We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Johnston Street, Savannah, GA 31405   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15% Book Early
Ranked #15 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Rhode Island
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed at this particular Hampton because of the good reviews on TA. We were very pleased with the accomodations. It is close to the historic district on one side and close to shopping malls and restaurants as well. The room we booked was not available so we were given an "accessible" room, which had a huge shower. The free breakfast buffet was very good with many choices for a hot and/or cold breakfast. We ate breakfast every day and then did not need to eat lunch, so it was a savings for us. It gets busy at certain times, but the staff replenished the trays quickly. They also had a coffee and tea bar in the lobby, which was available 24-7. The staff was very responsive to our needs. The only downside was that you could hear people next door and in the hallway.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    171
    59
    10
    8
See reviews for
239
203
23
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Great property! Well maintained, even were painting and refreshing one of the halls while we were there. Room was spacious, very clean and quiet. We were on the third floor facing downtown. The property was close to Historic Downtown Savannah. We were on an antiquing trip so this was very good. I would stay here again, we stayed 2 nights.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, MS, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Very nice staff, very clean hotel! We willl definately stay at this hotel again. We loved the breakfasts and the staff bent over backwards to help us find everything we were looking for in Savannah. It couldn't have been cleaner and the location was very convenient for all the tourist destinations in Savannah.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is our very first disappointment with Hampton Inns and we have stayed in many over the past four years. The carpet in our room had several noticeable black stains.(see the photo in this review that we attached) We were also aware of stains in the upholstery on many chairs in the breakfast area.

In addition to our carpet being stained we noticed that maid service paid no attention to the bathroom floor. Upon arriving we noticed a small piece of something (?) on the floor. Yuck! Also found additional small pieces of trash in the bedroom area. It is evident that floors are not being cleaned.

We called the front desk after a few minutes of looking at the room but unfortunately there we no other rooms available.

We stayed two nights and at check out shared our concerns with the front office manager Lauren Lutz.. She said one half of the cost of the room would be credited back to our bill.

We cannot recommend this particular Hampton Inn in Savannah. Too bad. It was half the price of the Hampton Inn closer to River Street (downtown area). We can see why it might be cheaper...poor cleaning?.

Room Tip: If you want a Hampton Inn, stay at another one in Savannah.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HIS_Midtown, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
We are very sorry to hear about your recent experience and apologize that your room was not up to standard. However, I can assure you that the lack of cleanliness you experienced is not the baseline for our hotel guest rooms. After hearing about your concerns we immediately met with our housekeeping supervisor to ensure the carpets and floors in the guestrooms received the proper cleaning treatments. Again, we apologize that your experience was anything less than superior and hope that you will give us a second chance if you’re ever in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I did a Savannah Tour for a group of Girl Scouts and we decided to stay here because it was a more economical price. Although it is not in the historic district, we were within walking distance to a nice shopping area where our passengers really enjoyed getting CUPCAKES and wandering around in their free time. We were usually downtown in a little over 15 minutes, which was no problem. The staff was wonderful and very accommodating, especially Bruce. My group really loved him! The rooms and lobby were clean. We had a pizza party for about 34 people in the lobby and it was plenty of space. Breakfast was pretty good, nothing over the top. I would certainly stay bring another group to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FORT SMITH, AR
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We had a great check in and stayed in Room 511. The bathroom was nice, but we never in 3 nights, had anything but shampoo and lotion. The beds were comfortable and pillows were ok. The heat and air was so noisy, it was difficult to sleep. The carpet was so dirty and stained, I would have pulled it from our doghouse. We changed our clothes in the bathroom where the floors were clean. The breakfast was not good nor was it replenished. If there was 3 pieces of bread, it was not replenished. The juice was 10 to 1 WATER. I trashed it went with the tea. The furiture in the breakast room was smeared with food stains - even on the sides of the upholstered chairs! Ugh. The duvets were big lumps of stuffing. We had family coming to our room and I was embarressed so I turned back the duvets, but the sheets were all wrinkled. This Hampton turned our vacation into a nightmare. We were moving on to Brimingham Hampton and almost cancelled, but we didn't. I wanted to see if they were all the same. The Birmingham Hampton was 200% better. Even cookies and big bowls of FRESH fruit all day. Also, no smell from an out of balance pool. DO NOT STAY AT THE SAVANNAH HAMPTON. I noticed no one from the hotel ever asked if our stay was satisfactory. They also seemed very understaffed. Very poor management in my opinion.

Room Tip: Just do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HIS_Midtown, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

We apologize you had an underwhelming experience at our hotel. Most of our guests leave the hotel feeling very satisfied and we will investigate the items you mentioned in your review. We want all our guests to love their stay and if your room was unsatisfactory then we hope our Housekeeping staff was alerted to quickly address any problems. We are always here for our guests and ready to correct any mishaps. We hope you will give the hotel another chance for a more characteristic stay on your next trip to Savannah.

Sincerely,
Felton Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glassboro, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This hotel was clean and convenient which is very high on our list of lodgings. It is not in the Historic District but only about a 10 min drive to the area. The staff was more than friendly. The concierge came around at breakfast to see if anyone needed her services. We took her up on it and did a tour of Savannah, which included free parking and a $4.00 discount.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown

Address: 20 Johnston Street, Savannah, GA 31405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Savannah
#11 Family Hotel in Savannah
#11 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Savannah Midtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown Hotel Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.