and go. Galloway House also has two one bedroom apartments available in a separate Carriage House. It has a very lovely courtyard between the main house and the Carriage House, teeming with potted plants, sculpture and other greenery. I have never stayed at a B&B where I felt so comfortable and at home. The only downside...I only had one night to spend there. But I will be back!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeithinSavannah, Owner at The Galloway House Apartment and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you so much for writing such a kind review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Galloway House Apartment and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Galloway House Apartment and Breakfast

Address: 107 E. 35th St., Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rated #1 on FlipKey! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Galloway House Hotel Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Galloway House Apartment and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Galloway House Apartment and Breakfast to your Saves list